Fiction logo

Trituration

Bridget Chrysanthemum

By K8WPublished 3 years ago 7 min read
Like

Trituration

Sometimes it's the first moment of the day that catches you off guard. I opened my window to see fire engines and police cars burn rubber as they rushed down the street. While this wasn't something completely unheard of, since the city had a large crime rate, it also wasn't completely normal. I could feel it in my bones that it was a sure sign something unusual would happen and it was the way I wanted the day to begin.

I fingered the heart-shaped locket around my neck, a gift from my mother. I rubbed my thumb over the engraved word as thick, black smoke settled over the land, it was as if the buildings were submerged in a black river. Hope, that's what my mother had given me. It was a powerful feeling, overwhelming at times. I could hear rhythmic thumping footsteps march up the stairway to my apartment.

The government had figured it out. I was the one who burned buildings, who played real music in the streets, the one who made jailbreaks, the list could go on for miles. They had figured out that I was the man behind the mask. A smirk played against my lips as I watched chaos unravel across the city. I stood there rubbing the locket and sipping my glass of ice water. The soldiers used a battering ram to easily break the door down. I took another sip of my water. I didn't need to stop them, my plan was already in motion. The government had been meddling in my life for too long, it was time for a new age. As the sound of the building crumbling echoes throughout my apartment, I stood at the window, staring at the locket, wondering what was in it. I was told to share it with someone. However, I never found the right person so I never opened it. The soldiers swarmed around me like ants to sugar, the armor supported the image. I set my drink down and turned towards them.

"Have you been enjoying the show as much as I have? It is beautiful, the way the flames dance. Robert Frost wrote a poem about destruction. I should recite it for you though you've probably forgotten what poetry is. 'Some say the world will end in fire, some say in ice. From what I've tasted of desire I hold with those who favour fire. But if it had to perish twice, I think I know enough of hate to say that for destruction ice is also great and would suffice.' The way words flow is truly wonderful, but we don't have time for that, do we now?"

I shoved my hands in front of me, symbol of surrendering. They led me to my doom. The smoke filled my lungs, choking me as I descended the steps. The locket that hung from my neck was warm from the heat and my constant holding of it, I had never understood its purpose. They pushed me into the streets, I knew what was coming, everyone did. They shoved me against the wall, but paused for just a moment, perhaps they expected me to run. I didn't. I smiled when they lined up behind me, they couldn't stop the plan, not any more.

"Any last requests?"

"Just one."

I beckoned for a teenage girl who was hiding in a nearby alley to come closer. She was hesitant, but stepped forward.

"What's your name?"

"Faith."

She smiled at me even though I was a criminal, her face showed no fear of my insanity. It was as if she was willing to join me. I took off the locket. I had found the right person.

"Take it and open it for me."

She picked it up as if it was made of glass.

"Go on."

She gingerly undid the clasp as if it would shatter. The inside was lined with amazonite, the gem that symbolizes hope, and contained a slip of paper.

"Read it for me."

She grabbed my hand so that both of us held the locket. She had joined me and with a voice as gentle as a butterfly's fluttering, but with the confidence of a lion, she started to read the note.

"Hope…"

Then the sound of a gunshot ended it all, but the smiles never left our faces.

Sometimes it's the first moment of the day that catches you off guard. I opened my window to see fire engines and police cars burn rubber as they rushed down the street. While this wasn't something completely unheard of, since the city had a large crime rate, it also wasn't completely normal. I could feel it in my bones that it was a sure sign something unusual would happen and it was the way I wanted the day to begin.

I fingered the heart-shaped locket around my neck, a gift from my mother. I rubbed my thumb over the engraved word as thick, black smoke settled over the land, it was as if the buildings were submerged in a black river. Hope, that's what my mother had given me. It was a powerful feeling, overwhelming at times. I could hear rhythmic thumping footsteps march up the stairway to my apartment.

The government had figured it out. I was the one who burned buildings, who played real music in the streets, the one who made jailbreaks, the list could go on for miles. They had figured out that I was the man behind the mask. A smirk played against my lips as I watched chaos unravel across the city. I stood there rubbing the locket and sipping my glass of ice water. The soldiers used a battering ram to easily break the door down. I took another sip of my water. I didn't need to stop them, my plan was already in motion. The government had been meddling in my life for too long, it was time for a new age. As the sound of the building crumbling echoes throughout my apartment, I stood at the window, staring at the locket, wondering what was in it. I was told to share it with someone. However, I never found the right person so I never opened it. The soldiers swarmed around me like ants to sugar, the armor supported the image. I set my drink down and turned towards them.

"Have you been enjoying the show as much as I have? It is beautiful, the way the flames dance. Robert Frost wrote a poem about destruction. I should recite it for you though you've probably forgotten what poetry is. 'Some say the world will end in fire, some say in ice. From what I've tasted of desire I hold with those who favour fire. But if it had to perish twice, I think I know enough of hate to say that for destruction ice is also great and would suffice.' The way words flow is truly wonderful, but we don't have time for that, do we now?"

I shoved my hands in front of me, symbol of surrendering. They led me to my doom. The smoke filled my lungs, choking me as I descended the steps. The locket that hung from my neck was warm from the heat and my constant holding of it, I had never understood its purpose. They pushed me into the streets, I knew what was coming, everyone did. They shoved me against the wall, but paused for just a moment, perhaps they expected me to run. I didn't. I smiled when they lined up behind me, they couldn't stop the plan, not any more.

"Any last requests?"

"Just one."

I beckoned for a teenage girl who was hiding in a nearby alley to come closer. She was hesitant, but stepped forward.

"What's your name?"

"Faith."

She smiled at me even though I was a criminal, her face showed no fear of my insanity. It was as if she was willing to join me. I took off the locket. I had found the right person.

"Take it and open it for me."

She picked it up as if it was made of glass.

"Go on."

She gingerly undid the clasp as if it would shatter. The inside was lined with amazonite, the gem that symbolizes hope, and contained a slip of paper.

"Read it for me."

She grabbed my hand so that both of us held the locket. She had joined me and with a voice as gentle as a butterfly's fluttering, but with the confidence of a lion, she started to read the note.

"Hope…"

Then the sound of a gunshot ended it all, but the smiles never left our faces.

Sci Fi
Like

About the Creator

K8W

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.