Fiction logo

Time Warden & Anti Hero

written by danny diez

By Danny DiezPublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 6 min read
6
Time Warden & Anti Hero
Photo by Ansgar Scheffold on Unsplash

"There weren't always dragons in the valley." Amelia read the storybook aloud, then carelessly tossed it off the cliff into the sea.

Stories like that are for small time gigs. Me? I'm an ambitious girl, I slay wyverns at the quaking mountain summit while enduring a blizzard! Don't put me in the ranks with these novices . . .

Time Warden & Anti Hero

Chapter 1: Miraculous Life

“Hmph, looks like they stuck me with a real novice. I read up on your background, pal. Did my homework. So, you’re nineteen years old, fresh out’a that prestigious Imogen Academy, graduated with the highest honor from the directors, and yet . . .

“I’ve never seen such a scrawny runt in my life! You think I’m gonna let you follow me around looking like that?” Amelia scoffed at her newly assigned partner, a young man standing beside her wearing only a pair of tattered jean shorts.

The two strangers stood on a cliff overlooking the bay at dawn. Amelia tossed her highlighted black hair over her shoulder, squinting at him with her green iris.

This kid looks like a bum, straight up. His hair’s almost as long as mine. And that nasty beard, yuck! He’s barefoot, no socks or shoes. What’s his deal?

Ignoring his partner’s crude and direct insults, the young man spoke to her in a polite tone. “Hello to you too, Madame Vermillion. My name is Kai Tokeishujin. I can tell you’re not one for formal introductions. That is quite fine with me. I am here of my own accord to provide service as your humble assistant. Your wish is my command.”

“Is that so? Here’s a fun fact for ya, Mister Kai Taggy-whatever-the-hell. I’ve been partnered with three time wardens in my career so far, and not a single one of ya lasted long enough to turn in the bounty I’m after. Oh, we’ve come close, but always fall flat.

“So if you’re chasing an early death, fine by me. There’s no sympathy for ya. I likely wouldn’t even show up at yer funeral.”

Kai was not phased by her attempt to discourage him. He remained calm. This moment was a chance for him to size her up. She wears black eyeliner, black lipstick, and a tight black leather suit, likely chosen for its intimidating yet fashionable appeal.

She is honest. I will give her that, he thought, collecting the notes of her profile in his mental diary. Her combat skills are known to be lethal throughout the nation. To top it all off, she knows how to look good while getting the job done—something I fail at.

“Yes, madame. I’ve heard as much. Word does get around in these parts. I am fully prepared to fight and die by your side. If that is my destiny, I honor it by choice.”

“Oh, yeah. You wardens always talk about destiny, fate, all that garbage. It’s insignificant to me. I just need to kill one person, then I can retire and die happy.” Amelia stepped closer to Kai. “Don’t go thinking it will be easy, either. I’ve been hunting this bounty for a real long time. Since before you were even born, kid. And the grim reaper is always just a step behind me.”

Kai turned away from Amelia and gazed at the ocean. The sea gulls over the horizon were flying south.

He took a deep breath of the salty air as gusts of wind passed through palm trees like graceful spirits. When he exhaled, the birds became petrified like stone statues in the vast blue backdrop.

“Hey, not bad,” Amelia said, smirking. “Those gulls are pretty high up. I’ve never seen a warden make time stop from a distance that far.”

“It is a highly advanced stop-time spell called Nachtzeit. It should prove useful, yes?”

“Nachtzeit, eh? That’s a cut above the spells I’ve seen other wardens use. So you can keep a target frozen for as long as you wish?”

“Not exactly. The target is frozen for as long as I endure the migraine side effect. I have a high tolerance for pain, but if I hold too long, I start bleeding out my ears. I must release the spell if and when that occurs.”

With a snap of his fingers, Kai reanimated the frozen gulls, allowing them flight once more.

“Alright, kid. I’ll admit you got some talent there,” Amelia said as she playfully jabbed the warden’s bony arm. “Let me give you the rundown on our bounty.”

Kai sat cross-legged at the edge of the cliff. Amelia joined him, sitting with her legs dangling off the edge.

She continued, “Target is Nestasia Vermillion. If you must ask, yes, we are related. We were born by the same parents, but I disowned her as my sister many years ago.

“She’s slippery. Like a snake. Cold blooded and ruthless as all hell. Killed tons of people, including our parents and my younger brother. She almost did me in, too. Currently she’s number one on the Bounty Hunter Association’s most wanted list.”

“Do you have a plan for capturing her?” Kai asked.

“Ha! Are you for real, kid? This ain’t no capture. This is termination. Kill her on sight and take her head off. Can’t be sure she’s dead unless we got her head. Remember that.”

“Very well. If that is what you wish, I offer my full support.”

Amelia stood and drew the long, serrated katana from the sheath on her hip. “That’s what I like to hear. I recently got a lead on her, so we’re going in for the kill with no detours.”

“One last question,” Kai said as he levitated behind Amelia.

“Spill it.”

“You said Nestasia Vermillion is responsible for the death of your parents and your brother.”

“Mm-hm. Murdered them all. Stabbed me in the neck, too. Was bleeding out on the floor, saw a light at the end of the tunnel—it’s as crazy as it is true.”

“Astonishing! How did you survive?”

Amelia pulled her collar down and exposed the scar left by the incident. “Call it a miracle.”

[{TW=≠=AH}]

Medusa’s snakes covered the floor of the dark tunnel like land mines. Kai’s telepathy perceived the dangers of the terrain as he floated by them.

Make one wrong step, and you get the fang. I’ll cast my Nachtzeit on these pesky reptilians, allowing Madame Vermillion to make a clean passage through this annoying outlier tunnel . . .

“. . . I think the Queen Cobra is coming! Quick! Back to the wall! Don’t let it wrap itself around you!”

“Yo, Kai! We got a live one right here.” Amelia’s katana slashed through the Queen Cobra’s tail. “That was just a small part. Step it up, dude! I’m going for her neck!”

Kai knew the Queen Cobra was immune to Nachtzeit. Larger targets tend to break the spell binding hieroglyphic which he put on a small fragment of glass. He sighed, trying to devise a plan at the last second.

“Heh. I knew you were the die early type. Look at ya now, kid! Your entire life built up to this, but you couldn’t pass GO.” Amelia taunted the warden as she swiftly evaded the Queen Cobra's strikes.

Inspired by the ridicule his partner put him through, Kai decided to go for broke. “Very well, then. Amelia, I bestow upon you the exceptional rank of Anti Hero! As for myself, I call to order my trump card. This spell shall write the script of our lives hence forth! I use the spell . . .

Weltanschauung!

Cosmic bursts of energy formed a whirlpool of matter colliding in the abyss.

[{TW=≠=AH}]

Young Adult
6

About the Creator

Danny Diez

If you would like more content from Danny Diez, please join us on twitter and share your support. Twitter: @VanHiltonLive

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  3. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  1. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (5)

Sign in to comment
  • Dreary2 years ago

    Great read, very interesting!

  • Nicole Bible2 years ago

    I really like the dynamic and chemistry between your characters. I also love the style in which you wrote this! Awesome start! 🥰

  • test2 years ago

    A captivating start! These two partners will be fun to watch. I look forward to reading more. 🔥💯🔥 TC

  • Daniel Jay2 years ago

    Great story!

  • Cait Erin2 years ago

    Love it!!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.