Fiction logo

Three visits to the cottage

How did Liubei invite Zhu Geliang to work together?

By David cenPublished about a year ago 4 min read
1
Liubei three brothers visited Zhu Geliang three time to invite him.

The story of "San Gu Mao Lu" or "Three Visits to the Cottage" is a famous tale from Chinese history that tells the story of how Liu Bei, a nobleman and leader during the Three Kingdoms period, came to meet his most trusted advisors, Zhuge Liang. Here is a retelling of the story, complete with dialogue:

Once upon a time, during the Three Kingdoms period in China, there lived a nobleman named Liu Bei. He was the leader of a faction that opposed the ruling dynasty of the time, and he was known for his kindness, wisdom, and leadership.

One day, Liu Bei heard about a man named Zhuge Liang who was said to be one of the smartest and most talented advisors in the land. He decided to seek out Zhuge Liang and recruit him to his cause.

He set out on a journey to find Zhuge Liang, but he had no idea where to look. After many days of traveling, he came across a small cottage in the middle of a dense forest. He knocked on the door, and a man answered.

"Excuse me, sir," Liu Bei said. "I am looking for a man named Zhuge Liang. Do you know where I might find him?"

The man looked at Liu Bei with a wry smile. "I am Zhuge Liang," he said. "And you must be Liu Bei."

Liu Bei was taken aback. He had expected Zhuge Liang to be a great and powerful man, not a humble hermit living in a small cottage.

"Please come inside, my lord," Zhuge Liang said. "Let us talk."

They sat down together, and Zhuge Liang asked Liu Bei about his goals and aspirations. Liu Bei told him about his desire to restore the Han dynasty and bring peace to the land.

"I see," Zhuge Liang said thoughtfully. "And how do you plan to achieve this?"

Liu Bei hesitated. He had many ideas and strategies, but he was not sure which ones were the best.

"That is why I have come to seek your counsel," he said. "I have heard that you are the wisest and most talented advisor in the land, and I would be honored if you would join my cause."

Zhuge Liang looked at him with a serious expression. "My lord," he said. "I am a hermit who lives in a small cottage in the woods. I have no interest in politics or power. And besides, I have already served two other lords before you, and they both failed to listen to my advice. Why should I serve you?"

Liu Bei was taken aback. He had not expected Zhuge Liang to be so difficult to persuade.

"My lord," he said. "I understand your skepticism. But I assure you, I am different from those other lords. I am humble, I am kind, and I am willing to listen to your advice. Please, give me a chance to prove myself."

Zhuge Liang looked at Liu Bei for a long time, studying him carefully. Finally, he nodded.

"Very well," he said. "I will give you three tests to prove your sincerity and wisdom. If you pass these tests, I will serve you."

Liu Bei was overjoyed. He knew that this was his chance to win over Zhuge Liang and gain his invaluable counsel.

And so, Zhuge Liang gave Liu Bei three tests. The first test was to recite a poem about a peach blossom, the second test was to shoot an arrow through a series of targets while riding a horse, and the third test was to play a game of wei qi against Zhuge Liang.

Liu Bei passed all three tests with flying colors, impressing Zhuge Liang with his intelligence, skill, and humility.

"Very well, my lord," Zhuge Liang said. "I will serve you. But remember, I am not your servant, I am your advisor. I will tell you what you need to hear, not what you want to hear. Do you understand?"

Liu Bei nodded, feeling grateful and humbled by Zhuge Liang's words.

And so, the two of them set out together to fight for their cause. Zhuge Liang became Liu Bei's most trusted advisor, helping him to win battles, make alliances, and govern wisely.

The story of "San Gu Mao Lu" has become a symbol of the power of wisdom, humility, and perseverance in the face of adversity, and it continues to inspire people in China and beyond to this day.

Young AdultMysteryClassical
1

About the Creator

David cen

Share Chinese Sory,which you never heard before.China has 5000 years history and it is A kingdom of artifacts.Such as Chinese Kongfu,Qigong etc.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • David cen (Author)about a year ago

    nice works

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.