Fiction logo

The Willing Wear Black

But are you ready to be willing?...

By Pam ReederPublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 16 min read
7
Photo source: PhotoPea

The roar of the pistol was deafening and the kick knocked it from my hand. The Barn Owl let out a startled screech and flew up with a flurry of feathers. Now here I stood looking at blood leaking out onto the ground. A death I had never intended to cause. But I couldn't submit to him. I had to make him stop. I had to get away. My head swam with the details of the hours leading up to this moment.

~~~~~~

I was assured it would be a usual night at the club for a Friday night. I went only because Sophie had begged me to get out of the house. "Oh, come on Annie. Let's go see if that handsome guy I told you about that was hanging around last Friday comes back. Come, on. It will be fun." Sophie had a way of manipulating me into doing things that I wouldn't do on my own.

"Sophie I don't know. He doesn't sound like my type at all. He sounded creepy actually, all dressed in black, with black eyeshadow..."

"Don't forget he had black lipstick and black fingernails!" she laughed and bumped me.

"Is this a place where they're all like that?" My discomfort level was growing.

"Oh, come on, Annie. Don't be like that. .... No, okay? They're not all like that. But they are all hot, though, I promise. Cross my heart!" Sophie flipped her fingers across her chest.

I was uncomfortable going to clubs. It always made me feel like I was on display at a meat counter. Everyone staring at you, measuring you up and down. Some wanting to actually touch and feel, and leering as if you're part of a menu and they're anxious to see what you might taste like.

"Don't be such a worry wart. None of them can do anything without permission." Sophie giggled.

"THAT doesn't make me feel better. What does that even mean?" The evening was coming to a close for me before it had even started.

"Come on, Annie. Annnnie?" Sophie was persistent. "We're on, yeah?" She cocked her head, "Yeah? Say, yes. Just say it. You're going. We're going. Come on, hurry, let's get ready. We want to get there early." And with that, Sophie made the decision for the both of us.

Pawing through my closet, Sophie inspected outfit after outfit. "Don't you have anything black?"

"Black? Only my short cocktail dress with the feather trim. But why black?" My anxiety was escalating again.

"Oh, that will be perfect!" Sophie plucked the dress from the special wear portion of my closet. "Annie! This is perfect!"

I rolled my eyes. "Why black, Sophie?"

Her eyes sparkled, "It shows you're willing." She giggled as she threw the dress on the bed. "Shoes..... flats for you I think. Yes, this pair will do nicely." Clicking together a pair of glitzy black flats, she placed them next to the dress. "Ok, so this is yours. What else you got? If I can pick from your closet it will save us time going by my place to get me dressed."

"Wait, what do you mean 'it shows you're willing?' For what?" Sophie went back in my closet spelunking about. "Sophie?"

Muffled voice from inside my closet, "Got anything else in black? MMM, oh yes! This! This will work perfectly!" She emerged holding a black shimery, clingy halter top with a matching mini skirt that I had kept hidden in the very back.

"I've never worn that." I snapped. My cheeks flooded crimson with embarrassment. I had bought it to wear for Matt but we broke up before I ever gathered the courage to wear it.

"I see that - tags still on. You don't mind do you?" Sophie bit her lip and cast me a wistful eye, holding the two pieces up in front of her, awaiting my approval that she knew would come.

"It was an impulse buy. I...it's not really me. I would never have been comfortable wearing it. You can have it."

"Really? Yes! Thank you Annie. It's bomb." Sophie started tearing her clothes off eagerly. "Get dressed Annie. We want to get there early."

I stood in front of the mirror looking at myself in my little black cocktail dress. Thankfully, it had a modest hemline and the flats made me feel at ease. Heels would have looked more elegant but I would have been clumsy in them. After a few drinks I could easily envision myself twisting an ankle and falling. Flats were a far better fit for me.

Sophie twisted and turned in front of the mirror. The outfit molded to her curves in ways it never had on me. It looked amazing on her.

"Shoes. I need shoes." Sophie darted back into my closet and came out triumphant, holding a pair of shiny red heels. "Annie, my, my, my. What things you have hidden in your closet. Three inch stiletto heels in red." She wiggled her eyebrows as she pushed her feet into them and then pranced the room. Her long legs, the short skirt, and the three inch heels made a striking image. "Do you still have those red beads? The ones like pearls but in red?"

It was funny how well Sophie knew my belongings. I opened the box I kept my costume jewelry in. After pawing around a minute or two, I plucked out the long string of red beads she requested. With a squeal, she looped them around her neck and then tied them in a knot midway. I handed her red drop earrings to match. Outfit complete, she looked truly stunning.

By comparison, I felt rather plain. But I also wasn't looking to be a focal point of the evening. I was content to play the wallflower to Sophie's spotlight.

"Ready? Let's get going," Sophie was excited.

On sudden impulse, I darted back into my closet, "Just one second. Let me grab my black clutch." I found it on the shelf. My father had given it to me when I moved out on my own several years earlier. It had a secret, built-in holster and held a pistol. In all the times I'd ever carried it, I had never once needed to use it. He said it was one of those things that was better to have it and not need it, than to need it and not have it. I considered putting it back. It would just be something I would have to keep up with all night. And then I remembered how he had made me promise I would always take it with me when I went out to places that I might find myself vulnerable. I was certain tonight was one of those situations my father had in mind when he gave it to me. I stuck it under my arm, straightened my dress and rushed back out of the closet.

"Got it. I'm ready to go."

