Fiction logo

Together

In Crisis

By Tammi DPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
3
Together
Photo by Ragnar Vorel on Unsplash

A few people on the beach were enjoying the calm weather, restaurants were serving locals and tourist shops were getting ready for the upcoming summer season. Sitting at a bench on the boardwalk, I was watching a research vessel I could just barely see from the shore. The local university was there to tag and release sharks back into the ocean , then they would be monitored. My brother was working on that boat.

Gary and I were closer in age than our other siblings, we spent a lot of time together growing up. Our parents grew concerned about him at a young age, he seemed smart but had a difficult time socializing with other kids, his brain seemed to work differently than others. At age 6 he was diagnosed with Autism Spectrum Disorder. Although anxiety constantly plagued him, making his day to day life difficult, he was very intelligent. As he grew older he did well in school and excelled in math, science, especially biology. He possesses an almost encyclopedic knowledge of marine animals. After graduating from college he found a position at the university.

By Anton Sharov on Unsplash

After watching the boat come in, I walked down to the dock. One of the guys who works with him recognized me.

“ Hi, are you here to see Gary?”

“ I am. I was hoping I could tear him away from his work long enough for us to have lunch.”

”Sure, I'll tell him you're here.”

A few minutes later Gary appeared smiling. He was wearing the Iron man t-shirt I bought him last Christmas.

“ Hi sis!”

He reached down to give me a hug.

We walked over to the boardwalk to find a place to eat. Restaurants were becoming busy with their lunch rush. A slight breeze could be felt, spring weather didn't get much better. We chose a table in front of a bar and grill and placed our order. He explained to me everything that occurred that morning. He loved his job, it showed whenever he talked about it. We talked about his other favorite thing, SpongeBob SquarePants. We watched it together when we were kids. He found it comforting and would help ease his anxiety after a demanding day of school or work. I loved talking to him about anything. He told me a joke he heard on an episode he watched the other day.

“Why wasn't the pirate allowed in the movie?

“ I don't know why?”

“ It was rated RRRRR”

I laughed at how bad it was, he did too.

After lunch we sat on a bench overlooking the ocean. It was time to tell him the news I had been carrying with me all day. I hated giving him bad news. When things in life happened that were not so simple it was difficult for him to cope. I had to be upfront and honest though. Our mom had been sick for a few weeks but could not bring herself to tell Gary because of the difficulty he had coping with stressful situations.

It was time to tell him everything.

“Gary, I have to talk to you about something”

He immediately seemed tense. “What's wrong?’

”Mom is sick, she was admitted to the hospital yesterday. The doctor said she is experiencing kidney failure.”

He closed his eyes, I could see the fear take over his face.

“Is she going to be ok?”

“ She is on the list for a kidney but no one knows how long it will take to find a donor. I was tested to see if I could give one of mine but I didn't match.”

He sat in silence for a long minute, he was processing what I said. I waited for him to be able to speak.

“ Why didn't she tell me, I'm not a child.”

I had to agree” Your right, I'm sorry.”

I could see his anxiety increase on his face as he thought about the situation.

I wanted to do something to ease his pain, but I knew there was nothing I could do.

“Will she die?”

“ I hope not Gary, we have to see what happens.”

His face looked as if he came to a decision. “Can I donate my kidney?”

“Are you sure you want to do that?” I wonder if he thought about it fully.

“ It's my right if I want to help.”

Our mother knew that Gary would feel that way and that's why she waited to tell him. I didn't want to go along but it was her decision. Her health declining now and there was no avoiding the truth.

“Ok, we will have to find out if you match.”

“Will you help me talk to the doctor?”

“Yes, I will.

He seemed lost in thought for awhile, I let him think. After spending the morning in the hospital with mom the fresh spring air felt wonderful. A few minutes I decided I had better check in with him.

“ Are you going to be ok?”

“ Yes, I just don't know what is going to happen with Mom.”

I reached for his hand, “ Well whatever happens we will deal with it together.”

He turned to me, still looking worried. “ We have each other right?”

I gave his hand a gentle squeeze, “ Absolutely, we have each other.”

Short Story
3

About the Creator

Tammi D

Hello Everyone!

I love a good story and want to be a storyteller.I hope you will enjoy my work.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.