Fiction logo

Together Again

Waxed Family

By Sonja EdwardsPublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 16 min read
2

INTRODUCTION

I stood there looking at my daughter's lifeless body lying on my dining room table. She was always so pretty. She looked much better quiet not being able to fire insults like a dragon at me as she has over the years. So disrespectful and hurtful.

This was the only way we both can be happy and be a family again. I dragged her body to the other room of my basement where l kept all of my equipment and tools for my waxed sculptures. I pulled her body on top of the table, undressed Leslie while I sang, "What are little girls made of, sugar and spice and everything nice that's what little girls are made of." I then quickly went into my kitchen to mix the hot wax. It was my biggest achievement yet. As I poured the hot wax over my daughter's face and body, like creamy gravy over lumpy mashed potatoes, I hummed happily. I looked down at my dear Leslie's face as I turned her over to her back to split her open for embalming. I cleaned her out, then boiled all of her inners and sat them aside for Leslie stew later. I sewed her back up, and marinated her neck to back with the creamy hot wax. I couldn't help remembering when my children would sit at my feet and listen to stories l read to them before they went to bed. Those were warmed memories.

By Liv Bruce on Unsplash

I called my darling daughter Leslie last week and as usual, she was her not so charming self. Our conversation did not go well at all and my heart was broken.

"All that I have done for you and your brother, all that I had to suffer through as a single mother after your father left. I have done everything for you and your brother, that you could not even imagine before I met your stepfather. I had to sleep with men to put food on the table, and clothes on your back!" "Why don't you love me the way I love you?"

"You children grew up to be such vulgar, uncaring, and rotten people." "Why are you so disrespectful to me?" "Are you trying to kill me?" "I am tired of being treated this way, mentally, emotionally and verbally abused by the two of you." "All I ask is for some time with you that you don't give me, then you have the audacity to get upset with me when I ask you to do one thing for me," I screamed! "Did you catch amnesia before I married your stepfather?" "I was there when no one else was there to help me, your biological father abandoned you and I had to struggle by myself. You are so ungrateful!" "Mom you need to get a grip because what you have put us through or did you forget that you have bipolar, you left us with any and everyone you could, to work long hours."

"YOU are crazy. I is you who have forgotten about all the things that you have put me and my brother through!" My daughter Leslie yelled out! "Leslie, Leslie, I screamed, "let me speak!" She kept yelling. "Our stepfather helped us because you were so crazy all the time back then, so if you are done with this conversation goodbye!" I put the phone down sobbing on my couch. I thought about what their stepfather gave my kids and me. From the time I met Charles, he fell in love with me and my children. Charles was very family oriented after his parents died he wanted to take care of us. How I loved sitting around the dining room table laughing and talking. I missed those moments so much. As I wept bitterly, I screamed out, "I have good children, they love me, they respect me and we will one day sit around my dining room table laughing and talking about our day." I repeated this over and over again. My therapist told me to speak out and visualize the things that I desire, in order to give me peace and happiness.

After my mother and father died I had only my children to keep me busy or so I thought. My friends were all married, busy with their adult children or grandkids like a normal family. Unfortunately, I had no grandchildren. My husband died of a heart attack a few years ago. I was so lonely and alone.

I have always given my children everything they could ever want since birth. My husband Charles was a very wealthy man whose family owned a chain of funeral homes while he became a surgeon. Even Charles thought l spoiled the kids. They did love their stepfather so much. I think I put too much time and energy into my children since my husband was always working or playing with his trophies. I can't remember how many trophies over the years he had, but they were dumb enough to think he was going to leave me for those plastic surgery Barbies. He didn't mention any of his bimbos in his Will. The bastard was a cheat but took care of home.

After months of trying to call my children over for company my mind began to wander. When their stepfather had passed they eventually moved on with their lives. It seems they found a way to phase me out of their lives. Their stepfather left me well off. Charles left my children enough money to pay off their college tuition so they wouldn't be in debt. They were only allowed to get money from me once a year. Charles paid for my therapy for years especially after I found out about his lust for other women. I continued to see my psychiatrist after Charles's passing. My psychiatrists told me I was obsessing over my children and suggested that I took up a hobby to keep my mind occupied.

I took my Psychiatrist's advice to look for a hobby. Since I was a child I loved going to the museum with my mother and father. I especially loved looking at the dinosaurs. They looked so life-like.

