Fiction logo

The whispers of the sea

Chapter one

By Aiki NightorePublished 2 years ago 15 min read
Like

Has anyone ever told you that you are special ? I do. Did I believe him? Of course not ~ Who thinks a woman in an evening dress who haunts the streets when she says you're the daughter of a nymph? And not just any nymph . Wondering what that is? She's a water nymph. It is said that nymphs have the gift of prophecy. Yeah Al that sounds pretty crap to me, Looks like BT aint for me either.

That woman has remained in my memory to this day. It happened when I was 12 years old. I'm about to turn 15 now. I still remember everything exactly.

I was dressed in a red beach dress. It was July and my best friend Tara and I were going to a super party with a colleague. I saw a shop with chains and necklaces made of shells. We love the sea. Now that I think about it, it made sense. There was a bookstore next to the filthy store. We agreed that we would stay for a maximum of 10 minutes and I went in to look for a necklace.

The store was empty except for a bored little girl chewing gum. I slipped through the rafters and stared at some matching earrings and chains, all with snails. Further on, there were necklaces with a single shell. I found one with an elegant mother-of-pearl shell and took it from the stand. I raised it in front of my eyes. It seemed harmless then. I'm glad I chose that one and not another.

-I'll buy this one, I told the cashier. She looked at me with her black eyes as if I had just interrupted her from watching an ostrich race.

-12 dollars she makes, she throws me my words while she wraps the necklace in a turtle print bag. I paid and went out, looking at my watch.

I had about six minutes to wait, so I went to sit on one of the benches in the square. I took out the necklace and looked at the shell. Sideful made her look magical and I loved her.

-You chose well, baby, whispered a voice near my ear. I got up immediately, clutching the necklace to my chest.

A 35-year-old woman, incredibly beautiful, was smiling at me from the bench. He had long black hair and blue-green eyes like the sea. She wore a white dress in the color of the waves that swirled around her just like the sea.

-Who are you? I asked, remembering how polite my grandmother was.

-It doesn't matter who I am, baby. Who you are matters, he said in a calm, deep voice. You are more than you think. You have the sea in you.

-I don't think I understand what you mean. I'm sorry, I said, moving away easily. She got up and came up to me. He put a cold hand on my shoulder and leaned toward my ear. I wasn't afraid.

-You're more than you think. Your mother was a sea girl. The nereid.

My mother died when I was born. I remembered her laughter when she held me in her arms, then nothing. That's all I knew about her. My father had left me before he saw me. When he heard that his mother was dead. I didn't even have a memory of him. Grandma was the one taking care of me now.

"You're wrong," I said, forgetting politeness. Nereids are legends. My mother was a normal woman.

She just smiled ghostly and walked away, heading for the sea just 20 meters from the square. Our city is located right on the beach. I watched her disappear as she disappeared into the crowd on Friday at the beach.

"I'm back," Tara shouted at me, carrying a bag of about 4 books with her. I was full.

She looked at me happily, then noticed my strange look.

-Are you feeling alright? she asked me worriedly.

-Perfectly, I lied, still hearing the strange woman's words. Pema is waiting for us, I told her to distract her.

The rest of the evening I tried to get rid of the incident, but when I got home I searched the Wiki for information about nereids. They are said to be nymphs of the sea and to have the gift of prophecy. I've been thinking about my mother all night. She couldn't be a nymph.

In the morning I woke up and decided that this woman was not completely in her waters and that she had taken the plow, so I didn't think about it anymore. It didn't make sense. The sea was important to me, but not so important. I buried them all in a dark corner of my mind and lived my life.

You have the sea in you.

I wish I had listened to her. Miss Thopmson, are you upset if I interrupt you?

-Hmm ...? I got bored. The sun was high in the sky and reflected in the sea in the distance. He had greenish reflections and I couldn't remember why I was inside and not in that beautiful water. I turned my gaze to Professor Becker.

-Excuse me, teacher, I muttered and looked away from the sea. The hair-covered helmet calmed down for a second, then began the song "Hurricane" by 30 Seconds to Mars. I pretended to be interested in world history and let myself be carried away by the waves of songs.

At the end of the class, Tara appeared by my bench. I got up and went with her to our closets next door. I tossed my books in the closet and picked up my sketchbook. I had a drawing, so I, who was first in class, could draw whatever my muscles wanted.

-Hey, Nixie, I'm greeted by Nate, my incredibly annoying friend .

-A-heaaaam, I mumbled.

-What, did the fish eat your tongue? He laughed, turning his chestnut hair into green eyes.

-No, I got a ball in the head from some idiot, I said sarcastically, referring to the fact that he had thrown a ball in my head today at sports class.

"What an idiot," he wondered.

-Don't say it anymore, I growled.

I took it to the basement where absolutely all the offices involved ... well not sports. Our high school relied too much on sports and the cheerleading team, or bar dancers, that it's all one.

