Fiction logo

Through His Eyes - CH. 3

Iɴ ᴀ ᴡᴏʀʟᴅ ғᴜʟʟ ᴏғ ʟᴏɴᴇʟɪɴᴇꜱꜱ ᴀɴᴅ ᴅᴇꜱᴘᴀɪʀ ʟɪᴠᴇꜱ Sᴀᴠᴀɴɴᴀʜ Hamilton. A ʏᴏᴜɴɢ ɢɪʀʟ ᴡʜᴏꜱᴇ ᴏɴʟʏ ᴇᴠᴇʀ ᴋɴᴏᴡɴ ᴋᴇᴇᴘɪɴɢ ᴛᴏ ʜᴇʀꜱᴇʟғ; ɴᴏ ғʀɪᴇɴᴅꜱ, ɴᴏ ғᴀᴍɪʟʏ, ɴᴏ ʜᴏʙʙɪᴇꜱ. Tʜɪꜱ ᴀʟʟ ᴄʜᴀɴɢᴇꜱ ᴡʜᴇɴ ꜱʜᴇ ᴍᴇᴇᴛꜱ ʜɪᴍ, ᴀ ʀᴀʀᴇ ᴇɴᴄᴏᴜɴᴛᴇʀ ᴛʜᴀᴛ ᴍᴀᴋᴇꜱ ʜᴇʀ ᴅɪꜱᴄᴏᴠᴇʀ ᴛʜᴀᴛ ʙᴇᴀᴜᴛʏ ʟɪᴇꜱ ɪɴ ᴛʜᴇ ᴇʏᴇꜱ ᴏғ ᴛʜᴇ ʙᴇʜᴏʟᴅᴇʀ... ᴛʀᴜᴇ ʙᴇᴀᴜᴛʏ ᴇxɪꜱᴛꜱ ɪɴ ᴛʜᴇ ʜᴀᴘᴘɪɴᴇꜱꜱ ᴏғ ᴛʜᴏꜱᴇ ᴀʀᴏᴜɴᴅ ʏᴏᴜ. Nᴏᴛ ᴊᴜꜱᴛ ᴛʜᴇ ᴏᴜᴛꜱɪᴅᴇ ᴡᴏʀʟᴅ. Sʜᴇ ꜱᴛʀᴜɢɢʟᴇꜱ ᴛᴏ ʙᴇᴄᴏᴍᴇ ᴍᴏʀᴇ ꜱᴏᴄɪᴀʟ ᴀɴᴅ ᴏᴘᴇɴ ᴜᴘ ᴛᴏ ᴏᴛʜᴇʀꜱ ɪɴ ᴏʀᴅᴇʀ ᴛᴏ ʙᴇᴄᴏᴍᴇ ᴛʜᴇ ʜᴇʀ ꜱʜᴇ'ꜱ ᴀʟᴡᴀʏꜱ ᴡᴀɴᴛᴇᴅ ᴛᴏ ʙᴇ. Sʜᴇ ᴇɴᴄᴏᴜɴᴛᴇʀꜱ ᴄʜᴀʟʟᴇɴɢᴇꜱ ᴛʜᴀᴛ ᴛʜʀᴇᴀᴛᴇɴ ᴛʜᴀᴛ ғᴜᴛᴜʀᴇ ᴀꜱ ꜱʜᴇ ғɪɢᴜʀᴇꜱ ᴏᴜᴛ ᴡʜᴏ ꜱʜᴇ ʀᴇᴀʟʟʏ ɪꜱ ᴀꜱ ᴡᴇʟʟ ᴀꜱ ᴛʜᴏꜱᴇ ᴀʀᴏᴜɴᴅ ʜᴇʀ. Tʜᴇ ϙᴜᴇꜱᴛɪᴏɴ ɪꜱ, ᴄᴀɴ ꜱʜᴇ ᴏᴠᴇʀᴄᴏᴍᴇ ᴛʜᴇᴍ ᴀʟʟ ᴀɴᴅ ᴄᴏᴍᴇ ᴏᴜᴛ ᴏɴ ᴛᴏᴘ ᴏʀ ᴡɪʟʟ ꜱʜᴇ ꜱɪɴᴋ ʟɪᴋᴇ ᴀʟʟ ᴏғ ʜᴇʀ ᴘʀᴇᴄɪᴏᴜꜱ ʜᴏᴘᴇꜱ ᴀɴᴅ ᴅʀᴇᴀᴍꜱ?

