Fiction logo

Tonight At Ten

Bring the Corkscrew

By DeEtta MillerPublished 3 months ago 1 min read
1

Tonight At Ten

Bring the Corkscrew

By: DeEtta Miller

Our dream cabin was supposed to be a new beginning. Laced with quiet moments under stars, toasting our escape from humanity. Ted and I had been married for what felt like a lifetime. He promised, as we signed the sales contract, that his binge drinking, and emotional distance would be healed by the wilderness and solitude on the shore of a small pond.

Who knew that sunbathing could become a spectator sport? I waved at the handsome man across the pond as I awkwardly wrapped my body in Ted’s robe. It was a habit of Ted’s to drink himself to sleep every evening, as I warmed myself in the days last rays. And so, a ritual was established. Handsome man in binoculars, watching sunbathing lady.

Today while Ted slept off his booze, handsome man waved a sign. “Tonight at 10:00.” Sunbathing was exchanged for message signs and blowing kisses months ago, as snow and ice hardened a path for our meeting.

The full moon illuminated his footprints as handsome man crossed the ice, wine bottle in hand. I had brought two glasses but forgot the corkscrew. Rushing back in, I searched everywhere, but couldn’t find a corkscrew!

Returning to the dock, I could not see handsome man anywhere. Just a whole.

Fearing the worst, I retreat to the fishing shed in tears. Curling up in a corner to cry, I am poked by Ted’s wet, ice-covered auger, resting on a corkscrew…

Mystery
1

About the Creator

DeEtta Miller

Found my "Voice" as a college student of forty-seven. Once a memoir was written, fiction, poetry and non-fiction became my passions.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • DeEtta Miller (Author)3 months ago

    Right?! Mark, thanks for commenting! I appreciate your input! I do have an edge... and I love a surprise ending.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.