Fiction logo

Train station

A conversation with and Odd stranger

By May sanz Published 2 years ago 3 min read
1
Train station
Photo by Karol Smoczynski on Unsplash

-"I'm a good advisor! It is my job after all, spending my 9-6 advising other people on diverse topics. Where to invest their money? When to pass on a Business opportunity? When to buy a house? Or when it is best to sale some of their passives?"- I said to Alice, the old lady who is sharing sits with me at the train stations. She seems nice and is waiting for the same interstate train as me, so why not keep her company.

Alice just smiles back, thankful for the company, I guess. She is average hight, wearing average black clothe, people seems to don't notice her there, even ignoring her. I think that is how we are now, in constant movement, concerned over our phones and ignoring the world outside that little luminescent box that hold the world to our finger tips. If it wasn't for her long white hair I think I would have ignored her as well, but I felt drawn to her, compel to talk to her even.

I think the main reason why I'm talking to Alice, is because I've learn to respect my elders, they have experience to learn from, stories to tell if one is willing to listen.

I'm lucky enough to have all of my grandparents alive, all of my 18 aunts and uncles, my parents, sisters and cousins, not a single death on my family since I can remember. Apparently we have been cheating death, or it has just ignored us, as most people are ignoring Alice at this exact moment.

After a few minutes of uncomfortable silence I decided to continue speaking, I don't like uncomfortable silences.

-"I'm so good at what I do, that after my paid 9-6 is over, I'm the adviser for my family and friends, they call me to asked what arguments are worthy to have with their husbands or wife's (yes, cause apparently they don't mind to get advise from someone who has never been married, and not even has time to date) what dress to were for a party or what food to order for the next movie night"-.

Alice knotted and quietly encouraged me to tell her more. She was enjoying the company, I can tell.

- "I need to admit that the only thing I am not good advising on is death. I'm not good with it, and try to avoid people who are going through death on their family. My expertise goes as far as what is strictly polite, sending flowers with a generic card and nothing more".

Alice laughed at my comment.

-"What can I say? Death is not my forte"- I look up and saw the moon, it was gorgeous today, I don't think I've seen a moon this full in a long time. Since I was a kid on my grandmas backyard, I'm nostalgic now and decide to shoot a message to my mom, I might take vacations soon to go visit her.

"Mom,

I'm so thankfully to be part of this family, to have the parents I have, and the grandparents I have. I've been lucky to never has face death and to have the support of such a big family.

I know I do not dedicate as much time to you as I wish, but I'll try to be better from now on. After 3 and a half years without taking vacations I finally decided to submit my vacations requests so I can go visit, what do you thing about that?

See you soon, and love you."

The next thing I remember after that, was the pricing sound of a crash and the extreme pain on my ribs... I blinked a couple of times, not understanding what was going on, just to see Alice extended hand.

-"It seems you couldn't cheat me forever!"- she said with a warm smile on her face. -"Are you ready to come with me?"-

Mystery
1

About the Creator

May sanz

Welcome to my Vocal page, I am a deep soul looking forward to put into words the ideas and shorts stories that cross my mind, hoping that people like you enjoy it and help me to improve my craft.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.