By Alicia LedellPublished 3 years ago 6 min read

Chapter Three:

A Whole New World

"This food is DELICIOUS!" I exclaimed as I took my first bite of my meal and completely swooned. I was so used to eating nothing but microwavable foods, and snacks that I forgot what an authentic home cooked meal tasted like and Mason’s food was beyond that.

"I have never eaten anything this delicious before!" I exclaimed in pure joy as the food stimulated my taste buds and took them to a whole new worldddd.

I looked over still living off the high of its flavor.

"It's just grilled fish, mashed potatoes, gravy, and green beans." He stated plainly.

I looked over at Mason with a glare. "I understand you're trying to be modest but some of us don't get to eat grilled fish every day." How dare he try to take me off of my amazing feel good and taste good food high?

He didn't say a word after that and I was too busy stuffing my face to care. Meanwhile, Maddie was sitting across the table staring at me. Just a tiny person with big eyes staring at me the whole time.

It was going to be a long night. I thought to myself.

After dinner, Mason showed me to the guest room and within minutes of laying in the warm comfy bed I was out like a light.

*The Next Morning*

"Wake up! Wake up! Wake up!" A soft voice called out to me in a loud tone.

My eyes were closed, and my body relaxed. I was on a boat and was slowly being rocked back and forth by the gentle waves. The sun was shining brightly, so bright that I had to shield my eyes with my arm.

"Wake up!"

I jumped up bumping my head into something really hard. "Ouch!"

"Ow!" Whined a soft voice.

My eyes snapped open to unveil that I didn't bump my head into something, but someone. It was Maddie, Mason's kid sister.

"I am so sorry Maddie!" I exclaimed feeling apologetic and sore.

She kept rubbing her forehead in order to soothe the pain. "I come in here because my stupid brother tells me to wake you up and this is what I get?!" She screamed out in anger. Wow, so much anger in such a tiny body.

My guess is that she had a knot on her forehead from the head on collision that just occurred. I bit my bottom lip as the guilt started to set in.

The deadly glare that she gave me before getting up to look in a mirror that hung on the guest room wall was nothing short of threatening.

"Oh no! There's a huge knot and today is picture day for my school ID! What am I going to do now?" She cried out.

Oh crap! Today's picture day at her school? She'll probably never forgive me. With a knot that size smack in the middle of her forehead, that would be one picture she would never live down.

That's when I got a bright idea.

I jumped up and out of the bed so fast that Maddie might think I'm a lunatic. I located my book bag which was up against the wall of the guest room and rummaged through it until I found my black hat that had a Flying Nimbus on it.

Since Maddie's hair wasn't up in the usual pigtails, but down instead the hat was a perfect cover up.

I grabbed a brush that was lying on the dresser and rushed over to Maddie. I gently, but quickly turned her towards me and brushed down her hair then placed the hat on her head snugly.

"Ow! What are you doing?" She whined in irritation.

"Look." I told her while turning her towards the mirror ignoring her protest.

She looked into the mirror and her eyes grew wide, but then she began to look skeptical. "I don't know..."

I looked at her through the mirror while hugging her shoulders with a confident smile. "Trust me."

At that same moment the door opened as Mason stepped halfway in. "It's time for break-" His eyes landed on Maddie and I.

He seemed confused and shocked, but only for a moment. His face reverted to its normal cold state with quickness. "Breakfast is almost ready, get dressed." He left right after closing the door behind him.

