Fiction logo

Things Lost By The Wayside

Subhuman Overboard

By P. B. FriedmanPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
1
Things Lost By The Wayside
Photo by Houcine Ncib on Unsplash

Either I do not pay a great deal of attention the Catholic YouTube/radio's EWTN Network or this outlet is somewhat lacking minority representation. This does not make it/them worse or very different from radio's Black Information Network; I find them to both be almost of equal value, obviously in separate and differing ways.

Both BIM and EWTN employ seemingly somewhat overeducated people of both genders. This reminds me almost of Mormonism, somehow, another segregated discriminatory enterprise that has many redeeming characteristics none of which come immediately to mind. It's all good, they say.

A nice fact is that Mississippi Catholicism does not seem to be a proselytizing enterprise. No one has ever legitimately or otherwise invited me to Mass ( Praise/thank God ) ; amen to this being as how I would be bored into some type of stupor. This is my best guess ( I attended Chapel for a week at a Catholic Psych ward ) with the love of my life.

Johnette Williams' Women Of Grace is worth a listen. The same can be said for her EWTN colleagues Debbie and Jerry among so many others ( mysteriously and somewhat mystifyingly ) . I know of no one locally who feels this way, though.

The truth is I have been something of an isolated news geek/junkie for perhaps four fifths of my life; the times ain't exactly changing either as best as I can tell. For some odd reason I vaguely give a hoot about, things like Van Life and the blamelessness of 'sixer's coach Glenn Rivers. Regarding the former I do recall what traveling in vans can mean, having done so for weeks at a time in my teens. While it was mundane, I recall regularity being an issue for the first day or three. Bickering and petty differences ensued along the way; I can almost relate to the freaky disappearance of somebody pursuing this lifestyle. Almost counts in horse shoes/hand grenades.

I find Fox Radio's Jesse Kelly to at times be radically different/politically asinine enough to be of value. Kelly claimed to be dead set against guys who obsess over going gray and bald and I can dig it to an extent being as how I suffer from fifty percent of this tragic equation, roughly. " If I had his money I'd do things my ( his? ) way " , though.

I did not plan on pursuing this site for awhile, for a number of reasons. Even someone with no pressure to produce self imposes stresses upon their self. As we said while playing Croquette, here am I, send me ( an obvious paraphrase ) .

Inexplicably this site credited me with seven bucks, perhaps entirely incorrectly without which I would not be bothering to type this morning. My last magic act piece ( no one reads it, nope ya' don't ) was about my new found independent wealth, as I recall. Contracts always have tiny print and I am under contract to continue here unless I finagle my way out of this annoying obligation. Someone of my stature should have no problem doing so, yet life is continually trying even my legendary patience.

Incredibly I this site registers that I have a subscriber. Also I am no longer registering here as Challenge Contest ( read: readership ) eligible.

J.R. ( from the self titled CBS Sports Radio J.R. Sport Brief Show ) and I are not comparable, one to the other. Yet, Mr. J.R. is a rarity of sorts, a broadcaster who probably does not need broadcasting as he made good elsewhere. This makes me personally see his show in a whole different light and from an entirely different perspective.

The above trivia brings to mind John ( J.T. The Brick ) Turner. Turner made good as a stock broker before pursuing a career as a sort of avocational sportscaster. Versatility of this nature is to be admired and respected always. This means the person is not a one trick pony.

Satire
1

About the Creator

P. B. Friedman

Touch magazine profile. My name is Paul Friedman and I write off. The wall poems, which people don't like and good ones that they do. I'm a sports freak.

The last sentence no longer holds true. My interests are dominated by feminism.

.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.