Fiction logo

Unexpected Answers

For someone who hates surprises, Em sure got a lot of them

By A. NguyenPublished about a year ago 17 min read
Like
Unexpected Answers
Photo by Philip Wahl on Unsplash

"You can't convince me that the ocean isn't haunted, Kieran."

“Em you literally study the ocean for a living what do you mean?”

“Exactly, that’s why I’m saying this from a scientific perspective.”

“Scientific my ass.”

"Don't you have a lighthouse to run?"

"Finn forgot his access badge... again, but don't act like you don't like having me visit," he smiled cheekily as he kept pace beside me.

I would like to say this was not a common occurrence but after a year of this same routine, everyone has grown accustom to his presence. He never got in the way of work and he had an affinity with the marine life so everyone turns a blind eye. Shortly after the appearance of this duo, Kieran became somewhat attached to me when ever he popped in. The reason why is beyond me though. Not to say he wasn't friendly, it's just... his version was a bit more in-your-face than normal. He especially enjoyed making cheeky remarks which my brain could only respond with sarcastic remarks, like this.

“You’re right. The marine life like your face, it’s easier for me to check on them with you around.”

“So what I’m hearing is that you need me.”

“Wipe that stupid grin off your face. The fish may like it but I’m not a fan.”

And that was just how our relationship worked. This weird relationship also entailed him following me on my rounds as I checked on my animals. Now when I said the animals had an affinity towards Kieran, even the pickiest of the batch who usually took a bit of coaxing swim out easily to him. As if they acknowledged him as one of their own. Like clockwork, on my way through my rounds I stop by Finn's office to drop Kieran off.

"Thanks as always cousin. I've been hiding from Natalie, she'll kill me if she found out I forgot it again," Finn laughs.

“Don’t worry, I always got you.”

“Yes worry, remember so Kieran doesn’t have to keep coming around.”

“Don’t be like that, I’m a fun friend to have around and you know it.”

“I wouldn’t say “friend” but we aren’t strangers I guess,” I roll my eyes while sifting through my papers.

“Wow after all this time we aren't friends? C'mon you even let me call you Em.”

“You started calling me Em on your own. We barely know anything about each other, can we really call that friendship?”

I wasn't paying much attention to the conversation, words just flying out on a whim, but the silence sat for a beat too long. My eyes pulled away from the papers in my hands to see what exactly was going on, only to be greeted with a flustered expression from Finn when our eyes connected. He quickly blurted that he wanted to show Kieran something before dragging the dazed party in question out of the room. Thus I was left, confused, standing in Finn's office alone. Those two were always a bit on the oddball side; weird slang, overly complex explanations for simple questions, the works. Most of the time they were at least subtle about it but lately Finn has been acting weirder than the normal amount he exudes. The only reason it was still left as a question rather than a definite conclusion was because Kieran always keeps that easy lighthearted attitude.

In my office, organizing my documents and updating data, Kieran found his way back to me. The urge to be nosy and ask about the secrecy pricked the back of my mind but in my own words, we weren't friends. I had no right butting into their personal lives even if it felt like they were in some type of trouble. Luckily for me... or well I wouldn't really say lucky, my curious thoughts were drowned out by Kieran's rapid fire questions. Usually he sat quietly, skimming through the random books in my office on the days he loitered for this long with an occasional conversation here or there but today was too much. After my fifth typo, because my fingers were typing the words coming out of my mouth rather than the ones my eyes were reading, I glared at the boy.

"Kieran what is with all these questions? I can't multitask and I'd rather not have to stay here all night to finish this."

“Well you said I don’t really know you so I’m trying to get to know you better…”

This was unlike him. He's always been so open to chattering to me so how can one comment reduced him to this state? Looking at his hands meekly like a child being scolded. I soften as my eyes scanned his face, was I too harsh?

“Does it really bother you that I said I didn’t consider us friends?”

“We spend a lot of time together, isn’t that already being friends?” He mumbles, a pout forming.

If I didn’t already have my preconceived notions- actually even if I do, that pout and this new side of Kieran were oddly endearing. It's just so unlike him.

"Well spending time with someone doesn't mean you know them but I was a bit mean earlier. We are friends, just maybe not the closest," I state, holding his gaze.

"Do you mean it or are you just saying that so I stop bothering you?"

"If I didn't mean it I wouldn't let you follow me around against regulations all the time."

This brought a smile to his face but there was still a distant look in his eyes. All these new sides... my deductions keeping pointing back to whatever happened in that time Finn had dragged him away. The scientist in me was curious and although I’m never one to pry, this one eighty flip in his mood can be the exception.

“Kieran are you okay? You seem upset after Finn dragged you off.”

“Yeah, I'm good… that thing he showed me just reminded me of a promise I have to keep so I'm just getting lost in my head a bit."

“What kind of promise?”

“Let's just say it’s a promise I have to keep, even if I don’t want to.”

