Fiction logo

The White Box

The important package with no sender

By K.J.GeorgePublished about a year ago 7 min read
Like
The White Box
Photo by Kelli McClintock on Unsplash

It’s been 72 hours since the mail drone dropped a package off at my door.

Normally, I would be excited that a package got dropped off at my door. Who doesn’t love waking up to a package at their door? It always feels like Christmas came early. However, this time I got an uneasy feeling. Not necessarily a bad one, just one that gives me anxiety. And that’s why the package has been sitting at my door for the last 3 days. I hate surprises. It has anxiety attack written all over it.

It's just a package… Is probably what you may be thinking, right? Which is true. But that isn’t the problem. The problem is that I didn’t order anything, and the package is addressed to me with no sender. Not only that, but it is also slightly glowing. And on top of that it’s just a plain white box, with a plain white sticker, and has my name and address in black ink. That’s it.

I have been deciphering if 1) I should bring it in the house and see what it is. Because it is addressed to me after all or 2) take it to the nearest dumpster and leave it in the Universe hands.

Strange things happen to me all the time, but this was just too strange for me.

As I pace across my living room floor, occasionally peeking out the window to make sure the package isn’t doing anything weird, my phone starts to ring.

Ring ring ring.

My best friend Mira’s voice sent a wave of calming energy over me as I picked up the phone.

“Hey Lele, whatcha doing?”

“Mira please tell me you are back home from your trip and that’s why you are calling me because I really, really, really need you right about now.”

“Well hello to you too,” my best friend exasperated, “and yes I am home and by the sounds of it you need me, so I’ll be there in 15.”

Fifteen minutes have never felt so long in my entire 25 years of living.

As I continued to pace my living room, I heard Mira’s car pulling into my driveway.

My best friend much like me also thoroughly enjoys receiving and opening packages. She is also the optimist and the sane one of us both which is why I summoned her.

“Hey Lele, we have a package to open!” my best friend exclaimed as she bends over to pick it up.

“No! Don’t you dare touch that thing just come inside first,” I couldn’t help but screech.

Mira, confused as I yanked her into the house, looks at me baffled. I’m not sure if she is baffled by the way I am reacting, or simply for the fact that I am not excited about a package. Either way her curiosity is showing all over her face.

“Okay spill. You never leave a package at the door, and you are acting like someone sent you head. What’s the issue?”

“That package was dropped off at my door three day—“

“THREE DAYS AGO!?”

The pure disgust and surprise on her face sent me into a fit of laughter. Something I needed badly to calm my nerves. Packages for my best friend and I, even if we ordered it ourselves, are always like hidden treasures being found.

“What do you mean three whole days!? This is insanity!”

“Well, if you let me finish,” I muttered out as I controlled my laughter, “it was dropped off three days ago addressed to me, but it has no sender. Just a box dropped off by a mail drone and it’s freaking me out.”

As I finished my sentence, Mira turned around went back to the door, and grabbed the package. All in a split second before I could even protest. She dropped the package on my coffee table and started to inspect the outside of it.

“It is quite strange. All white, no sender, and the only color is black ink with your info on it.”

“Exactly! Why!? Just why!?”

We both just stared at it for 5 minutes straight. No one talked. No one moved. We just stared at it.

“Okay than,” Mira started, “let’s just open it! What’s the worst that could happen?”

This time my face sent Mira into a fit of laughter. Three days. Three whole days, I’ve spent staring at the package through my window, and it only took her a couple of minutes to decide that we should open it. And not only that, she asked what is the worst that can happen as if that’s not the universal code for something worse happening.

“Seriously Lele, we won’t know why this package was sent to you if we don’t even open it. Obviously, we can’t track it back to anyone, and the fact that is glowing is quite weird yet intriguing.”

This ladies and gentlemen is why she is my best friend, better half, and the exact reason I wanted her here. I knew this is where this would go, however, I always need that extra push, and she is the extra push.

“Whatever happens, we are in this together. So, suck it up and open it because if you don’t I will.”

A part of me wanted to just let her open it, she is the one who asked what’s the worst thing that could happen. And she is also the one who brought it in the house to begin with. But I sucked it up as she demanded and began to open the box.

This box was not a small one but not a big one either. And now that I thought about it, I could’ve just said a medium sized box. However, what was inside that box could’ve definitely fit inside of a small box.

Inside the box was a purple orb. It was sitting on a little stand, making the whole thing look like a little snow globe. We looked at each other confused. We’ve seen one of these before but never up close. And who sent it was still a mystery. Next to it was a little card. The moment I picked it up I thought my life was over. Before I could read it the box transformed into this weird pyramid thing, and the orb began to float over it. That’s the only way to describe it.

“Woah.”

Woah was the only thing said between the both of us because I was trying to not have a heart attack.

“Well, Lele, what does the note say. I’m sure it’ll tell us about this interesting contraption.”

“I don’t know how or why I am the only scared by this, but I think I am more scared of you NOT being scared.”

“Shut up and just read the note,” Mira said laughing.

It read:

Miss Leandria, we are contacting you for your help. We have been keeping an eye on the relationship you and your friend have and believe that you two may be the answer to our problem. This may sound crazy, and this may sound weird, but our town is in danger and in need of help from you both. The head mistress at your school said the two of you would be ideal for this matter. We wouldn’t send for you if we didn’t believe you two weren’t strong, creative, or smart enough. If you are willing to help, please tap the orb 3 times. If you are not, we understand, and please tap twice.

Best regards,

The Council

“Well, I wasn’t expecting that,” whispered Mira.

“How much do they really know,” I thought out loud.

We thought no one outside of the head mistress, and our professors knew. This was supposed to be a normal school year. Normal. Normal….

“Lele, you okay,” Mira asked. Shaking me for what must’ve been 2 minutes.

“You don’t have to accept. They are just asking…We can always continue our year normal like we wished. Besides, it's been 3 days maybe they have requested someone else by now.”

The feeling that came over me was worse than anxiety. Here I am flipping out over a little, but important, box and people need my help somewhere.

I looked up at Mira, and in that moment, I knew she knew. Although Mira is typically the outgoing one, I never backed down from a challenge. I never tried too.

“I know that look.”

“I must do it Mira. I don’t know why but I have too.”

She smiled at me and grabbed my hand. With my free hand I tapped the orb three times, and it transformed into a gem shape. Then a map of the most beautiful place appeared. However, that beautiful place had 4 red dots on the hologram that we were looking at. Before either of us could say or ask anything, a voice came from the gem…

Young apprentices here is your mission…

AdventureFantasyMystery
Like

About the Creator

K.J.George

✨ An overactive mind put into words

✨ Favorite coping mechanism

✨ Fiction Fanatic

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.