Fiction logo

Time, subtle is your heist

Arguably, the greatest thief of all.

By Novel AllenPublished 11 months ago 1 min read
10
Mambawatches on Unsplash

My eyes were closed, I felt cold, someone slapped my 'fanny'. I screamed in righteous infantile anger and indignation. What is this place, why have you unceremoniously ushered me here? Did I give you permission to uproot me from my world beyond this uncertain world, and drag me into your...Where am I anyway?

What kind of life will I be exposed to. Will you shower me with luxury. Will you dress me in the finest silk, place me on beds of satiny comfort and delight, feed me from the nectar of the Gods. Or will I suffer a life of abject poverty, drudgery and broken dreams.

I got older. I met life.

My parents were poor in earthly possessions..but rich in love and tender understandings. My siblings and I fought..did what siblings ought to do.

Life..was..not..always..easy! But I was taught that all peoples had their own versions of struggles, be they rich or poor.

Suddenly..there came school..I was a teenager..College..Iwas a young adult. Then, I was all grown up, with grown-up responsibilities. Job, family, maybe children, pet, mortgage. Grown child, College fund.

Grey hairs.

I woke up today wondering. When had 'TIME' stealthily crept away with the young expectant ME!

Psychological
10

About the Creator

Novel Allen

Clouds come floating into my life, no longer to carry rain or usher storm, but to add color to my sunset sky. ~~ Rabindranath Tagore~~

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  1. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  2. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  3. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  4. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  5. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

Add your insights

Comments (7)

Sign in to comment
  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran11 months ago

    Freaking hate time. Nothing heals with time. It only steals from us. Lol! Loved your story Novlet!

  • Great job on writing This ❤️😉📝❗

  • Tiffany Gordon 11 months ago

    WOW! Outstanding Novel! I love it!

  • Kendall Defoe 11 months ago

    Sneaky little bastard, isn't it? 😉

  • Lana V Lynx11 months ago

    Very poignant and something women ponder about all the time.

  • Grz Colm11 months ago

    ☺️🙌✨Excellent and relatable little micro Novel!! But YOU my friend are still young at heart. I’m sure we ALL can be for very much longer if we focus more on it! I often mourn the past…another of my nasty habits. Yet, their is a certain freedom in the now - and wisdom! We so wise! 🤣

  • Paul Stewart11 months ago

    Oh this is so good and rich with so many truths about life, Novel. Time is the greatest thief. I love this a whole lot! The progression from being born to now was clever!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.