Fiction logo

Underneath Our Pear Tree

Part 8 of an 8 Part Series

By K.J.GeorgePublished 3 years ago 5 min read
2

When you think of a pear what do you think of? You would probably say “a pear”, right? What else would you think of other than a fruit.

Well for me it was beyond that. For me it means so much more than simply being a fruit. Now I know I may sound like a mad woman. Like what else is there to think about other than the fruit? Other than it being something delicious.

Well the significance of a pear of course. What significance you may ask? It is said that in ancient China, it was believed that pears indicated immortality and prosperity. In Korea, grace and nobility. And pear trees itself meant….comfort. So many interpretations of its magnitude. And yet the whole idea of the pear tree being recognized as comfort spoke out to me the most.

Comfort. That’s what I think of when I think of our pear tree. A good, healthy comfort snack. The comfort I feel just sitting under it on a sunny, hot day. It’s the place where I met my best friend, and my future. A place where memories will lie for years and years to come. And memories that have already lay dormant here for many years that have already passed.

There is no going back. No going back to sleepless nights. Uncertainty. Just happiness and a life full of comfort.

~~~

“This is your moment. The one that we all have been waiting for!”

“I’m starting to think that you are more excited about me married than I am”

“That may be true because even when I first met you I wasn’t sure you would ever get married! You were so distant, strong-minded, and nonchalant when it came to people in general, but especially the boys.”

I don’t think I ever smile or laugh so much before. My best friend, and maid-of-honor has been a ball full of energy, jokes, and stories since we woke up this morning. Helping me keep my nerves away. Today is the day. My day. Our day. I’m getting married to my best friend today. Under his family pear tree. Under the tree where we carved our names and friendship for eternity.

“Well Bria, I wasn’t exactly interested in anyway, after dealing with so many unexpected turns in life. And besides I didn’t need anyone else but you,” I told my best friend with a cheeky grin.

“No matter what, you'll always be my first love,” Bria said dramatically with her hand on her heart.

“Don’t let Jaxon hear that,” I said with a smile. To this we laughed and continued to finish getting ready for us to walk down the aisle.

Before me of course Bria, my maid-of-honor, and her cousin as well as good friend Alicia, walks down the aisle with my groomsman. My groomsman consists of my brother, obviously, and Bria’s boyfriend Jaxon. Bria met Jaxon one of our adventures the summer we all got together again. We were scuba diving and he was the instructor. Ever since they have been together. They are absolutely the cutest. Eventually he moved in with us, we all had fun for about 2 more years, and then they moved out together. In the same neighborhood of course. We wanted to start families and raise your kids to be best friends too. Pretty cliché right?

My brother was happy for us but he wasn’t surprised. He said we were always so close, it’d be crazy if we didn’t end up together in the end.

Once we ladies finished getting ready, Mrs. Julie, Luke’s mom as well as Bria’s mom and aunt came to give us their blessings and praises. Shortly after Bria and Alicia did the same for me, and they were on their way outside.

Now it’s just me and my mirror. My dress was a sleeveless white gown, with a 5 foot long train, with golden diamonds along the bust area. The train was also scattered in golden diamonds. My beautiful golden hair was curled and pulled back into the most beautiful bun I’ve ever seen, thanks so Bria. Accessories from Mrs. Julie and golden heels from Alicia all as gifts.

I looked beautiful. I felt beautiful. For good look, mom's lucky charm was also beautifully placed in my bun as well, and it feels like she’s right with me.

After one final look it was time for me to get married to my best friend and the love of my life. I never wanted to admit it, but I guess everyone else already knew how I felt about Luke even before I did.

Much to many people's surprise, my dad is actually the one walking me down the aisle. He sobered up about 3 years ago, and reached out to me after he got out of rehab. He retired, but he was set for retirement. He looked happy and healthy, and even found himself a new girlfriend. She was actually very sweet, and beautiful. He told me how guilty he felt about it, because mom was his first love after all, but my brother and I reassured him that mom would be happy for him. That woman didn’t have a negative bone in her body and she only ever wanted to see all of us happy. Ever since he seems like a brand new man.

Once we made it down the aisle my dad was in tears, and I was fighting to hold mine back. And despite Bria’s huge grin on her face, she was in full blown tears as well. This was going to be a long day.

As I stepped up to my soon-to-be husband, he lifted off my veil, and stared me straight into my eyes with the biggest smile on his face and said, “You look even more beautiful today than you usually do.” That moment the tears started rolling and ‘awwws’ could he heard throw the small, but full crowd. A few classmates, and of course a few family members were in attendance.

We said our vows, and sealed the deal with a kiss, and from the moment on I knew that my life was going to be filled with bliss.

I married my best friend. My partner in crime. Underneath our pear tree that will hold memories for many more lifetimes.

Series
2

About the Creator

K.J.George

✨ An overactive mind put into words

✨ Favorite coping mechanism

✨ Fiction Fanatic

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.