Fiction logo

Triumph Over Earth's Tragedy

If an extraterrestrial can grasp the idea of hope, why can't we?

By Ebony BurnsPublished 3 years ago 7 min read
3

If you want to know the truth, listen to a person's thoughts. That's exactly what an extraterrestrial is doing, early morning over a neighborhood. A vibrating hood containing his selected study. A study he's been on since 1990. He's been present since the beginning stage of this study's of 30 years. Though a one-sided relationship, the extraterrestrial feels a tight-knit-bond with his extraordinary host. He hovers hologramed in his silvery smooth oval spaceship. Sitting comfy in his invisible single-pilot cockpit, he propels a bit closer to listen intently. His eyes focus in on her like laser beams as she stands at the open back door of her kitchen. He opens his listening portal attempting to interpret and understand the human's thought pattern. He is endlessly entertained by the life of this left-handed, African-American female human being. Fascinated by her being born and raised in Baltimore City's ghetto regions and surviving triumphantly. She survived and knows she blessed to be alive. With an always high crime rate, Baltimore is a city in which you dodge troubled bullets daily. An abundance of Bullet Bills flying like a hard-level board of Mario Brothers. So much hunger. Too much poverty. Walking down the street becomes a gamble. For her it became too much to handle. So she found a mental beach and imaginary sandals. Embracing hope through comforting thoughts, she found a way to break free each day. And every morning the extraterrestrial loved listening to the cute things she'd say. Constantly speaking to herself. Sometimes in a third person way. He begins his journal log of study day 11,120.

Today is day 170 of year 2021 on planet Earth. The time is nine ante meridiem. The date is June 19th 2021, also known as Juneteeth. It is a staple in human race time as a day when slavery became halted for African-Americans in confederate states of landmass United States. Study specimen, Earthling Ebony Burns, is in a mood of high hopes. Her aura shines bright purple as she considers the idea of emancipation. Her thoughts are like poetry. She renders thoughts that are poetic yet somewhat pathetic. She stands motionless at her doorpost, envisioning a gimmick that would be intrinsic to a world plagued by quarantine and pandemic. Now opening listening portal, making specimen thoughts audible:

"If only I could be free. Like a bird, I'd fly away. High into the sky, during the sunset of day. Bringing back the worms for my 3 hatchlings in nest. Easily finding rest, from the perturbation of financial lack. Nothing could hold me back from bringing home the bacon. Every oppurtunity to soar would be taken. Never extending my pearls to swine. I straighten my spine, with wise words straight from the good book. Cardinals in my backyard elevate my faith as I gazingly look. What is my purpose and what am I seeking in the end? I examine myself as someone outside looking in. I stare pass my gated screen door, into plush green trees and grass. During the equinox of my mind's core. Rotating thoughts of lessons from past, I incorporate in the now. Futuristic self screaming for help. Releasing a silent yelp. I extend my arms, yet palms grasp nothing but air. I just stare, climbing life's stairs. Epiphany glares, right back, with a message for me to gawk at. Causing synaptic connectivity. Thoughts arise about hungry humanity. It's sad to see. A dejected infested society, with inflamed neurotransmitters causing depression and anxiety. Only cured by focus on positivity and the cultivation of humility. The soil in which I plant the seeds. To sprout fruits of the spirits needs. Watered by the rain of penetrating love. After the flood, I'd be the branch-bearing dove. Reaching the tips of hearts' roots. Through positive projection not just fantasizing of knocking boots. This time I deeply decipher one's ability to project empathy as natural remedy. Amongst a crowd of homo sapiens in the lion's dens. Despite my sins they'd let me in. Willing to listen to my knowledge and ride my life's rollercoaster mileage. They'd hear my story and pay homage. Items from my life's experience of countless research and experiments. All efficient. Removing despair by unrolling my scrolls of hunted and gathered stories to share. Those that lounge in the back of my mind that could change the world and shift time. Awakening the masses third eye to unite the pizza pie of Earth's crust. Divided by mischief and mistrust. Using words of wisdom to adorn. I'd be as a handkerchief doused with chloroform to sedate those that mourn. I'd help to dry the disturbingly endless cry of a world filled with the unanswered question of why. Seeking to help the one who fell off of life's boat, I'd be a life raft causing them to stay afloat. Awakening a river of hope. Drenching the Sahara of the mentally ill, freeing their will. Kindness of depict, settling the clouds formed by explosive trauma and conflict. Sanguinly calming the thunderstorms of the vulnerable and exposed. Revealing sunrise as the light at the end of the tunnel of adversity imposed. The scarlet wings of the Cardinal reminds me of the blood from the sacrificial lamb and of the lives lost at war. Though life is a battlefield, I see the victory while others view the gore. They must be trained to envision more. If only I had a platform to transfer and transform the thinking of norm. By the power of a meaningful quote paired with RainbowEagles44 art, I'd move bravery mountains into the sea of a discouraged heart. Hope and joy would outwardly grow. Emitting light into the iris of souls and dilating the pupils of the mind as optimism glows."

The ET just listens and records, verbally jotting notes in his journal log. As captain he sits proudly, telepathicly hearing her silent thoughts out loud through a portal. He listens with admiration for the human's empowering thoughts. A woman in need of a platform to publicize her art and writings. Obtaining that audience would cause a chain reaction of joy in the world through upliftment. To provide a voice of reasoning and positive reception through lessons that could teach her world along with his war-torn planet as well. Messages that he could take to heal his home. He sits there, attempting to translate her thoughts and dilemmas.

Specimen Earlthing Ebony Burns is a woman of the planet with a massive energy signature leaving a great imprints where ever she goes. She houses secrets of the universe and harnesses power from the Almighty Creator. She makes use of her skills daily to defeat the downside in conditions on Earth. She is exuberating in the knowledge of gaining victory. Within 30 years of lifespan, she has gained understanding that oozes from her pores needing to be shared to uplift humanity. She's needing of a platform to speak to all walks of life down there. Speaking to and about all cultures, races, ethnicities and backgrounds that have chosen to triumph over tragedy, adversity and difficulty. A place to free herself while freeing her world as we know it. Highly useful for freeing my planet as well. Here I am existing to see the day she can spread her message to her planet so I can take it back to my home and end the wars. I wait with burning hope. Reopening listening portal to the thoughts of Earthling Ebony Burns one last time today before ending morning log:

"I could be the jolt of hope to resuscitate and obliterate hate. I'd annihilate the long wait, for peace. At least, I could introduce a world where smiles and laughter lie. A world combusting with colors streaming like tie dye. If only they could see the leadership in me, I'd kill the enemy and write a eulogy. I wish to help the Superman facing his Doomsday or the Batman facing his Bane. Saving them from pain, I'd assist in making villains pay. Making sure Superman gets to fly off and Batman gets to walk away. I could be the materia for the Clouds facing their Sephiroth. I'd be the one to push closed Pandora's Box , turning Earth's curses off. I, being the liberated protagonist to defeat the antagonist to be, while continually proving triumphant over tragedy."

Despite the lingering conditions of both their planets. They both have a great patience, hope and belief in the day of relief for both their planets. They both smile, almost as if she is smiling back at her secret admirer in the sky. Both knowing that she could change the world and with the right oppurtunity she will. The extraterrestrial sits high in a sky filled with hope while Earthling Ebony turns around to tend to her crying baby seated in his swing. With a large grin to herself she whispers, "I'm always glad to see triumph over Earth's tragedy."

Fn

Short Story
3

About the Creator

Ebony Burns

It's your friendly neighborhood writer and artist Ebony Burns .Check out my art @RainbowEagles44

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.