Fiction logo

Title: The Broken Pieces of Us

What is broken cannot be repaired

By Berkay AkterPublished about a year ago 3 min read
Like

Chapter 1

I woke up to the sound of rain tapping against my window. It was a sound I was all too familiar with. Rain meant pain. Rain meant tears. Rain meant brokenness. I took a deep breath and forced myself out of bed. It was just another day, and I had to face it like I always did.

I went about my morning routine, trying to push the thoughts of the past away. But they crept up on me, like they always did. Memories of him flooded my mind, and I couldn't help but feel the sting of tears in my eyes. It had been months since he left, but the pain was still raw.

I knew I had to face it, though. I couldn't keep living in the past. I had to move on, even if it meant living with the broken pieces of myself.

Chapter 2

I walked into the office, feeling a sense of dread wash over me. Work had always been my escape, but even that had lost its appeal. My boss, Mr. Johnson, greeted me with a smile. "Good morning, Emily. How are you today?"

I forced a smile and replied, "I'm good, thanks."

He gave me a concerned look. "Are you sure? You seem a bit down."

I shrugged it off, not wanting to burden him with my problems. "Just a rough morning, that's all."

He nodded understandingly and went back to his work. I sat at my desk, staring at the computer screen in front of me. I knew I had to focus, but my mind kept wandering. I couldn't shake off the feeling that something was missing, that something was wrong.

Chapter 3

As the day went on, the feeling only grew stronger. It wasn't until I saw him that I realized what it was. He walked into the office, looking as handsome as ever. His eyes met mine, and I felt my heart skip a beat.

"Hey, Emily," he said, a hint of a smile on his lips.

I forced myself to smile back, even though my heart was breaking. "Hey, Jack. What brings you here?"

He shrugged nonchalantly. "Just wanted to say hi. How have you been?"

I looked away, not wanting him to see the pain in my eyes. "I've been okay. How about you?"

He hesitated for a moment before replying, "I've been good, thanks."

The conversation was awkward, and I knew it was time for him to leave. "Well, it was good seeing you, Jack. Take care."

He nodded and walked away, leaving me with a million thoughts racing through my mind.

Chapter 4

The rest of the day passed in a blur, and before I knew it, it was time to go home. As I walked out of the office building, I felt the rain start to pour down on me. I didn't care, though. I just wanted to get home and forget about the day.

But as I walked down the street, I saw him again. He was standing under a tree, trying to shield himself from the rain. I hesitated for a moment before walking up to him.

"Hey, do you need a ride?" I asked, trying to keep my voice steady.

He looked up at me, surprise evident in his eyes. "Are you sure?"

I nodded. "Yeah, let's get out of the rain."

We got into my car, and I could feel the tension between us. It wasn't until we were on the road that he spoke up

Short StoryScriptMysteryFable
Like

About the Creator

Berkay Akter

Berkay Akter, 25, overcame adversity to become a successful entrepreneur. He inspires others with his determination to succeed and commitment to giving back. His message: you can achieve your dreams with hard work and perseverance.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.