It wasn't until a year ago I found out about the wax museum. I decided to fly to California and visit the Hollywood wax museum. I was amazed. It was as if Michael Jackson was still alive. There was Marilyn Monroe and so many others it was fascinating. I must learn everything about the wax museum business. It was something I could really get into to fill the void in my isolated life. Their clothes were real, their eyes,their nose felt very flesh like. It was bewildering.

When I returned home I had my entire basement remodeled to replicate the upstairs dining room, kitchen, and the kids' old bedrooms when they were living at home. Everything except the additional room I designed as my very own wax museum. Hmmm I pondered, what shall I start with first? I decided to experiment with that annoying cat that keeps trespassing. I lured it in and it was the first thing I waxed. It was very easy once I drained the blood from the dead animal then I embalmed it. Once the smell was gone it was very easy to continue. Mixing the wax and replicating the carcass was a challenge but with careful incisions, I became a master. My late husband left all of his equipment from the hospital in his office that was in the basement. Charles operated on the kids dog when the dog got hit by a car and had it's leg broken. Unfortunately, the dog died I broken heart after Charles died. I kept thinking that if I had known then how to have our dog reincarnated with wax I would have done this a long time ago.

I found myself obsessed. I started buying and waxing birds, rabbits, and I even bought a cute cocker spaniel. It was so cute, I hated killing it but now I get to have it with me forever. I didn't have to buy dog food or clean after him. I didn't want to discriminate so I bought male and female animals.

You would think after a mother had done so much for her children, they would want to come over and spend some time with her. One thing I never tolerated when they were children was disrespectful behavior, so Charles and I agreed he'd give out their punishment. didn't have the heart to, instead bI gave them a time out and later bought them something extravagant. I always thought that once my children became adults, they would remember all the things I did for them, and become well mannered, considerate, loving people. I needed them desperately matter what. I understood tat hey had lives of their own after college, and would eventually get married, but since not one of them had children yet, I expected more time with them. Nothing ever prepared me for the disrespectful money loving strangers they had become. It was very devastating. I was lonely and overwhelmed after their stepfather passed. Before my husband's lawyer read his will, my children's visits with me went from weeks to months, and months turned into each year of them barely coming by unless they came over to pick up their checks their stepfather left them. I called my daughter Leslie to ask if she could come by to spend some time with me and take a trip to Paris with me or Italy. She would always answer, "maybe another time, or mom just gt a hobby.".

The only time thatI would hear from her or her brother, is when they needed something. I was hurt and furious but I thought well maybe she's just overwhelmed with her work since she became a lawyer. After all, her stepfather died, and her husband was a bum. Leslie was a perfect person in my eyes until she met John who did not see anything but dollar signs when he met my daughter. What a waste, but I never said anything to her to upset her and now how could she be this ill-mannered to me? "Maybe I should take up a hobby, '' I said.

"Leslie, could you be a dear and please come with me?" "I've been downstairs in the basement working on my wax museum." "Come see what I've done with the basement," I asked?" "I would really love for you to come. I asked your brother Michael and he told me that he was busy with his dreadful wif something about coming next month. "Can you come this month and see me, I mean it?" I asked. I'll pay for your ticket if you will fly with me to Paris just for at least one week all expenses paid on me?" Leslie sighed "mother I am so sick and tired of you being so damned needy, if it means that much to you sure I'll go and you have to buy me a new wardrobe," Leslie demanded. "Of course dear of course I will buy you whatever you want." "You know that I will always love you.

It was in the dead of winter in Denver Colorado where we lived. There was always beautiful snow. I knew we were going to have fun but what I needed and longed for was the compassion and company of my children. I loved them so dearly all I wanted was the respect that I had given them over the years. I don't know why they were so irreverent to me. I figured that after Leslie came over, I would get her brother to come over soon so we could all be together. It was on a Friday when I called and made the reservations for Leslie and I to take a trip to Paris for a week. My daughter came over on the next Monday and when we sat down to talk, I told her I needed her to spend more time with me because I was getting old and wasn't going to be around long. "I wouldn't want you to miss the time with me," I said. "Mother you are so dramatic you're not going anywhere soon and besides I will always need you in case quit my practice at the law firm. I don't have to have a man take care of me the rest of my life like dad did you mom.," Leslie said sarcastically. "Maybe once you die I can get all of your money," she said laughingly. "You know I was just kidding." "Yes dear unless you go first hahaha I can play too," I responded.

I just looked at her and wondered what kind of children I'd raised to be such hateful ingrates. They only make withdrawals and no deposits.

