Fiction logo

This Bench

J.B. Rage

By J.B. RagePublished 3 years ago 2 min read
Like

I sit in this spot. You know the one I sit in every day. As I sit there looking around it's not the duck pond I am looking for because I am waiting. The families sitting nearby picnicking are not the reason I am here either, my reasons for being here are for a whole other reason altogether. I am waiting. Waiting here on this bench.

I don’t have much longer to wait because every day between 4:50 and 5:00 he will walk by on his way home from his job of which I will learn on the day I truly learn to speak to this magnificent Adonis of a man. Whose face and body could have been carved by the gods.

“Why haven't I said anything? How long have I been waiting?” well that’s a story of its own.

It all began back in November I came strolling through this very park I stopped at this bench in this very spot for a breath of fresh air. It was a Tuesday afternoon a cool crisp day. The sun was glimmering through yellow and red leaves and they danced along with the wind. And as I sat there on this very bench on that day he walked by and as this amazing man walked by, he stumbled and he ended landing right on my foot, smashing my toes. I screamed in pain and as he turned to apologize my eyes met his gorgeous ocean blue eyes. And I've been here every day since.

But back to my point. I'm here every day and on most days I say hello and every day he walks on by as if I was not even there.

“then why do you still sit here and wait for him every day?”

Well, my friend, I was raised to fight for what I believe in. I was also taught to never give up. So, I'm here on this bench every day because one day that man is going to notice me. Some day he will notice me. On that day that this man can’t help but see I will be here.

So, I sit here every day knowing that man is meant for me and that’s not something I will ever give up on. Either way, I see it, be on this bench forever. Because I will either we will grow old sitting on this bench watching the duck pond and the families picnicking or I will die alone on this bench watching my perfect match walk by every day without a clue that happiness has been sitting here on this bench. The bench that gets overlooked each day you're clueless to all that I have to give you

Then one day I get a novel thought when I asked myself what would happen if I took up and decided I wasn’t sitting on the bench anymore. On that day even filled with doubt I did I took a step moved from the bench. And as I stood up the man was walking by. Unknown to me that was the day I became visible but only because as I took that first step the man walked right into me and dropped a stack of papers all over the ground as he tumbled to the ground. On that day I learned the biggest lesson and that was to go against the Grain challenge everything you know or stay stuck in the same place never moving growing for to seek new knowledge is to make the spectacular come true.

Love
Like

About the Creator

J.B. Rage

the elusive wordsmith, dances on the edge of reality& imagination. Born in shadowed alleys of forgotten libraries, His ink-stained fingers weave tales that defy gravity& logic. His typewriter hums secrets, As his quill whispers to the moon.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.