Fiction logo

Toxic

CHAPTER ONE

By Mercedes ChavezPublished 5 months ago 4 min read
2
Artist Unknown

I've always been close with my little sister, even now that we're older, she hasn't always had the best taste in men, but she's been with the same guy for 5 years now, and as long as she's happy, then I guess I'm happy for her.

I had the feeling her boyfriend didn't keep the best company, and I didn't know just how right I was... until I met him.

It was the night of my sister's 25th birthday, and Johnny (my sister's boyfriend) went all out for her, he knew the owner of a fancy night club downtown and manage to swing having the party there.

When I arrived, Alyssa was surrounded by a group of her friends, she saw me and asked everyone to clear a path for me, I hugged her tightly and handed her her gift, I leaned in and told her to enjoy herself, she knew me too well, she knew I was going to try and escape, but she begged me to stay; with a sigh, I agreed.

I went to the bar to wait for her but of course 20 minutes pass and I look over and she is doing Jell-O shots with Johnny and her friends, I smiled and turned back to the bar.

"Rose or Chardonnay?"

I quickly looked to my immediate left; he was tall, maybe 6 feet or so, warm caramel skin, a intimidatingly beautiful neck tattoo of what I think was a hawk. He was leaning against the bar, staring at me with a devilish smile.

I looked down and smirked, "I'm not much of a wine drinker."

He let out a small laugh and took a step closer, "What's your poison?"

"Bourbon on the rocks." He gave me that devilish smile again, I felt myself start to blush and quickly looked away.

From the corner of my eye I saw him gesture to the bartender, not once taking his eyes off of me. "Jimmy, usual for me, bourbon on the rocks for the lady." He finally took the seat next to me and stayed leaning towards me. "How do you know the birthday girl?"

I took a sip from my glass and tipped my head at him, "How do you know I'm here for the birthday girl and not for getting guys to buy me free drinks."

"I saw you when you walked in, you went straight for her, and the way you hugged her, I'm guessing you're family." Another smile from him, "Am I right?"

I turned and looked towards Alyssa, "She's my little sister."

"You're Isabella."

My smile faded a bit, "Are you friends with my sister? Because you don't seem like the usual people she runs with."

"Not her. I'm more of an... acquaintance of Johnny."

That's what did it for me, I finished the rest of my drink and stood up, I looked to the bartender, "What do I owe?"

"What happened darling, I thought we were having a moment?"

"I don't need to have any moments with anyone who is friends with Johnny."

"Ouch, that hurts. You don't even know me."

"Yeah but I know the kind of people that Johnny is involved with, he's okay as long as he's treating my sister right, being okay with him doesn't mean I have to be okay with the people he's involved with." I began to walk away, when I felt him grab my hand.

"Don't do that." He gently pulled me back towards him, "You're a smart woman, what is they say, 'don't judge a book by it's cover.'"

"I'm not judging you by your cover, I mean, there's nothing wrong with your cover but-"

"So you like what you see?" There was that devilish smile again.

I bit my lip to keep from smiling and that seemed to have enticed him further, he stood and we were toe to toe, I looked up at him as he licked his lips, "What's it going to be sweetheart?"

"I, um... I don't even know your name."

He had this softness in his eyes, but his half smirk had the devil written all over it, and I knew he was trouble, trouble I should have run far and fast from.

"Bella!" Alyssa came screaming my name, "Well, well. Looks like you met Rio, Johnny's friend and the awesome club owner who let me have my party here."

"Is that right?"

"Yeah, anything for my boy. Well, ladies, why don't I let you two have a minute."

"Oh, no, I was just coming over to make sure Bella was actually socializing, after her last boyfriend, I have been begging her to get out and meet some new people. I'm really glad she ran into you," before I could interject, she hugged me and dipped back into the crowd.

"Rio, huh? How long has my sister been talking about me to you and Johnny's other friends?"

"Not long, she mentioned you were recently... detached."

"Did she now? Well, it's been a pleasure, but I should definitely be leaving," I wasn't sure who this guy was but I knew it was in my best interest to leave.

I felt his hand gently grab my wrist, "I'm starting to think you like when I pull you back," I looked away, attempting to hide the fact that he made me blush, and before I could object, he spoke again. "You shouldn't leave, you don't want to miss all the fun."

There was that devilish smile again...

SeriesYoung AdultShort StoryLove
2

About the Creator

Mercedes Chavez

Come with me, lets go on an adventure together, see the world through my eyes, let me paint a picture with my words, I promise you will be able to feel what I felt the first time I experienced it. Love, sadness and everything in between.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Test5 months ago

    Super!!! Excellent story!!!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.