Fiction logo

Through The Night

Short Story

By Latoya M.Delbridge Published 2 years ago 8 min read
Top Story - January 2022
30

I walked through the darkened halls, the candles that lined the massive walls would soon give way to the chilly air funneling through. The draft escaped through the grand tunnel that marked the way back to the more occupied area of my new home. What drew me this far, I could not tell, what feed my curiosity, I would not say; there were rumors of dark lore I dare not partake in, but they were only rumors, harmless to say the least. I wouldn't allow gossip to rule my life, nor creatures to send me running, so I kept walking.

I walked with my LED flashlight, slowing to flash the light about to see where I was. I looked back, gazing at the dull lit candles in the distance. I got far before I came to a cold wall decorated in what appeared to be a red carpet. From what I could see, there were golden symbols in a spiral, small golden figures of cats, arrows, and other beastly creatures. I peered around, only to notice I was at a dead end. This couldn't possibly be the end, I was sure of it so I propped my flashlight between my knees, and prepared to yank the fabric down. Dust flew, spiders scurried; The spiders scared me more than the dark. I jumped out of my skin when I thought I felt something crawling in my hair.

Laughing nervously I yanked, and tugged, but this carpet wouldn't even budge. One would think after all of these years, a place like this would be falling to pieces by now, But Feeling under the heavy fabric, I felt no latch or opening. There had to be more to this wall, and I would find it, but for now I would head back to my room, it seemed the longer I stayed in this tunnel, the chillier it became.

I sighed heavily, this was my inheritance; my estate now. I could hardly believe it possible; one day I'm a witch with no past, and the next day I inherited a castle out-looking the ocean. Maybe being twenty-one wouldn't be so bad, maybe I had a purpose in life after all.

I flopped down on my bed, it's size made for four people, the room immaculate, made for a queen.

I got up and layed across my black satin throw pillows under the large room window on the floor. Night was falling, my favorite kind of hour. I stared at my paranormal romance novels in longing. Oh, only if I could possibly have one of the men in my books, my werewolf lover, and I would walk through the forest, he would shift, and we would make passionate love right there under the moon. We would reign right here in this castle, my powers with his strength would be unmatched, my feeble girlish fantasies drifted on about my dark long haired wolf man. My heart pounded at the very thought of finding my lover in this castle. It was huge after all, and I had no idea what lay in wake in the other parts of the house. when a knock interrupted my freak session; my eyes snapped open.

"Madame, we are closing the kitchenette for the night, any last request?" Frank spoke in the dullest of tone. His voice sounding as if trapped dust lingered in his throat. "No I'm fine, thanks though," Raising my voice but never getting off the floor. Frank was one of the butlers, he'd been in this castle for over 20 years, as far as I was told. It made me wonder how old the others were. The door thumped shut, and I was there all alone again. I exhaled a long sigh, this was going to be a long night. Throwing my book aside, I got into bed, and to my surprise drifted off to sleep.

I woke to a noise I couldn't quite make out. Between a yell, and a growl I couldn't tell. Frustrated I was awakened from my slumber, I sat up in bed slowly, smacking my hair out of my eyes. I stretched my ear to listen. Silence, and then a howl so guttural I nearly jumped off of the bed. My heart pounded, I could not believe my ears. I jumped out of my bed, threw on some black tights, slipped into my combat boots, and snatched my flashlight in the process. I bolted out of my room door when I remembered the other servants slept close by. The door nearly slammed when I caught it mid-swing, and eased it shut with a click.

I tipped toed down the hall, listening for the howl again. Peering out the side windows of the hallway, I could see a majestic white owl circling about one of the wings of the castle when a guttural howl ripped through the silence, I flinched. Fascinated, and startled all at once, I grinned, and walked faster. I knew exactly where that howl was coming from. I ran down the dark tunnel, my heart pounding louder and louder. I came to the cold wall but, only this time I did not see the red carpet.

I waved my flashlight, looking around. I would have thought I was lost if it wasn't for the wall lifting slowly. In a panicked state I almost dropped the flashlight. I turned it off in the nick of time and threw my back against the side wall. I held my breath, my heart booming in my ears.

The wall opened, and out came two tall dark figures. One bigger than the other. Bug-eyed and shocked, I watched the creatures make their way back towards the house. They moved fast, as if they knew the house.

"Werewolves," I whispered out loud, when the larger figure froze, and turned, growling my way.

Scared, I turned my flashlight on, beaming it towards the wolves. I was finished, I was sure of it. Then I heard the wall closing. I only had two choices, finding out what was under this wall, or fight these wolves, so I darted under the closing wall, and was shut into unholy darkness.

I switched on my flashlight, but not even this artificial light could pierce through the cloak. Cautious, I took baby steps until I hit something hard with the toe of my combat boot. I came closer, and torches sizzled to life, illuminating a room full of Egyptian figurines. Golden Cats stood tall among the grand walls of the room, with minor figurines of werewolf creatures bowing in between the felines, small owls perched between other beautiful symbols. I was baffled to see all the gold in this room. This wasn't just a castle, it was a treasure trove of secrecy. It hit me when I saw a large portrait of my aunt Vivian in the center of the room. She was beautiful, I learned I was the only family member left of the Magnus lineage. Her death, tragic; the one who vowed to love her betrayed her. Blinded by her riches, and power, it all went to his head, and he murdered her right here in this very castle.

I circled the room, turning my flashlight off. My arms started to tingle; I stared down at my hands, watching my powers swirl through my veins. I was confused; this only occurred when another being of the same origin was near. In fear of the wall or door thingy that hid the room would open, I backed up into the darker corner of the room; trying to get as far in the shadows as I could. My heart went from a steady beat to pounding when a noise caught my attention from a tomb located in the center of the room.

There was movement inside of the tomb. I was officially freaked out, I could feel the very hairs on the back of my neck raise in alarm. Common sense told me to get the heck out of there, but I couldn't. The wall raised slowly, I gasped in the hushed quiet, and tried to make myself smaller, when a group of werewolves entered, and surrounded the tomb.

I watched as the top of the tomb slid open, and the corpse sat up slowly. I kept quiet while they performed a ceremony, I was familiar with the spell they chanted, but uneasy with the circumstance. The creatures stopped chanting, the room dead silent, the very air stood still. I was paralyzed in fear, I couldn't see the corpse in the tomb. I started to sweat, my eyes darted around trying to see where it went. The wolves didnt move, they appeared as statues.

I felt a tingle coming from my feet, I looked down only to notice I was gravitating off of the floor. I gasped out loud grabbing the wall or anything I could possibly find. I screamed when I found myself flowing toward the tomb. This wasn't right, I fought, my magic unrelieable, my hands paralyzed in the veil. I stopped, hovering over the tomb; I gasped for air trying desperately to break free. The wolves moved, and a woman came forth.

I stopped struggling, "Aunt Vivian?" I gasped. She smiled, and walked closer, coming to the foot of the tomb, the flesh on her face half gone, her beauty aged by death. I was horrified.

"We've been waiting for you Sasha," Before I could scream, I was slammed into the tomb, head hitting the bottom with such force, I Choked back tears and pain, I screamed.

Aunt Vivian inhaled, placing her rotted hand upon her face, her vitality and youth restoring almost instantly, something long overdue.

"Now it is finished," Howls filled the dark castle, and not a soul could hear my cries, or a dead one.

Horror
30

About the Creator

Latoya M.Delbridge

Avid paranormal romance and murder mystery reader! Fitness enthusiast donut loving person lol

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.