Fiction logo

Twenty Hours

A short story

By FloraPublished about a year ago 6 min read
1
Twenty Hours
Photo by Biljana Martinić on Unsplash

G. W. REQUIN: Gilbert, I think it would beneficial for you to say it out loud.

GILBERT: Why?

G. W. REQUIN: Sometimes, one needs to hear it from their own mouth for it to really sink in.

GILBERT: Sink in? Really, doc?

G. W. REQUIN: My apologies. It is just an expression. No ill intent, Gilbert.

GILBERT: Please doc, call me Gil. My father's name was Gilbert.

G. W. REQUIN: Okay... Gil sounds great. If we are bringing up name preferences, I would appreciate it if you didn't call me doc. Doctor Requin is fine.

GILBERT: Doctor is it.

G. W. REQUIN: Alright Gil. Later, if you would like, we can touch on why being called Gilbert bothers you–you mentioned your father. Is that something you would like?

GILBERT: Whatever makes those twenty hours come faster.

A long pause.

G. W. REQUIN: Okay, Gil. I am going to ask again. Why are you here today?

GILBERT: You know why I am here.

G. W. REQUIN: I'd like to hear it in your own words.

A pause.

G. W. REQUIN: Most individuals meet with me to talk. To be listened to. To have help navigating life. Is that something you would like?

A pause.

G. W. REQUIN: Gil, it is okay to ask for help. We all need help. But I can only help if you let me.

GILBERT: You asked why I am here?

G. W. REQUIN: Yes. I would love to hear your perspective.

GILBERT: Perspective? Ha! I am here so my boss can tell his boss that everything is under control. That it won't happen again. They thought twenty hours was enough to act as an eraser. But hey, it is company mandated, so at least I am getting compensated to endure this.

G. W. REQUIN: Gil, Do you think, a piece of you is looking forward to spending twenty hours together? A lot can be done in that time.

GILBERT: I'd rather spend twenty hours cleaning the slime and feces off each and every pebble in the aquarium.

G. W. REQUIN: Why do you say that?

GILBERT: With. My. Tongue.

G. W. REQUIN: Alright, Gil. I am sorry you are finding this difficult, but I would appreciate it if you could be mature about the situation.

A pause.

G. W. REQUIN: I find it interesting that you brought up work. Has it been on your mind a lot lately?

GILBERT: Duh! How could it not? I've been at the aquarium every day, for years now. Now they have me in the back until these hours are up. And they all know I shine up front. People come to see me.

G. W. REQUIN: Don't you think it was quite generous of your boss to allow you this time with me, instead of terminating you completely–or sending you to another location, like Vancouver or–

GILBERT: Vancouver is a joke.

G. W. REQUIN: Why do you say that?

GILBERT: Vancouver doesn't have the tunnel.

G. W. REQUIN: The tunnel?

GILBERT: Yeah, you know. Swimming over top, walking underneath.

G. W. REQUIN: Oh, the walking tunnel for the people, while all the fish swim over their heads?

GILBERT: Exactly! Vancouver doesn't have anything like that.

G. W. REQUIN: The tunnel is pretty cool. I am going to return to my previous question now. Do you think it is generous of your boss to allow you to return to working out front? After our time together, of course.

GILBERT: Twenty hours though? That is just torture. They might as well of tie me up and–

G. W. REQUIN: Gil, enough! I look at it as a very gracious response from management. You can either use this opportunity to make things right and move forward with your career, or you can choose to not. And if you don't comply with the company-mandated hours, which as you mentioned, you are getting compensated for, then I will have to give an honest evaluation of our time together. And if it continues going as it has so far, I don't know if returning to your job will be a possibility. Even a transfer to Vancouver might be out of the question. Do you understand what I am saying?

A very, very long pause.

GILBERT: Yes.

G. W. REQUIN: Okay, then. How about we start over? Would you like that?

GILBERT: Okay.

G. W. REQUIN: Okay, great. Hi, I am Doctor Requin. What is your name?

GILBERT: Gil.

G. W. REQUIN: Nice to meet you, Gil. What brings you in today?

GILBERT: I was reprimanded at work for doing something they didn't like. And they want me to talk about it with a professional.

G. W. REQUIN: Well, that is what I do best. Can you tell me about the incident at work?

GILBERT: I-I hit my head on the glass.

G. W. REQUIN: My goodness. Are you okay?

GILBERT: Oh, yeah.

G. W. REQUIN: So what happened after you hit your head on the glass? Did you do something unconventional while you were disorientated?

GILBERT: No, that's it.

G. W. REQUIN: What's it?

GILBERT: That is all that happened. I hit my head on the glass. But over and over and over and over and over again.

G. W. REQUIN: Oh, Gil. Why would you do that? Don't you think that would scare people? Scare the children?

GILBERT: That is why I did it.

G. W. REQUIN: You did it to scare the kids?

GILBERT: Yeah, they are always tapping on our glass. And it drives us all crazy.

G. W. REQUIN: So you thought you would scare them?

GILBERT: There are signs and everything.

G. W. REQUIN: Some kids can not read yet.

GILBERT: All we do, is swim around and perform for them. I could be in the great barrier reef for Christmas with my cousin, Finn, right now, but noooooooo, I worked hard to be one of the main attractions here. I spin and flip and grin wide, and all they do is tap tap tap tap tap.

G. W. REQUIN: Well, you chose this career. If you wanted to be with Finn then you–

GILBERT: I- I just had enough. All they do is tap. The tapping, doc. It drives us crazy.

G. W. REQUIN: Please don't call me doc, actually, neverm–

GILBERT: So whenever a kid got separated from their parents, I swam, teeth first into the glass, over and over, until they start crying.

G. W. REQUIN: But Gil, your teeth are quite large and could be quite frightening to a young child. Humans don't have very many teeth. And sharks have hundreds and hundreds.

GILBERT: I know. It was funny. They all ran and screamed. Do they really think I could break the glass? I wouldn't even if I wanted to. How stupid would that be? All our water draining out? I don't want to kill the team, I just want to–

G. W. REQUIN: I don't think the child would find it funny. Or the parent. Or your other colleagues who worked just as hard to be in the water with you. I think it was very inconsiderate and would understand why your manager would be upset too. But, that is why you are here. I think we can brainstorm other ways to cope with your frustration. Maybe do a few laps or–

GILBERT: But don't you just love when the kids scream? The screaming. I just love the screaming. Everyone's eyes were on me. ME, doc. Ahhhh. All eyes on me.

A long pause.

G. W. REQUIN: I think you should come in twice this week.

Humor
1

About the Creator

Flora

𝒯𝑜𝓇𝑜𝓃𝓉𝑜-𝒷𝒶𝓈𝑒𝒹 W𝓇𝒾𝓉𝑒𝓇

𝕗𝕚𝕔𝕥𝕚𝕠𝕟, 𝕡𝕠𝕖𝕥𝕣𝕪, 𝕒𝕟𝕕 𝕙𝕦𝕞𝕠𝕦𝕣

@ꜰʟᴏʀᴀꜱ.ᴀᴜʀᴀ

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insight

  1. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.