Fiction logo

THEY WOULDN'T LEAVE HER ALONE

..they came out of the wood work ..

By Margaret BrennanPublished 12 days ago 5 min read
5

…THEY WOULDN’T LEAVE HER ALONE …

They came out of the woodwork

??? ??? ???

The phone calls started coming. She was completely overwhelmed with them. She felt she had no choice but to change her number. Twice!

Not long after she thought the issue was resolved, the letters started. Not one or two a week, but at least twenty per day!

Who are these people? she thought miserably. Where did they all come from? How did they find me?

Shelly sat at her desk, her phone book open, and began to peruse every page, checking those names with those who sent her letters. She had no recollection of any of them. She even checked her old Christmas card list. Nope! None there, either.

Some started as, “Dear Aunt Shelly, I’m SO glad I found you, after all this time!”

While others began, “Dear Shelly, you may not remember me, but we met at my Aunt Bev’s funeral.”

Aunt Bev? Who the heck was Aunt Bev? She thought she might have heard of a “Bev,” or maybe a “Beverly” before, but wasn’t sure. She set that letter aside for the time being. She’d think about that later – much later.

The letters went on and on. The amount of them being delivered had gotten so out of control, she decided to open a mailbox at her local post office stating that she’d be out of town until further notice. She no longer wanted any mail going to her home. While she pondered the idea of moving, she really liked her home and the neighborhood. She had a number of friends who became more like family and knew if she relocated, she’d miss them terribly.

“Shelly,” Diane said, “I have an idea. You may not agree with me, but I’m sticking my two-cents in.”

Shelly placed her coffee mug on the table and replied, “Oh, let’s hear it. At this point, I’m game to listen to any and all suggestions.”

Her eyes gleamed at the possibility of Diane’s idea, then stood, walked out the front door and looked around.

Once back at her table, she announced, “Diane, that actually is a great idea! Since I already have a post office box, there is absolutely no reason to advertise my new address. What are you doing tomorrow?”

The following day, Shelly and Diane set out to the realtor’s office and inquired about the vacant lot across the street and two doors down. The price was perfect, and Shelly put down a deposit with the stipulation that the sale be made quickly and quietly.

Within three days, she transferred the necessary funds to the seller’s agent and immediately received the receipt in an email. Her next plan was to visit some local model homes and decide which one she wanted, then arrange the construction with the builder.

It didn’t take long for her to pick out the home she wanted.

“It’s a cash deal,” she told the contractor. “How fast can you have this turn-key ready?”

He admitted that since the timing was off-season, he’d probably be able to speed up the construction and hand her the key within four months! That was providing she didn’t mind paying a bit extra for any and all the overtime his crew might need to complete the job. Her response was quick, “Let’s see how fast and how good you can get this done. I’m not going to pay for a shoddy job, either. But time is of the essence.” They came to an agreement, shook hands, and they signed the contract.

He'd given her a list of sub-contractors who would supply the windows, doors, flooring, paint color, landscaping, the complete interior (which included all plumbing supplies), and appliances. For the next two days, Shelly and Diane were busy planning the new house.

“Diane, I can’t call it a home because I’m not moving there permanently. This is just until the storm passes. Then, rather than sell it, I’ll more than likely, rent it.”

“I understand. Your home is your home, but this will help and, in the meantime, while you’re waiting for the new house to be built, you’re going to move in with me.”

She hated to put her best friend to a huge inconvenience, but Diane was right. The last thing she needed was a throng of strangers pounding at her front door. In all probability, more than likely, they would, but she didn’t have to be home to hear the door rattle.

With everything set for the construction to begin, over breakfast the next morning, Shelly said, “Di, I have an idea. How about if you, Sharon, Jen, and I go on a seven-day cruise? We can go out tonight and decide on where to go. What do you think? Oh, and before you answer: MY TREAT!!”

Diane laughed and nodded her head while she swallowed her mouthful of coffee. Shelly picked up her phone and began selecting each name from her contact list.

One week later, the four friends set sail for Mexico.

As they sat in the ship’s lounge enjoying Margaritas, Jen asked, “So, Shel, have you made your “people” list yet?”

“Sure did. I know you’ll laugh at this, but I actually created a spreadsheet with names and agencies.”

She was right. Jen laughed but then, so did Diane and Sharon.

Sharon’s curiosity peaked and caused her to ask, “Shelly, do you have any idea where all these people came from and how they found out? But most of all, how they found you?”

Shelly shook her head. “Not a clue. I tried so hard to stay off the radar, but I guess if people are determined to find you, they’ll find a way.”

It was Diane who finally whispered the unthinkable question. “I really need to know, Shelly. Are you still glad you won the lottery?”

Humor
5

About the Creator

Margaret Brennan

I am a 76 year old grandmother who loves to write, fish, and grab my camera to capture the beautiful scenery I see around me.

My husband and I found our paradise in Punta Gorda Florida where the weather always keeps us guessing.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (3)

Sign in to comment
  • Andrea Corwin 12 days ago

    oh you got me for sure!! what a twist - great job!! 🤣🤣🤣 and uh, everyone wishes, right?

  • Darkos12 days ago

    Really Enjoyed reading :) !!! Love Your writing! so real and alive!

  • Babs Iverson12 days ago

    Entertaining and love the twist at the end!!!❤️❤️💕

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.