Fiction logo

Under Purple Clouds

A magical realism story.

By Connor StermerPublished about a year ago 7 min read
Like

Every night at midnight, the purple clouds came out to dance with the blushing sky. We would watch every night as part of our tradition. Misanoje, we called it. It was a tradition passed down for generations amongst the Wanagli tribe. Our tribe would gather together to send positive energy back to our ancestors so that they may restore us as we continue to restore them. It was a magical experience to bear witness to as blue aura swirls around us. As soon as midnight comes, the clouds begin to arrive as if summoned out of thin air. The air becomes chilled as the sky gleams its spectral array of colors. Beautiful pink and blue skies are accented by the spectacular purple clouds.

The clouds accumulate and condense into humanlike shapes and begin to resemble our past loved ones. Our village has had this tradition for as long as anyone can remember. Passed down from generation to generation, honoring those that have trailblazed our path. We live on in their spirit and continue our tradition so that we may pass it on to our children. Our blue aura coalesces to then fly in a magical dragon-like formation on a path to the purple clouds. It was common for our tribe to sit with close relatives and gaze at the night sky looking for past loved ones.

“Look there Rizo, it’s Grandma. She’s smiling at us I think.” I said to my younger brother.

This was Rizo’s first time experiencing the tradition. Rizo has been being nursed in one of the teepees since his birth. He was not a strong baby and it was a miracle in itself that he has survived. Truly a magical gift. He was born sick and our best healers already had to work miracles for him. Our mother would never give up on him though. The tribe has prayed for him every day, with today being his first time to accept the holy gifts from our ancestors to heal him. Rizo was there to experience it all. To be healed from the magic of his ancestors. The magical experience showed our past loved ones manifest in the sky above and dance with the sunset in a beautiful myriad of purple, blue, and pink.

“They look so real when they are up there, as if they can reach out and touch you.” Said Ansa.

Our tribe believes that it is our ancestors coming back every night to check on us and send their positive aura to us. To watch over us as they were once watched over themselves. A tradition that has been passed down within the Wanagli tribe for nearly 600 years. A magical, spiritual bloodline.

“See as they dance together Rizo. They are blessing each other and their families. Watch right there.” I said to Rizo as I pointed up to a few of the purple ancestral clouds.

The sky was vibrant with their purple frames meshing and mingling together. You could see their aura pass between each other. The light emitting from them that lit up the night sky, appeared as long bright blue dragons that weaved in and around them.

I was watching the mystifying experience when suddenly I felt a chill up my spine. I looked over towards Rizo and was in disbelief at what I saw. There, standing next to Rizo, was grandma. Well, at least it looked like grandma, but she looked like a ghost made of ever-changing colors of energy. I had never seen anything like this before during the ceremony. I was shocked and amazed by what I was witnessing. I couldn’t believe my eyes. It was really her. I was about to speak to her when suddenly grandma reached out and grabbed Rizo. The blue aura emitting from her shot into Rizos body vigorously. He began to levitate as streams of blue filled his body. Then, there was a bright flash of blue where I had to cover my eyes, it was so bright.

I opened my eyes and was shocked at what I was witnessing. It was RIzo, floating in a blue orb that appeared to be on fire. I was at a loss for words. With Rizo surrounded by blue flames,I looked back at grandma who had begun to speak in an ancient tongue. I couldn’t understand any part of what she said. I was confused and worried about what was happening as this was not a normal occurrence during the ceremony. I walked forward to try to help free Rizo from the orb when suddenly an explosion occurred that shot me back into the snow. I fell unconscious from the blast.

When I awoke, I had seen my fellow villagers standing around me. I regained my bodily feelings and began to sit up.

“Where’s Rizo?” I said to a woman standing right near me.

There was nothing but silence. Some people looked at me with dismay while others looked upon me with pity. I didn’t understand until a woman began to speak.

“I am so sorry Miss Ansa, he is gone.” She said this with a tremble in her voice as she looked at the ground, eyes flooding with tears.

She looked at the ground and said, “this is what we found below him after the explosion.”

I was shocked. Tears ran down my face as I cried out for my little brother. I didn’t want to accept what I heard. Distraught, I put my head in my hands and began to cry.

“I’m sorry Miss Ansa. Please, this was left in his place. Maybe it will help explain what happened to him.” The woman said as she handed over a small ornate dagger. There was a blue glow emanating from it that resembled the same colors as what entered Rizo. There was writing etched into the blade that I could not read.

The chief elder came by to examine the dagger and hopefully, provide reassurance about what happened or at least to provide insight. The entire village was silent as they awaited the wisdom of their elder. He came by and nodded his head to Miss Ansa. He asked me for the dagger to which I obliged and handed it over. He examined the dagger carefully, inspecting every part of it. Looking at all the fine intricacies and trying to learn anything about it that he could. Then he finally spoke.

“I never thought I would be around for this to occur. This dagger is a sacred artifact of the Wanagli people. There is a legend about this such dagger but I had only thought it to be a myth until now.” He spoke aloud to the tribe as he told of the legend. “The legend states that a reincarnation of our greatest warrior would occur when a great danger is near. This dagger belonged to that man, Trazo. The legend states that his aura would enter a body and lead the tribe to a successful battle. Unfortunately, there is not much that I know of it.” The chief elder spoke to the tribe as silence spread about. “There is a redeeming quality found here however. On the dagger, is written the name Trazo and also this other word, Frehoud. Long ago our ancestors created a temple of worship high in the mountains where we see the purple clouds. That place is called Frehoud. I believe Miss Ansa, that Rizo may just be this next reincarnation of Trazo. I also believe that if you want any chance of finding him, you will have to journey to Frehoud.”

I was utterly shocked when I heard those words uttered from his mouth. How am I to travel through the mountains to this temple? Will I go by myself? Will Rizo even be there? There were so many thoughts running through my head as I felt confined to a dimension where only my thoughts existed. Suddenly, my thoughts were interrupted by an elderly woman who walked up and laid her hand on my shoulder.

“Miss Ansa. Please, take this with you.” She said as she handed me a gold necklace that had a vibrant blue pendant attached. It was swirling with our same blue aura that is representative of the Wanagli tribe. “This will guide you and keep you safe. Follow the light from it and you will find Rizo.”

There were tears cascading down my face. A man approached me with two large packs. He said he was going to be guiding me along the way. Helping to provide protection and keep me pushing along the arduous journey.

“You must leave now Miss Ansa.” The chief elder spoke. “Barti will help guide you along your journey.”

The entire tribe surrounded me to say goodbye and locked arms around me. The blue dragon appeared again swirling around us. I felt safe and protected. I was ready. With the love and positive aura from my tribe, Barti and I left and began our long journey to Frehoud.

“I’m coming for you Rizo. I’m coming.”

Fantasy
Like

About the Creator

Connor Stermer

I just want to make people smile.

https://www.instagram.com/connor.stermer/

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.