I looked back into the mirror to see a pink and flushed Maddie. I giggled in my head at the thought of Maddie being embarrassed by her brother. How cute!

"What kind of guy doesn't knock before coming in a lady's room?" She announced.

"Oh I totally agree." I told her.

"Oh right, I forgot to tell you. Your clothes are over there on the dresser." Maddie pointed behind us towards a tall brown dresser.

I walked over to grab them and noticed there was also a brand new toothbrush sitting on the dresser.

I thanked Maddie and she ended up leaving giving me privacy to get dressed in the guest room's bathroom. Then we all ate the delicious breakfast that Mason prepared which was pancakes, bacon, and what Mason claims was freshly picked strawberries with orange juice. Where he "freshly picked" them from? I have no clue, ask him. After that we walked Maddie to the bus stop waited for her to board the bus then started our walk to school.

"Is this your normal routine?" I questioned once we were alone.

He only nodded. I returned the nod before deciding to ask another question. "Where are your parents?"

The harshness on his face made me instantly regret asking that question.

"We don't have any." He stated in a tone that let me know he didn't want me asking any further questions about it, so I dropped it.

I could see and feel the stares from everybody once we set foot on school grounds. What is wrong with everybody? Don't they remember Ms. Grey is forcing me to show Mason around? I mean yeah, some coincidences happened that forced us into walking to school together, but that doesn't mean anything... right?

I looked up at the blue sky that appeared endless with those white puffs of clouds. It's amazing how the sky can go from dark and murky to vibrant and bright.

I honestly thought Mason and I would naturally go our own ways once we got into the halls, but we stuck together. Wow. This feels weird. Why does this feel so weird?

It doesn't mean anything. It doesn't mean you're like friends or anything. I mean as of yesterday you've shown him everything. Which means you'll just sit next to each other in class and that'll be that.

Maybe he wants to be friends now? He did invite me to stay over and cooked for me, but that was only because of the circumstances, right? What about the embrace that we had? Just thinking about that made my face heat up.

I don't think I got the chance to make a good enough impression on him for him to want to become my friend. The whole time I was a complete nervous wreck. However, I liked being around him.

Oh wait! There is something that I didn't get to show him. The town! I didn't get to show him around town. I could use that as an excuse to hang out with him then I'll make the best most memorable impression on him then he will absolutely want to be my friend.

I could feel myself getting excited just at the thought. "Today is going to be awesome!" I slipped up and yelled aloud as we were walking through the halls on our way to class.

Mason turned and looked at me with amusement and an eyebrow raised. "Oh yeah. How so?"

I took a deep breath. Well it was now or never. I thought to myself.

"Do you want to go out with me?" I asked in a sort of loud tone. As soon as I said it. I regretted it.

Instantly.

He stopped and so did almost everyone else who happened to be in the hallway.

"No, I didn't mea-"

"Oh my God? Did that girl just confess her love for the transfer student?"

Well, at least I know now that some people did in fact know my name. That girl…

Things were beginning to escalate quickly. How am I going to smooth this over?

Series

About the Creator

Alicia Ledell

♡ʙᴇ ʏᴏᴜʀ ᴏᴡɴ ᴋɪɴᴅ ᴏғ ʙᴇᴀᴜᴛɪғᴜʟ!♡

ᴄᴏᴍᴇ ʟɪᴠᴇ ɪɴ ᴍʏ ᴡᴏʀʟᴅ...

ʜɪ ᴇᴠᴇʀʏᴏɴᴇ! мy naмe ιѕ alιcιa ledell.

ɪ ᴀᴍ ᴀ ʏᴏᴜɴɢ ᴡᴏᴍᴀɴ ᴡʜᴏ ᴇɴᴊᴏʏs ᴛʜᴇ ᴇxᴄɪᴛᴇᴍᴇɴᴛ ᴀɴᴅ ᴄʀᴇᴀᴛɪᴠɪᴛʏ ᴏғ ᴡʀɪᴛɪɴɢ.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Alicia LedellWritten by Alicia Ledell

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.