Fiction logo

Too Late for Sorry

Microbe-fiction

By Sonia Heidi UnruhPublished 11 months ago Updated 9 months ago 1 min read
9
Too Late for Sorry
Photo by svetjekolem on Unsplash

Day 365

GLOBAL DAY OF MOURNING

As outbreak recedes, survivors ask: How do we move on?

(NY Times)

Day 240

HOPE WANES FOR VACCINE

World Health Organization: Radical measures needed

(Al Jazeera)

Day 96

'AGONIZING': HOSPITALS, MORGUES OVERRUN

(USA Today)

Day 53

VIRUSX CONQUERS EUROPE

Borders close as deaths, panic spread

(London Telegraph)

Day 21

"Forgive me. I chose wrong."

(Note found on Dr. Gary Thompson's deathbed)

Day 12

FIRST DEATH FROM MYSTERY VIRUS

Massive sickwave decimates police precinct

(Chicago Sun-Times)

Day 1

CONTROVERSIAL BIOENGINEER SHOT AFTER LAB BREAK-IN

Police received tip; officials mum on stolen biohazardous materials

(Chicago Tribune)

T-zero

"She has a gun!"

(Bodycam transcript)

T-minus-46 minutes

"I'm going tonight," said Leanne. "For the last time, will you help?"

"Don't do this," pleaded Gary. "You know better than anyone what's at stake."

"Exactly why it has to stay in my hands," Leanne retorted fiercely. Gary knew why Leanne's former lab staff called her the steel dragon. Crossing her meant hitting a wall of solid fire.

"I can't help you. I won't. I couldn't be responsible if ... I'm sorry."

She held his gaze a moment. "You're not the only one who's sorry." She turned briskly and walked out.

Microfiction
9

About the Creator

Sonia Heidi Unruh

I love: my husband and children; all who claim me as family or friend; the first bite of chocolate; the last blue before sunset; solving puzzles; stroking cats; finding myself by writing; losing myself in reading; the Creator who is love.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (7)

Sign in to comment
  • Paul Stewart10 months ago

    Sonia, I am sorry I missed this when you published it originally. This is breathtakingly tense and reminds me of disaster movies like Outbreak and some of the feelings we all had during that first year of Covid! Impressive work on this one, Sonia!

  • "Outbreak" meets Wuhan conspiracy theories. Chillingly succinct in the telling.

  • Dana Crandell11 months ago

    SO skilfully written! Brava!

  • Mackenzie Davis11 months ago

    Wow, great job! The structure really lends itself to a lot of nuance and a bigger story. I think I went back three times to unpack more of the plot! This was so clever, and I hope it made it into the challenge, because I think it would absolutely place! 💜😵

  • K. C. Wexlar11 months ago

    creepy and creative - good take on the challenge!

  • Donna Renee11 months ago

    Oooh the way you structured this was so good!!! I loved it!!

  • J. S. Wade11 months ago

    Scary stuff. Great story 🥰

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.