The drawing room was, well, painted and drawn everywhere. On the walls it was made by some students from a painting from the movie "Bridge to Terabithia" with many plains and trees, as if you were outside, not in a classroom. The banks were in trouble. So many artists had drawn them that it was hard for you to make out anything. Contributing to this was the fact that they were messy and almost close together.

-Hello, Mrs. Harrison, I screamed at the usual commotion.

-Hello, Nixie, the teacher's answer was heard from behind a wall of students assaulting her with questions about grades. Tara and Nate and I sat under a light bulb, me in the middle, to have enough light for my next masterpiece.

"What are you doing today, Nix," Nate asked in a loud voice so I could hear him.

"An ostrich kangaroo, Nathaniel," I replied grumpily.

I don't know what an ostrich looks like, but I had an idea. I had once dreamed of this boy. He was walking on the beach, his curly black hair left loose around his beautiful face. He had royal features, like a prince, and his eyes were disturbingly blue. I was at the window of my house, which was the lighthouse. Grandpa had been the keeper of the light, now that he was dead, it was Grandma who took care of it. I liked to walk on the beach in the evening and watch the light, knowing that it was home. That's my nest, love.

I began to sketch the prince, with his long cloak, his black hair, and an arrogant smile on his face. I stumbled over my eyes. I remembered them so intensely, penetratingly, and I didn't really know how to render them.

-Uuuu, Nxie draws sexy stuff, Tara meows.

I puffed on it and got a new sheet. I started drawing my favorite subject: unicorns. I liked their scared or gentle looks. Anyway, they were so innocent and they reminded me of my childhood.

YOU WILL LIKE IT TOO

The cheat of mada_stef

cheater

454K

36.7K

Mabel thought that moving to a new city, where no one would be ashamed, would be a quiet one, as she wished for her and her friend Lean ...

Riverdale ||| facts of asnmaz10

Riverdale ||| facts

93K

4.1K

Things about riverdale :)

Thecrystalsqueen ice heart

Ice heart

1.2K

155

| 𝕀𝕟𝕚𝕞ă 𝕕𝕖 𝕘𝕙𝕖𝕒ță | 𝔽𝕒𝕟𝕥𝕖𝕫𝕚𝕖 | 𝕊𝕔𝕚𝕖𝕟𝕔𝕖-𝔽𝕚𝕔𝕥𝕚𝕠𝕟 | 𝔻𝕣𝕒𝕘𝕠𝕤𝕥𝕖 | 𝔻𝕣𝕒𝕞ă | 𝔸𝕔ț𝕚𝕦𝕟𝕖 | ℙ𝕤𝕚𝕙𝕠𝕝𝕠𝕘𝕚𝕖 ¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯¯ ...

Romanian profile +18 by onlyagirl123

Romanian teacher +18

531K

16.3K

& quot; -Don't waste what we both know you're going to try to learn better. Sorry! Damn, it doesn't start! his palms hit the chair and a pen rolls off the table ...

Adopted by some_mint

Done

879K

29.7K

Izabella has always been a mystery to those who met her. Always cold, silent and alone. He quickly drove away those who could not cope with his complicated personality ...

𝙘𝙧𝙞𝙢𝙞𝙣𝙖𝙡 𝙗𝙪𝙣𝙣𝙮;𝙩𝙠 de tgk_enthusiast

𝙘𝙧𝙞𝙢𝙞𝙣𝙖𝙡 𝙗𝙪𝙣𝙣𝙮;𝙩𝙠

4K

- Anyone? Nate said, squinting.

-Yes, and you are not allowed to comment that I make them bite your ass, you heard, I said drawing the little chick's mane.

-Uuuu, that would be great, Tara was excited. Nate, the good-natured unicorn-bitten child, giggled back to her still life, which was a vase of fruit and a vase of flowers. The same thing was on Nate's paper, but Tara's drawing was a little better.

-You're not doing the shadows properly, I gave him directions. And take great care that your orange is Vivian's ego, I told him.

After corrections, his drawing looked much better. I shook my head contentedly and returned to my unicorn. He was sitting down, and butterflies were flying above him. He looked at them with delight, and one was closer to his soft medicine. It was white-yellow and its hooves were gray. Everything was in pencil.

The bell announced the end of the class, and I gathered my pen and notebook, making sure my sketch of the prince was there. I didn't know why it seemed so important to me.

As I climbed the stairs, the pearly shell from my neck hit my stern rhythmically. I had it for almost 3 years and I only took it off at night and in the water so that it wouldn't spoil. I could have chosen anything, but I chose this one. It seemed special to me.

"Freedom," Amelia Hawthorne shouted, running past us to the exit of the school, her backpack hanging strangely on one shoulder. Amelia was a very nice girl, but since her grandmother's death last year, she hasn't socialized much. That's how I had behaved after my grandfather's death, but I couldn't help but socialize with this Nate devil and Tara's madwoman. I thanked them for not letting me grow vegetables.