He gave a sad smile as his eyes searched my concerned expression. Even though I wanted to, I couldn’t ask further when it’s obvious that he wants to keep it a secret. Things settled after that and when I was done for the day Kieran walked me to my car but stopped me before I climbed in,

“You're off tomorrow right? Can you give me some time? I wanna take you somewhere."

“How do you- actually I can probably guess," I laugh. I didn't mind hanging out, we've done it a few times before, but surprises weren't my favorite. For that reason I wanted to refuse, but with the change in the air around him and that far away look in his eyes... "Sure, when should I be ready?"

“I’ll pick you up at noon. be sure to wear a bathing suit.”

With a mysterious smile he was off before I could ask any more questions. The next day we found ourselves in a cave that only appears during low tide. Staring at the contents of Kieran's backpack, I regret any ounce of guilt or compassion felt the day before.

“You’ve got to be kidding me. Absolutely not. This is payback for yesterday isn’t it?”

“I’m not that petty. This is completely safe, promise, I won’t let anything happen. At least I’m not taking you diving or maybe a ghost might get you,” he teased.

“Shut up, snorkeling is still… I don’t know.”

“I can’t have you being the only marine biologist to be scared of the ocean. Just trust me.”

“I trust you but I’m pretty sure you don’t have control over the ocean.”

“You never know, maybe I do,” he laughs before the look in his eyes soften, “It’ll just be for a bit okay? If you don’t like it after we can stop.”

I was surprised at my statement and it almost made me feel like a hypocrite. It was just... something about him in this moment, standing proudly in front of the ocean water, told every fiber of my being that against all reason this person in front of you will not let anything bad happen. Reluctantly I nodded and he eagerly pulled me over to set me up with snorkeling gear as he explained everything. Let me clarify. To be clear, what I fear is open ocean because in it still exists so many unanswered questions. Being near the coast should have been fine but the prickling at my skin said otherwise. As if he noticed my unease Kieran eased me into it all, constantly making sure I was still okay and up for it. When I was comfortable going under, he took my hand and led me to the cave’s outer edge. If it wasn't for the snorkel in my mouth, I would have let out a little gasp. I may study these underwater ecosystems but it was another experience to see the reef myself, the intricate coral and the little fish and critters moving about them. With my excitement at seeing a natural ecosystem compared to the the ones constructed in the aquarium, any lingering fear diminished as I eagerly pointed things out to Kieran. After awhile he gingerly pulled my arm and we swam back for our things before the tide started to rise again.

“Still think the ocean is haunted?”

“I’ll correct my statement, the deep sea is haunted,” I stuck my tongue out at him. Surprisingly I played along for once, the residual excitement still vibrating in my bones.

“Well glad you’re warming up to the ocean, but let get out of here before the tide gets us.”

We dried off, had a meal and ended our day just walking on the beach and just chatting about everything. It felt natural as if the air around us had changed to something warmer, more comfortable. By the time he dropped me off at my front door the sun had started to set. Maybe it was the atmosphere with the sky a vibrant vermillion and the fluttering feeling around us but as we were saying goodbye Kieran started to lean in. My hand flew out to stop him reflexively, trying to process what just occurred.

“I'm sorry Emily, I- I thought the date went well,” he blinked at me as his eyes scanned my face, confusion evident in his.

“Date? This was a date?”

“Wasn’t it? I thought you’ve realized it by now…”

The pain etched onto his features broke a part of me I didn’t even know existed. My brain whirred to process all this but before my voice could come out he quickly spurted out a dismissal before running off, leaving me flabbergasted at the door. A storm of emotions brewed inside of me and I could barely make out what was what but one emotion took president in leading the whirlwind in my chest. I had wanted to talk things out but he hasn't been to the institute or the lighthouse... as if he disappeared. A few days turned into a couple of weeks and still nothing. With every day passing my feelings began to unravel itself, becoming clear of what everything meant yet, nothing. No call, or text, or email... then it dawned on me that we never exchanged contact info. He had simply appeared just as mysteriously as he left and my only link to him, Finn, danced around my questions with vague replies that basically said Kieran went home where he can't use his phone. Finn never said it explicitly but his "going home" sounded permanent leaving his lips.

Since that day I had been back to the cave a few times. It's stupidly sentimental but it was the place that reminded me of him the most. I wanted to be angry, to be upset that he never let me explain before he disappeared on me and I was. For the first few days at least, but I was never one to hold grudges and my mind couldn't help but worry about him so my feet end up taking me there because even though I didn't want to admit it, I miss Kieran. After yet another failed conversation with Finn, I've had enough. I left for the day and headed once again to the cave. I never went back into the water by myself, never had the courage to, but something in me said to do it. Today. A short stop later I was sat on the cave floor looking at my newly bought snorkeling gear. Seeing it again gave the familiar tingling but I swallowed it down as I step forward and took the plunge.

