Fiction logo

Through Skarlet's Eyes

Is more just an illusion? Or are we programmed to believe that?

By Tyrel CurtisPublished 3 years ago Updated 3 years ago 6 min read
1

The flames danced their usual routine in the fireplace. Crackling and singing as they warmed the soles of my feet. As I sit wrapped up in my blanket sipping hot chocolate to warm my soul; a familiar voice is heard in the background.

"Ugh, I hate Winter. honestly who enjoys this shitty weather. Everything about Winter gives me the chills. From the frostbite temperatures to the extra layers of clothing I have to put on, then take right back off. It's just not worth it if you ask me." says Skarlet

As I turn my attention from the soothing flames, I see my sister staring out the window. While the sweet and soft snowflakes gently fell from the sky. She sits with her legs crossed sitting on the brown chest where we keep the extra blankets; she mopes. As Skarlet stares out into the firey white snow, I wonder, where is it that my twin sister wants to go.

She then says "Do you ever think about leaving this place, Grace? It's like all who lives here stays here, forever."

"What do you mean Skarlet? Is this place that bad?" I answer back.

Skarlet turns her head from facing the window and stares at me with her golden dandelion-colored eyes which compliments her cherry red curly hair that sits right above her shoulders.

She lets out a small chuckle then a tiny grin as if I was joking.

"Are you even listening to me?" snaps Skarlet "The most exciting thing about this town is the name, but even that gets old. We literally only have two seasons here. But they teach us four in school. 3 months of the year we get warm weather; I wouldn't even call that summer because we still have to wear jackets. The other 9 months are a blistering cold Winter. Ranking this small town a Winter Horrorland, next to the place where the jolly fat white guy makes gifts for all the nice children across the entire world."

Skarlet was right, I wasn't even paying attention to her. The fireplace was more interesting than watching snowflakes race to the ground.

"Winter Falls is not that bad Skarlet. We have our own annual elk stew contest, a professional hockey team, and Olympic figure skaters. Do you know why that is? Because most people here in Winter Falls see the bright side of staying here and find something much more productive to do instead of staring out the window crying about how cold it is." I snapped back while taking another sip of my hot chocolate.

I then stand up and heads toward the kitchen. Skarlet follows.

This is all new for her. She usually is a lot more cheerful but since our mom died she has begun to daydream about other places.

I walk the empty mug which once contained my delicious hot chocolate inside over to the sink. As the royal blue mug joined a plate with guacamole still on it and an empty pot of what used to be filled with my dad's award-winning Elk Stew.

"Are you okay Skarlet? Ever since mom di-"

"I just want more Grace. I know it's more out there than just Elk Stew Contests and figure skating on frozen ponds." she interrupts.

Skarlet pulls a stool to the kitchen counter with a spoon in her hand. While I walk to the large snowy white freezer I ask “Where is all of this coming from? You are usually the cheerful one. Always eagerly forcing me to join you on the icy pond out back. What has changed Skarlet?” as I pulled the tub of Moose Tracks out the freezer.

Skarlet with her head down, slowly looks up at me and says “Remember the stories mom used to tell us, about how big the world is and never to get comfortable in one place? I always dreamed of getting out of here. I just wanted to make the best of it while I could.” reaching for the ice cream she continued “then when mom died, I realized another day is not guaranteed. And I don’t want to spend the rest of my life shivering in this Winter hell hole.”

“Skarlet, we are only 12,” I responded while stuffing my mouth with a large spoonful of ice cream.

“Grace, age doesn’t matter when it comes to death. 5 weeks before mom’s death Gina died from pneumonia and 1 year before that Edward drowned in the same pond we skate on, and they were 6 and 13 years old. And mom was only 33 when she passed.” Skarlet stated before digging her spoon back into fudgy goodness.

I paused for a second. Mainly from the brain freeze but Skarlet was right. Even though we are still children we have been living a rinse and repeat lifestyle. Until today I was okay with the life we were living. It has been a year since mom died and since then it’s been the same thing every day.

“You want to know why I love skating on the frozen pond in the back?” Skarlet asks.

I nodded

“Because when I am on the ice, I imagine I am someplace else. Someplace where it is always sunny. Someplace where the sky cries warm tears instead of frozen icicles. Someplace where the trees are just as happy as I am. That is why I skate.” Skarlet answers.

I then turn my head and stare out the window above the sink and I imagine that Skarlet is out there on our frozen pond twirling in the air so gracefully and landing softly, each time her skates leave the ice. It makes sense now, why she is so good. She takes herself away from all the surrounding snow that makes her feel claustrophobic and she flies, she flies far, far away from here. Landing somewhere on a sandy beach where it is plenty of open space to breathe and be free.

I smile and turn away from the window, just as I look back at my sister, I am caught in her gaze. Her eyes filled with such calming light.

While caught in her gaze I begin to think to myself “wow, this is what it’s like to see through Skarlet’s eyes.” I then released a tiny chuckle while digging my spoon back into the gooey fudge ice cream.

As Skarlet lets out a gentle giggle; I now see that she shares the same calming nature of our mother. With my mouth full I asked, “What is the first place you want to travel to?”

Skarlet gradually raises a soft grin on her face, bringing a mellow light to her eyes.

Short Story
1

About the Creator

Tyrel Curtis

I take her hand, hold it close

she cries, I overdose

pondering why, her puddle of tears

gets me high.

~My native tongue is POETRY

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.