Fiction logo

There’s a Lion in My Barn

…that’s what I tell the bullies.

By Hanna TaylorPublished 3 years ago Updated 3 years ago 3 min read
4
There’s a Lion in My Barn
Photo by Noah Silliman on Unsplash

There’s a lion in my barn, that’s what I tell the bullies.

They tease me for my muddy shoes, and for the freckles on my nose. They tease me for my chubby cheeks, and for all of my old clothes.

They tease me for all kinds of things, like because my name is Lilly. They say I don’t look like a flower, and that my name is plain old silly.

I walk to elementary school, while my parents tend our farm. They say that bullies are all talk, and won’t cause me no harm.

My parents spend a lot of time, fixing our old barn. They always used it for storing things, ‘til Sunny came along.

I know they must be busy, but I wish they’d walk me to school. Walking alone means bullies follow me, and treat me like a fool.

So I tell those bullies there’s a lion, living in the barn. But it’s really just my big dog Sunny, isn’t my fib oh so funny?

I’m not sure if they believe me, but if they saw him once they would. He’s big as a pony and fury as a Newfie, and could scare them off for good.

His fur, it blazes orange. It’s like a bon fire at night. In the wind it dances, oh, how he’d fill those bullies with fright!

He sleeps alone each evening, in the barn without a nightlight. But I sneak out often to check on him, and make sure he’s alright.

He’s big and strong and happy, but he‘d be happier with me. I can’t convince my mom and dad, that in my bed is where he should be!

They say that he’s too furry, and messy as a mud puddle. I tell them puddles are fun too, and that Sunny wants to cuddle.

Alas they never listen, so in the barn he always stays. With creaky walls and empty stalls, and mice napping in the hay.

The paint, it’s all chipped off. It’s rafters are filled with bats. The door is old and rusty, and it lets in feral cats.

But Sunny never seems to mind, even though I do. He sits at the opening of the door, waiting for me after school.

Our old barn, you can see it, even from the road. He watches me while I walk home, my routine he surely knows.

I’ve always wondered if he hears, those bullies yell each day. And if, as a dog, he understands, all the words they say.

One day the bullies were extra mean, they chased me down my road. They tripped me and threw rocks at me, I wasn’t sure I’d make it home.

I didn’t know just what to do, they really made a clatter. But as I looked up toward the barn, I saw Sunny thinking what’s the matter?

Before I knew it, guess what Sunny did?He ran to out there to me! He was nothing like they’d ever seen, “Oh my gosh, it’s a lion!” They all screamed.

The bullies, they ran off so quick, fearing they’d be eaten. And in they’re minds I’m sure they knew, that they’d all just been beaten.

My mom and dad, they heard him roar, and they ran outside to see. My hero, my dog, my very best friend, scare those bullies off and rescue me.

Mom and dad, they were surprised, that Sunny did such a good deed. They hugged him and loved him and told him that, an old barn was no place for him to be.

So now when I lay my head to sleep, I pet his long fiery fur. I laugh about how he sleeps with me, and how he created such a stir.

Ever since the day big Sunny saved me, the bullies they’re no bother.

They’re quiet as a mouse, and the very best part? Now I can tell them there’s a lion

in

my

house.

Adventure
4

About the Creator

Hanna Taylor

Live and be weird.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.