Following what felt like the right path, I found the reef again with time but that magical feeling wasn't there. Was it because it wasn't new anymore or was it because he wasn't here with me? Even though I wanted to just swim back, my feeble attempt to chase that high I felt with him falling miserably through, I stuck it out to get my money's worth on the gear. After awhile I made my way back to the cave. Swimming back felt longer than when I swam out and it didn't don on me why until I saw my bag drifting in the water. This is why you focus on your surroundings instead of thinking about a stupid guy that tried to kiss you before skipping town! Panic was making a home in my chest and my brain screamed at me to GET OUT! Now moving on pure instinct my body frantically swam back to the opening but my sloppy movements from the initial fear caused me to nick my shin on a jagged rock. The burning sensation from the salt on my open would cause me to gasp in pain, losing me what little oxygen held in my lungs. Adrenaline had eased the pain as my legs continued to kick towards the opening but shadows began to encroach my vision when I was close. To make matters worse the lack of oxygen was causing me to hallucinate Kieran swimming toward me and the arms that wrapped around my waist felt all too realistic. Feeling the false sense of comfort my eyes fluttered closed, ready to accept my fate. Except in an instant the weight of gravity was forced on my body with a thud as my body hit the sand. I laid there for a moment, sprawled on the sand as I coughed the water from my lungs when my senses came back and my sight targeted a certain boy beside me.

“What the hell?! Where have you been Kieran?! Finn was making it seem like you'd never came back,” I shouted.

“That’s what you’re screaming at me for? Not the glaring silver tail in place of my legs?”

So shocked by the reemergence of his face, the rest of his body wasn't taken accounted for until just now. But to me, that was besides the point as there were other things to discuss at hand.

“I mean now that you pointed it out, there are several more questions but my initial ones take president."

Kieran looked gob smacked at my nonchalant response but although shocking to discover a merperson in front of my face, he was still the same guy who followed me around in the institute and he did save my life so I should at least have the courtesy not to point out the obvious. He took a moment to shake the shock before returning my gaze that stayed trained on his face, waiting for an answer.

“I wasn’t supposed to come back. I made a deal with my parents that I had one year to fulfill my desire on the surface world or I had to go back and assume my role as… uhm prince…”

“Prin- No, no. Chronological order," I stop myself from the questions that were boiling over in my head, "Okay so what was the deal and how would they know your desire was fulfilled?”

He held out his palm and showed me a pearl that was slightly pink. Naturally this darker shade of the color shouldn’t be a possibility but I mean a merman is literally sitting in front of me.

“The pearl was originally white and once my goal was achieved it would turn a dark pink."

“I mean I wouldn't call it magenta but it is kind of pink so you kinda did it. What was your desire anyway?"

“Do you remember how we first met?”

“Finn forgot his access card and you brought it over, how is that relevant?”

“It’s relevant because that wasn’t the first time we met. Do you remember meeting a boy on the beach one morning when you were sixteen?"

Now it was my turn to gape at the boy in front of me. I vaguely remember "running away" from home and ironically met someone doing the same. I couldn't remember the guy's face but his stringy wet hair that reminded me of damp sand was a dead ringer. As he watched the realization cross my face he dropped an even bigger bomb.

"You were my desire Emily.”

“I-" I paused, piecing everything together, "When was the first day you came to the surface world?”

“The day we met again.”

“Then why did you leave when there was still time?”

“I thought you hated me after how you reacted so I decided to take the loss before I made an even bigger fool of myself.”

“Well if you stayed you could’ve figured out it wasn’t a loss,” I mumbled.

“What?” His confusion was evident in the softness in his voice, and his face was contorted as if he must have heard it wrong.

“I stopped the kiss that day because I didn't realize you had romantic feelings for me until then and I hadn't even thought of how I felt about you but after putting in some thought it dawned on me. I wasn't mean because your stupid overly friendly comments annoyed me, they made me flustered and I-"

I was cut off by his lips crashing onto mine and after the events of the day, I just enjoyed the moment. Once he pulled away he had a boyish grin on his face. Not being able to take the full charm of the smile, I looked away and noticed the now bright pink pearl in his hand.

“So what you're saying is that you like me too.”

“You have eyes, see the pearl for yourself... That means you can stay, right?"

“Yup. It’s all on my sister now,” he laughs.

“So now onto this,” I gestured to his tail sitting in the baby waves, “does Finn know or-”

“He’s a merman too. Before you ask, yes we understand what the marine life say.”

“That's how he knew what was wrong so easily! He could just understand the animals! Okay last question.”

"From that familiar look in your eye this won't be the last question."

"Oh shut up. So old Mr. Waverly who took you in as his keeper apprentice, does he know?"

"The Waverly family has a strong history with us merfolk since they've been lighthouse keepers for hundreds of years."

"Is that why you get away with never doing any keeper work?" I laugh.

"Hey! I do the heavy lifting!"

"Is it merman superstrength or?"

"Well... yeah and another thing is simple healing," he responded as he gestured to my no longer injured leg.

"So my boyfriend is half fish with magical powers," I joked.

"Why do you have to say it like that Em?"

LoveShort StoryYoung AdultFantasy
Like

About the Creator

A. Nguyen

A writer at heart who wants to share my works. I want to evoke emotion in people when they read my writing but I won't ever know if I can, if I don't put anything out into the world so this is my first step :)

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.