Fiction logo

Ugly is just skin deep.

Beauty is but a game, in which we all play a part.

By Karen MontgomeryPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
Like

I could hear the cooing and wonderous exclamations from outside, quickening my pace, I flung open the wire door and scooped the eggs from my sloppy joe as quickly as I could, grinning widely as I dumped the eggs in a basket and attempted greet my family whom I hadn't seen for years and who had suddenly appeared in my loungeroom. But nobody seemed to notice I was there, they didn't hear my excited welcomes or feel my presence in any shape or form. They were too engulfed in the thing they were inspecting on the lounge, which I had no way of getting to, for the crowd who stubbornly and greedily blocked my view, let alone my path.

I called out...BUBBA...are you in there? My oldest daughter was there, 'Mum, help, I am being suffocated', 'Please' came the desperate plea which seemed to be coming from somewhere far away....

Stand Back I yelled. The crowd relaxed their armored wall just enough so I was able to squeeze through their defensive stance.

And spied upon the most ugly specimen of a baby I had ever encountered in my life. And then the child grinned at me.

My heart stopped. For how long, I have no idea, all I know is, I needed to take a very deep breath in order to be able to come back to life again.

The cooing and sighing and crying started up again behind me. I felt soft bodies, hard bodies, elbows and fists straining against me, threatening to engulf us like a large whale sifting krill. I shoved backward hard enough to get them off me and regain balance, I grabbed the baby, and told Bubba to follow me into the room, cry's and accusations from unsatisfied and hurt family feelings drifted through the locked door.

Finally I got to greet this daughter of mine which I hadn't seen for years, a lifetime. And ask the questions which were leaking from my mind much quicker than I could put them into words.

First, how was your trip, are you ok? Why is everyone here? I thought you were just going to drop in on them on the way.

I'm ok mum, the journey was a nightmare, I had to hide Lott under a blanket so people wouldn't be able to see him or even steal him, they kept taking him off me, they didn't ask, they just kept taking him, I was a screaming wreck, I kicked some old woman who tried to run away with him, it was the most awful thing to have ever happen to me.

I was dumbfounded...wow....

Bubba kept going, she was like a derailed train, and it felt like my tracks were going to be barely able to hold her in place.

I stopped at Little nan's and Pops for the night, suddenly Everyone was there and wouldn't leave, the next day, they decided they all wanted to come here, I thought it was going to be quiet and calm, but it is not, I am going to have to leave, where am I going to go?

No Way are you leaving Bubba, I will send them all to the caravan park, or they can camp outside, it is up to them.

Have you eaten anything?

No I havn't had a chance, I was stuck on the lounge for like an hour, my milk is drying up, what kept you?

oh sorry Bub, more things going on over there than I can explain at the moment. You stay here and feed and change the bub, I will get you food and drink...Lott Watts ay? cool name. I wasn't game to look at the baby before I left the room.

After much accusation and sadness and happiness and madness, I finally made them understand that for the babies health and his mothers and mine and theirs, it was in every ones best interests that they all book into the caravan park for the time they were to be here.

Then they started....That baby is an angel, he is blessed, the radiance shines from him, it is astounding, shocking, unbelievable, dumbfounding, frightening, exquisite, brilliant, exceptional, sort of healing, amazing, shining light, dazzling, life changing, grounding, their words dropped us all to our knees, we know now.

family
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.