By Danny Lines on Unsplash

"Hurry up so we can get this over with. Unlike you I have a life. Look at you, you don't keep your figure up anymore. Look at those wrinkles, you're going to have to get a facelift, dye your hair, and do something with your makeup. You look horrible. I am doing you a favor just to be around you. If I had kids they would be frightened of you, she laughed. I mean really mother look at you. "Let's get going before our flight leaves. I don't want to be seen by any of my friends." Leslie kept with insult after insult. I was deeply hurt. Her words pierced like a dagger to my heart. I became so enraged that I became numb. It was like a dream, an awful sad dream that I wanted to wake up from but couldn't. I said, "sure dear looking at her in disbelief." I began reminiscing about the past, how my children loved and respected me. It was a time when they treasured and honored me. I saw this once beautiful little girl I had and all the money I put into her braces, ballet lessons, piano lessons, prom and so much that I have done for my daughter. How could she be so cruel to me? I now saw her as a monster instead of my sweet darling beautiful daughter. Twitching and stuttering to speak, I finally came to myself. "Leslie dear, come downstairs with me it will only take a second to show you what I have been doing when you're not around," I said. "Alright but hurry up I don't want to be here a minute longer."

By Kevin Kelly on Unsplash

"You might as well pour me a drink before we leave," Leslie said. "Sure, dear anything you say. I have a bar downstairs. You will love what I've done to the basement." I said very calmly. As Leslie and I walked downstairs to the basement, I thought maybe Leslie could use a little drop of animal tranquilizer in her sherry to relax her. "Mother it's. cold down here." Leslie complained. "That's part of the surprise, just keep your mink sable on, you'll be fine I promise." I said. "Mother, you really have been quite busy. Did you really do this yourself?" "Wow these animals really look so life-like. I'm surprised you have the capability to do anything but shop." Leslie said.

" Leslie, what is your problem?" "Why do you speak so harshly to me, your mother?" "Well I've never known you to do anything but spend (Charles) daddy's money." "Yes dear I know but I have given you kids everything. I raised you without your biological father." I said. "Well you chased him away anywaybeing so needy just like you're doing right now." "Our stepfather didn't die, he escaped," Leslie said. "Have a seat at the dining table while I pour you a glass of sherry dear," It might give you a better personality," I barked back. "Ouch mother you're such a witch," Leslie said. The twitching came back and all I saw was the little girl, the beautiful teenage girl, the scared college student that called me whenever she could. My thoughts were racing so much, playing over and over in my mind, from my darling daughter being a cute baby to a darling little girl to an awkward teen..

I quickly went to the kitchen, grabbed the Sherry and my tranquilizer. Before I knew it I had emptied the entire bottle in my daughter's Sherry. I couldn't believe I was handing it to her as she kept degrading me. While Leslie kept spitting venomous insults like a viper, my mind drifted once how sweet she once was. My daughter sat at one end of the dining table and I sat at the other end. As I sipped on my Sherry, I watched her continue to talk until her speech became sluggish, faint, then thump! Leslie's head fell on the table and I just sat there. I don't know why but I kept looking over at the end of the table seeing the little girl coming home from school telling me about her day including me in her life. I knew what I must do. I will always have her with me. I dragged her lifeless body to the back room where I kept the wax supplies. I drained all blood from her body by severing her jugular vein. After several days I cleaned every trace of evidence in the bathtub, I washed her clothes, embalmed and sewed my daughter. It was a wonderful likeness I said after a week of creating my very own wax daughter. She was so beautiful sitting there so still so quiet at the end of the dining table looking at me. Our conversations were so lovely and polite. We had breakfast, lunch, and dinner as a family. I love her so much. .

I can't wait till Michael comes to dinner so we can all be together again. I called my son Michael, "hello it's your mother sweetheart, how are you doin, I asked?" "I'm fine mom, what do you want, I'm busy?" my son asked. "I was just wondering if you and your lovely wife would like to come join me and your sister for dinner?" "I don't have time, besides we got a divorce last year."he said. "Oh dear I'm so sorry can you please come over?" "I would really love to see you," I asked. "Well I do need a loan until I get paid again. The b**** took my money in the divorce settlement," my son said. "Watch your language Michael, I am your mother," I said. "Mom you were a gold digger just like that b****, besides I am a grown man, my son said. "Yes I know it's alright," I said. "Please come mommy will give you all the money you need if you would just come. I would like to show you the hobby I have in the basement. We can be one big happy family together again.".

Short Story
2

About the Creator

Sonja Edwards

I am 56 years old. l love God poetry, stories, creating, designing, art, and I have an online store called God's Flourishings No.1.

gods-flourishings-no-1.myshopify.com

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.