Fiction logo

Content warning

This story may contain sensitive material or discuss topics that some readers may find distressing. Reader discretion is advised. The views and opinions expressed in this story are those of the author and do not necessarily reflect the official policy or position of Vocal.

Under the Snow

A Chicago detective deals with a difficult case

By Alexandria StanwyckPublished 4 months ago Updated 4 months ago 1 min read
10
Under the Snow
Photo by Josh Hild on Unsplash

Street lights dance on icicles hanging from the rooftops and naked tree limbs. The darkening night sky is speckled in falling snow and stars. The street is covered in a blanket of white, crisp powder, like a car with a fresh coat of paint.

The city always looks best this way, making you forget about all the dirt and grime underneath. But the city seems to have a way of reminding you. It's a rather dark way of looking at things, I admit, but being a Chicago detective, I'm often exposed to the worst of the city. Still, I love her and wouldn't want to be anywhere else.

"Chicago P.D! Open up!"

There are moments though that make me want to run and never come back.

"We have a search warrant!"

The wood cracks as the door is kicked in. A symphony of footsteps and "clear" sound throughout the house.

I hear rummaging at the back of the house and signal my partner. We go around back, noticing footprints coming from behind the house.

The next seconds are a blur, ending as quickly as they began. At some point, I'm tackled to the ground by my partner as shots ring out.

"Shots fired by police. Offender down."

I sit up, ready to thank my partner, when I see blood in the snow.

"Officer down!"

He is already gone, I know it, but I can't help but try to save him.

All the while, the snow comes down, cold and uncaring.

Short StoryMicrofictionCONTENT WARNING
10

About the Creator

Alexandria Stanwyck

My inner child screams joyfully as I fall back in love with writing.

I am on social media! (Discord, Facebook, Instagram, and TikTok.)

instead of therapy poetry and lyrics collection is available on Amazon.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (6)

Sign in to comment
  • Yusuf Alam4 months ago

    💯👌👌👌

  • Oh that's so sad! You packed a punch into so few words! Well done!

  • Lamar Wiggins4 months ago

    Wow! Interesting turn of events. The MC better be counting his blessings. Not just anyone would take a bullet for you. Well done!

  • That was intense

  • Andrea Corwin 4 months ago

    Wow, the ending is so powerful! Great job!!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.