Fiction logo

The Witch's Castle

by: Craiyelle Divine

By Craiyelle DivinePublished 3 years ago 6 min read
Like
The Witch's Castle
Photo by Alex Mihai C on Unsplash

I recently learned that if you wish to have something done, you have to do it yourself.

Elizabeth Lockheart is my name. I live in the magical kingdom of Winsbore, ruled by King Fredrick, and Queen Sebrina. Now there’s a funny story about the queen, however. Queen Sabrina was the master of all things magic. No one dared to piss off the witch, for if we did we would soon be turned into toads. Or worse.

Regardless of that, the King was a saint. He made sure that us villagers we regularly fed, bathed, and well-off. Winsbore was known for our gold. Restaurants, factories, and bakeries flooded the village. Thanks to King Fredrick, even small businesses were able to afford minimum wage to the employees.

When I turned twenty-one, I made the biggest decision of my life. My old apartment was crappy. The walls were permanently stained due to the owners before me, different varieties of insects flooded every cabinet, and when I first moved in I started to become very ill. Turns out, there was radioactive waste from wartime in my apartment. So one day I left, with nothing but the clothes on my back.

It was terrible. The world looked so grey, once I was homeless. Looking around, some people had permanent frowns on their faces, and the people that weren’t homeless looked so colorful, and happy. Apparently, those who were on the downside of life really didn’t care about showing it. I suppose that doesn't matter though, I soon realized that us poor people were barely noticed. No well-off person even gave us a second glance. Unless however, it was to give money. But that was out of pity. I knew that most places that offered work, probably wouldn’t want a hobo working for them, so I went to the only place I knew would welcome peasants with open arms: The Royal Palace.

Needless to say, I’ve never felt more broke in my life. I stepped on their marble floor with caution. Every wall was about a mile high, shiny chandeliers dangled in every room. “Wow…” I said. My oo’s and ah’s echoed throughout the castle, as I stared in amazement at the spiral staircase. Each step had its own red velvet coat, and to say the least, there wasn’t a single spec of dirt to be found. This castle was flawless, a perfect home for royalty. I was having way too much fun looking around. Simply looking at all of the useless things I wish I had, was enough to make me smile. Who would have guessed that soon enough, all of it would be mine?

“Hey, who let you in here?” something soft yanked at my wrist. I was greeted with the stunning sight of the witch. “Queen Sabrina..” I gasped in awe. The rumors were true, this woman was a sight for sore eyes. Gorgeous green eyes stared back at me, I could tell she wasn't having it. Even so, I felt myself falling victim to her gaze. Because she was so beautiful, I didn’t want to take my eyes off of her. She had stringy black hair that went down to her waist. As if someone had died, the queen was wearing a slimming black ball gown that trailed about three feet behind her.

“Is there a reason that you are here? Did someone send you?” she asked. Her voice was mature and kind. When those words left her lips, I felt all of my problems fading away. Then reality hit when she let go of my wrist.

“Hello, I am talking to you.” She was stern this time. I almost forgot she was the witch. It was best not to get on her bad side, she never hesitates to use her magic.

“I-I am from the village. I came here looking for work. You see, I am very poor and-”

“You’re hired. I did not need to hear your life story. You will sleep here, there is a room on the fifth floor. I’m sure the maids will show you.” she interrupted.

Before I had a chance to say anything, she was walking away. I was left there looking like an idiot, in a multi-billion dollar palace. Soon enough, I made my way up the spiral staircase to the fifth floor. My uniform was already laid out for me on my King-sized bed. Below the blankets were sheets of silk. It was then that I truly knew I was blessed. My duty was to mop all eighteen bathrooms by seven a.m, dust the corridors by nine, and serve every meal to the King.

The first three months were hell, my uniform consisted of me doing all of the work in high heels. By nightfall, I was staining the floor with the blood of my aching feet. It was all worth it though, I was getting paid to live there. I even managed to make a few friends along the way, and of course a few enemies.

“Oh dear, look who it is,” said Alexandra. Somehow I managed to make friends with a sixty-year-old woman. Alexandra has slim brown eyes and white hair. She was also chubby and round with a bad knee. But regardless of her old appearance, Alexandra had a young spirit.

“Who are we talking about?” asked Paisley. Paisley is what some people call, a “dumb blonde”. Only a couple of months older than me, Paisley had curly blonde hair, and hazel eyes. “Angus, Paisley. Look,” Alexandra pointed to a tall skinny man down the hall. Angus Butler, the butler. He was responsible for giving the King his medication for his terminal illness.

“There’s something off about that man, I just can’t put my finger on it-”

“Hush, Alexandra!” interrupted Paisley. “He can’t be that bad, he is just giving King Fredrick his pills.”

“Oh, but she’s right. Paisley since the King started taking medication from Angus, he’s only gotten worse.” I said. “Maybe, he’s trying to kill him”, Paisley mumbled. That had to be the smartest thing she’s said all day, but in the blink of an eye, she was back to her old self.

“Elizabeth, that was actually a good hypothesis. The queen does seem to be very fond of Angus, I wouldn’t be surprised if they were having an affair.” Alexandra whispered, mopping the floor. “Yes. And maybe that is why Fredrick’s getting so ill. They’re killing him, to inherit his fortune.”

Fantasy
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.