~~~

The club was eerie and dark. Not many people had arrived yet but those that had looked at the two of us as if wolves assessing sheep. I grabbed Sophie's elbow and whispered in an frantic tone, "Sophie, you never answered my question."

"What question?" she whispered back loud enough that others turned to see what we were going on about.

"You said being in black showed that we're willing. For what, Sophie? Willing for what? I feel like they're all looking at us like we're prey."

"We are," she giggled and then scurried off and hooked onto the arm of her gentleman all dressed in black, with black nails and lipstick.

"Sophie! Wait! Don't leave me." And there I stood, in the middle of the club, my mouth working Sophie's name but no sound coming out. With the blaring music she wouldn't have heard me anyway.

I was so fixated on Sophie disappearing into the thickening crowd, that I didn't see him come up behind me until he whispered in my ear. "Your first time?"

"What? First time..." His nearness unnerved me.

As if sensing my discomfort, he stepped away. "You're wearing black but I haven't seen you here before."

"No, I haven't been here before. I came with my friend, Sophie. She seems to have ditched me." The color rose in my cheeks as I realized I had just made myself vulnerable. He assessed me with piercing eyes. As I stared into them I felt much more at ease.

"You understand what wearing black means?" He cocked his head as if he already knew my answer would be no. Shaking my head negative, he nodded. "I see. Well, let's get you caught up on how things work. Shall we?" He motioned to the dance floor.

"Sure." I knew how awkward I must sound. A touch of panic hit me. Dancing wasn't really my strong suit. As thoughts ran through my head, I realized I had no business being out like this at all. I was totally inept at socializing with people I knew, let alone with strangers. And yet, as he took me by the elbow and led me to the dance floor, I felt slightly more calm and comfortable. His hand was cold and a shiver shot up my spine.

Keeping my arms stiff, so as not to allow his body to touch mine, thoughts were going through my mind in rapid succession. Where was Sophie? Why does wearing black mean we're willing? Willing for what?....

"About that," he began speaking to me. "This is a place where people with special needs and interests come to find people that are willing to fill those special needs and interests. Wearing black indicates you're willing." His smile was dazzling.

With the loud music and thriving crowd, I would have thought he would have to shout and lean in to me to speak, but I heard him quite easily. It was as if he and I were having an intimate conversation in a quiet room.

"What special needs and interests?" I spied Sophie across the room dancing intertwined with her mysterious man in black who was at least ten years her senior.

"She's beautiful." He smiled again.

"Yes. I always feel pale in comparison to her."

"You shouldn't. You are a dazzling beauty in your own right." And there was his smile again. Only I realized his smile had never gone. Not once had his lips actually moved to make words. And yet, I was hearing his words quite clearly.

"How....how are you doing that? You're speaking to me, but your lips aren't moving. And it's clear even though all the noise...." I stopped. I felt flushed all over. Since I hadn't drank anything, I couldn't have been drugged, and yet, my heart was racing and my pulse throbbing.

He stopped dancing and took me by the elbow. "Let's get some fresh air, Annie." I had no desire to resist even though a part of me knew I should.

"Please tell me what this place is about. I'm .... I'm not sure I should be here. "

He smiled again, and pushed open the door and allowed me to step into the night air. "Let's walk and get to know one another."

Like a dog barking far away, the depths of my mind sent the words, "no, no, no." I suppose I should have been panicked by them but they were so faint it was almost like they weren't happening at all. I felt, calm, peaceful, at ease, leaving with a man I had never met to walk in the night air of a place I had never been. I felt compelled to agree with anything he suggested.

As we walked away from the building and onto a wooded path, the gravel and leaves crunched under our feet. I was grateful that I had worn flats. They were the perfect choice for a stroll such as this. As we walked deeper into the woods, he chit chatted with me about my life. They were leading questions as though he already knew things about me. Under normal circumstances, I would have found such things alarming but tonight it seemed perfectly fine. I realized I didn't even know his name.

"It's Alan." His beautiful smile still there.

"Oh, that's a nice name." He didn't offer a last name. I thought to ask and then the idea of it faded away.

"Some details about us aren't important. Tonight, we get to know each other. And we'll get down to why we're both here." Just ahead was a building. Not quite a barn, but definitely not a finished building.

"Why are we here? What is this place?" My voice was faint. I realized I had no energy of my own. I was just being propelled along by Alan.