-These lunatics, there was a voice far too familiar to everyone. Zack Roy, the sexiest idiot in school. He wasn't even that cute. She had a pretty face, but not a pretty one, and she was the prototype of a tall, tall, blond, foolish man with a blond fence with blue eyes that couldn't even match my prince's eyes.

"I hope you were talking about you," I replied in a tone of "silly-I'm-not-afraid-of-you."

"Who asked for your opinion," he asked, stopping and standing in front of me like a real gentleman.

-I can talk to myself. I have a brain, not like all the monkeys on the cheerleading team that you consider a standard of beauty.

-You hear her, one of the monkeys revolts. Who do you think You Are?

Zack approached me and smiled at me "conqueror", but it seemed to me that he had gastritis. I smiled stupidly and pushed him towards the crowd of friends that was forming behind him.

-You hear, just like that, for your general knowledge, you're not exactly every girl's dream, so leave it soft with the I-am-god-beauty sheets, I threw them and took her to the corridor where she came out Amelia, forgetting to leave my things in the closet. I was breathing hard and the adrenaline that had seized me a moment earlier was dripping from me. My legs began to tremble. Nate, who was right behind me, grabbed me by the waist so I wouldn't get pudding on the pavement. The country to my right explodes in a torrent of words.

-You're absolutely brilliant, Nixie. Poor sucker had such a beaten puppy. You said everything we were afraid to say, you were insane, she said, and it took her a long time to get to her car. Nate helps me climb back, then climbs forward next to Tara.

-Country, I get it. Please shut up for a moment, I asked, feeling my head explode.

Absolutely incredible, Tara was silent. I massaged my temples as she maneuvered the Silver Porch out of the school's crowded parking lot. The students drove or drove to the bus stops. Nate and I were lucky with Tara, who didn't provide transportation. He took a narrower street and drove to Nate's house.

"Nixie, you're okay," he asked, looking at me with the usual sarcastic green eyes now worried. My headache was gone, so I nodded.

-I'm okay, you idiot, I threw her merrily.

-Yes, it's good, confirms Tara.

Nate laughed as he got out of the car that had stopped in front of his aunt's house. His parents were away most of the time, so he lived with his uncle and aunt. Like Harrz Potter, but more boring and with nicer people.

"Hey," I asked cautiously, hoping she wouldn't have an accident. Would you like to stay with me and grandma over the summer? That I'm not going anywhere and how your parents are going on a delegation ...

"Yes, of course," she shouted excitedly, and almost knocked down a plastic statue of Sebastian Crustacean.

-You were going to kill Sebastian, I yelled at her laughing.

-Leave it, it's like cats. With nine lives, she justifies herself.

-Yes, tell me how many zombie cats you saw.

"Well, it would be Nate's grandmother," she chuckled.

Nate's grandmother had an obsession with cats and didn't go out of her way. Only when it was absolutely necessary or when one of her cats was running away. We called her the zombie cat because she was very white and smelled like a cat.

-It doesn't matter, I retorted.

The country just grinned and I saw her nodding in the rearview mirror. We were approaching the beach and Tara seemed to be on the side of the street and got out of the car. I got down on my feet safer than when I got on. I closed the door and headed for my house together. The country would come to me from time to time and we would do our homework together. School was coming to an end, I had given my theses and now I was just waiting for everything to end. I had about 3 weeks left.

I went down the stone stairs to the beach, then I took off my sandals and walked barefoot to the huge lighthouse. I opened the wooden door and entered the living room. The elevator, which was actually a platform with a railing and a place to climb on it, was in the left-hand corner. The room was circular and large, with sofas and chairs scattered everywhere. A flat-screen TV was on a low table.

We climbed onto the platform and pressed button 2 on the railing panel. There were a total of 3 floors and the third was Grandma's room and the place where the light was on. The second floor is my room. A curtain was drawn until it met the wall and the bathroom door. I pushed the curtain aside and screamed.

-We're home, grandma!

-Hello, Nikie, hello, Tara! Her voice came from above.

"Good morning, Mrs. Thompson," Tara shouted.

"If you're hungry, come upstairs," she shouted. Oh, yes, upstairs was the kitchen.

-Okay, I said as I tossed my bag on the desk against the wall. I also had a balcony, so I opened the window to the wall and went out, inhaling the smell of sea salt. Tara had sat down on my bed, and I slumped in my armchair.

The room was quite large, but I didn't have much in it. The closet next to the wall and the bed, the desk, the opposite wall, the balcony and so on. Posters with the Aristocratic Cats, the Lion King, the Lady and the Vagabond were at dawn.

“So, what do you want us to do?” I asked, stretching out.

"I don't know," she said.

-Do you want to watch a movie?

"Sure," she said, and turned to the TV on my stupid table. This one had a flat screen.

I found a movie about horses called Flicka. That was the last normal day of my life.

Series
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

Aiki Nightore is not accepting comments at the moment

Want to show your support? Send them a one-off tip.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.