Fiction logo

True Love

Who

By Antoinette L BreyPublished about a year ago 6 min read
2
True Love
Photo by Nick Fewings on Unsplash

The mirror showed a reflection that wasn't my own. In fact it was nobody that I knew at all. I showed a good looking man- about my age. In his hands were a bunch of daisies. Suddenly mirror cracked and his image vanished and a bright neon sign appeared. The image on the mirror read "Dream".

I backed the car out of my driveway- avoiding any use of the cracked rearview mirror;

Arriving at my office, I saw the florist leaving; I smiled they must be here for Mellissa. Craig was actively courting her. I was startled when the receptionist hailed me down. She was blushing."You got a present" she said. "I put it in the conference room on the table." I could feel her eyes following me.

On the table was a bunch of Daisies. They looked like the ones in the car mirror earlier today. I was numb.

Gina was dancing with excitement. "Do you have a new boyfriend? I said nothing. None of this seemed possible., I took the flowers, ignored her, and went to my office. I was relieved that I had calls from my clients, that I had to tend to. As long as no babies appeared in the mirror, everything would be fine.

The flowers died a few days later. All my mirrors were now behaving like normal mirrors. I. decided to treat myself to lunch

There was a huge mirror in the lobby of the restaurant. Checking my outfit I noticed the reflection, of the same man , who had been in my mirror previously. I turned, half expecting to see no one there. but there he stood. He didn't seem to notice me. He couldn't have sent me the flowers. Who was he? I wondered, was he going to enter my life? He left, and I ate my hamburger and fries.

A new client- I was going to help them set up their clothing business. At 1 pm he would be here. A Mr. Hammond, a designer of clothing.

Gina led him in. He was older. Not very many seniors started design businesses. He apologized to me, he was not the Mr. Hammond I would be working with. His son- Greg- was the designer. He was just an investor. He wanted to help his son strive for his dreams.

I smiled, I already liked his father. I met the son the next day. He seemed to proper to deal effectively with customers. I did not comment on his style, I only commented on what I was being hired for.

A month latter- the store was opening and I was invited. In the middle of the store welcoming the patrons was the man from my mirror. I smiled and introduced myself. Mr. Hammond was in Italy. This man was mister Keys. The store name finally made more sense to me. The name of the store was Hammond Keys. I knew Mr. Keys was not a coe-owner or investor. " The stores are named after you?" I asked. " Well I design the more casual line of clothing. He pays to have the clothes manufactored- so he is the owner and I am a salaried designer. I also get a commission Hopefully my line sells. he laughed. I didn't respond but I actually liked his outfit better than the usual attire of his boss, I had other questions, but instead I looked around the store.

Next to the shop was a elegant restaurant where my client was going to have a fashion show at four. I ordered my meal and sat down to watch. The music lulled me , they actually had a live band. The musicians were about my age. they must have charged less then the youngsters which usually played in clubs. I felt as if someones eyes were watching me, but I saw nobody I knew. Men in mirrors, gazing eyes, I must be loosing it. My thoughts were interrupted by Mr. Keys. he was handing out brochures with photos and prices of the items which would be in the fashion show. He asked if he could join me, for a drink, He ordered both of us a mimosa. He did not talk about the store or his clothing designs and career. Instead he talked about his ex-wife and his daughter, His daughter would be in the fashion show, He seemed more proud of her than he was of his designs. After one drink he disappeared, Moments later the fashion show started.

Back home, I reflected on the day. He was a nice man, but not meant for me. I would never know where those things in my mirror reflection came from.

The next morning when I left my house i was surprised to find another bouquet of Daisies. This time there was also a note " He was a nice looking man, but he is not the one. Anyone can buy you a mimosa," I froze, was someone following me. I put the flowers into a vase. the flowers were nice even if the note was creepy .

At work I looked through the brochure again. It would be nice to own a designer dress. I had a bill for them, I could make that the excuse for dropping by. My Hammond seemed to busy to pay me.

The store had one or two customers, but Mr, Keyes was not there., I grabbed the maxi dress and headed to the dressing room. I got a shock when I looked at myself in the mirror. I saw a reflection of a blond curly haired man looking over my shoulder. I turned in horror, but there was nobody there. The door had been locked, I shivered silently. This was impossible. I went and got the dress in a different color. The old color would constantly remind me of that face. this color suited me better. It actually reminded me of the Florida Keys.

Nobody noticed that I entered the office in a different outfit or that I was shaking slightly. I was relieved that I had no new clients today ,even though it made my new dress less affordable.

I was not sure how to sooth my mind . I had work from existing clients, but there was not a tight deadline with any of them. I told Gina that I felt ill and was going to run down to the clinic down the street. She waved barely noticing me,o r the fact that I had my briefcase. I went to the park and ordered a margarita and sat outside. My mind slowly returned. I started to work on a clients work, my imagination staying focused on my work. I smiled, I logged the hours in my book. I called and left a message, and told the client to call Gina and set up an appointment with me tomorrow., The tomorrow which hours ago seemed impossible, now seemed feasible.

No daisies , no odd reflecting mirrors, no strange men popping into my life. Life had returned to the doldrums.

I did meet the blond haired man, he was a speaker on mind control , at a conference, I wondered if he was the one controlling my mind. I was called up as a volunteer . He sensed my fear. He had me gaze into a mirror to look at my reflection. In the mirror I saw the words "He is not the one". I froze. I waited to hear what he saw in the mirror. I was wondering if he saw the words as well. Then suddenly he took a hammer and broke the mirror. As the mirror crumbled, I crumbled. I fainted in front of him and the shocked crowd.

And now I am talking to you supposed experts of the mind. I am told it is a study, but yet I know nothing about the topic, and I am not allowed to leave. And nobody is explaining to me how this happened. The only one who seems to care about my welfare is me.

Horror
2

About the Creator

Antoinette L Brey

I am an elder in a time of freedom. I am now retired. All i want to do is have fun. Without a daily routine, my imagination is one of my only salvations. I am not planning on writing a book, it is just for my own pleasure

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Top insights

  1. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  2. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Mike Singleton - Mikeydred11 months ago

    I did a couple for this challenge and this is a great take on it

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.