He opened the door to the shed. It was a large open area with a dirt floor. It was dimly lit with rope lights along the walls. High up on a rafter sat a barn owl with large eyes. It swiveled its head watching us as we entered. In the center of the room was a couch and a coffee table. On the table was an ice bucket with champagne, and two glasses.

"This is more private and quiet, where we can get to know one another." Looking deeply into my eyes, he ran a hand along my cheek, down my neck and across my collar bone. He seemed oddly enthralled. As my pulse beat more fiercely, he hesitated as though feeling the pulse on my neck. I caught a gleam to his smile. It seemed oddly different as though the shape of his mouth had changed. He turned away and guided me into the room.

"Sit, my dear." Without objection I seated myself on the couch turning to face him as he seated himself closely beside me. "Let me get you some champagne."

The bubbles tickled my nose. Despite the fact that I didn't usually drink, I found myself gulping the champagne. I felt warm and flushed and giggly. Alan was making small talk. Or at least, his words were in my head. He kept his eyes locked on mine and smiled the whole time. I'd never found it comfortable to look into another's eyes but Alan had a way of making me feel at ease.

As we sat chatting, he seemed ever closer and closer to me. He leaned in and breathed in my ear. My pulse raced. His grip tightened on my arm and his mouth kissed my neck, nipping me as he went from my ear lobe down my neck. Just as he took a full mouthful of my neck, a commotion occurred outside. He jerked away and made a hissing noise. For a fleeting moment, I thought his teeth looked elongated and his smile was more like a grimace.

"I'll be right back." And swiftly he moved across the building and was out the door before I could set my champagne glass down. It sounded like a heated argument between him and another man. "Occupied. And no, you certainly may not share."

As I listened to the arguing outside, I began to get panicky. It was as if once Alan had left, all the calm was gone. I looked about the shed and wondered how on earth I had ever allowed myself to get maneuvered into such a situation as this. And the angry words from outside the shed were even more disconcerting. "You must share her, Alan. If not for me compelling her friend, she wouldn't even be here."

Alan's voice had a hateful edge to it, "Where is Sophie? If you compelled her, why aren't you with her?"

"I lost her. She went off to the restroom and she got ambushed by Sid and Nick. They took her over. Now I have nothing. I can't go another week, Alan. You have to share."

"I will NOT share, Richard." Alan's voice boomed. I peeked out a window and saw them leaning in head to head and I was certain of it now. Alan's mouth had changed. He had fangs. Horror gripped me as I realized what was playing out. They were vampires. We were prey. Dressing in black meant we were willing to allow them to feed on us. My heart was racing. Now I was grateful that I had brought my clutch. Unzipping the hidden holster compartment, I removed the pistol and held it in my hand. I scurried back to the couch and quickly hid my hand and pistol under my leg. As Alan came zipping back through the door, Richard came bursting in behind him.

Alan whirled with a snarl. Richard tackled him. As if in the middle of a nightmare, I watched as the two of them turned into bats and began racing all through the rafters. They dived at each other fighting. I wondered if they would kill each other. After an extremely savage exchange, one bat suddenly flew up and out a hole high up, startling the barn owl on his perch. The remaining bat came hurdling back towards me. I didn't know if it was Alan or Richard and I wasn't willing to wait and find out. I needed to act now before he could turn back and look into my eyes and compel me again.

Jumping to my feet, I aimed the pistol at the bat and fired. The roar of the pistol was deafening and the kick knocked it from my hand. The Barn Owl let out a startled screech and flew up with a flurry of feathers. Now here I stood looking at blood leaking out onto the ground. A death I had never intended to cause. But I couldn't submit to him. I had to make him stop. I had to get away.

I was breathing heavily as I stared at the still form. Instead of a small black carcass, I was looking into the huge eyes of the barn owl. Poor thing, in the wrong place, at the wrong time. Surely, I had hit the bat. Frantically I looked around on the floor and then up into the rafters. I couldn't see it. And then I felt totally relaxed and calm.

"Annie, the willing wear black. Your black dress means you're willing. Now let's get down to why we're here." And Alan, grabbed me and ravished my neck. It was initially painful, hot and searing and then it was the most wonderful feeling. I didn't want it to stop but abruptly, it did. Alan turned away from me, "That's enough for tonight. I will see you next week. Be sure to come early. And wear black to show that you're willing." And he strode out of the barn leaving me alone. Collecting my things, I took myself home.

~~~

The following Friday night, Sophie and Annie were eagerly getting ready for a night out at the club.

"Hurry Annie, we want to get there early," Sophie urged.

"And we must wear black to show that we're willing," Annie laughed.

Horror
7

About the Creator

Pam Reeder

Stifled wordsmith re-embracing my creativity. I like to write stories that tap into raw human emotions.

Author of "Bristow Spirits on Route 66", magazine articles, four books under a pen name, technical writing, stories for my grandkids.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.