Fiction logo

The Wedding Bouquet

Is it Fate

By Antoinette L BreyPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
3
The Wedding Bouquet
Photo by Samantha Gades on Unsplash

Pink skies blind my eyes. Yellow seas splash my knees, and I wish the lady getting married was me. Not to the groom of course. For years I had been alone. I wanted someone strong and supportive to hold, and help me forge my way down the road.

But today I smiled as my best friend floated down the aisle. The groom a chunky man held her tiny hand. They glowed- as they made their wedding kiss. They are encircled in a ring of light as their souls unite.

My eyes gaze over the rest of the guest. Am I the only one without a date?

The yellow seas are warm against my skin. I feel my mind float off- away from my surroundings, I feel strong arms around me. I melt into the safety and warmth. I catch my breathe and freeze like a statue in my protective haven.

And then the feeling is gone. I open my eyes, the sky is still pink. Sara is now married, and there is no man beside me. I look around but do see anybody but Sara who is waving at me.

I put on my shoes and run towards her. She grabs my hand. It is time for the tossing of the bouquet. All the single female guests form a circle. Sara floats up into the air above us twists in the circle and tosses the flowers. I want the bouquet but the floaters have the advantage. But the flowers seem like a magnet to glide into my hands,

The magic of the flowers passes into me. The energy is warm like the arms had been. I know that I will find a partner it has been fated.

Sara is thrilled. She hugs me. "Anna" she squeals "I knew it was your time". I smile and give her a hug. Greg's arms replace mine around Sara.

I congratulate him. He swings her around in the air. They are giggling. I feel a inner peace. The other guests are like shadows around me.

I barely notice as Sara and Greg ascended to the vessel above them, I make my way to my vessel. I pull the controls from my pocket, and set the location as my apartment. Music plays and air blows inside my vessel. I lay on the build in couch. I press the buttons on a control and the drink appears beside me.

My apartment was close. As I enter, my mood feels sublime. I press the vase button. The vase automatically fills with water, and I display the bouquet flowers. I have heard tales of bouquet flowers lasting until the receivers bonding, but I do not even have a touchable viewable partner.

I had been looking for a strong unwavering partner. But after today the fates would provide.

Today I immerse myself in the soaking pool, it is yellow and warm like the sea but it has special powers. The dead skin flakes seeps off my body. I feel my soft skin. My tan skin shone in the water. This was my favorite part of the day. The atmosphere of the planet dried one's skin, but after my bath my skin was always smooth again.

I slipped into my night dress. It was not fashionable or fancy, just comfortable. I had transferred the environment of the vessel to my dwelling. The soothing music and of course my drink. To early to go to bed. The music was growing old.

i looked over the wedding pictures on my screen. I printed the picture of my catching the bouquet, and hung it under the vase,

The next day I was awoken by a knock on the door. A strange man stood at my entrance. My eyes scanned him. He had strong arms, and looked a lot like the man who had been in my dreams a few sleeps before. Coincidence, I wondered, but I felt a inner warmth in my body.

"Hello" " "Hi" he replied "I am your new neighbor."

"Oh, how nice to meet you. I do not know a lot of my neighbors. Would you like to come in?"

He thanked me and asked if I had just woken up. I told him that he could join me for breakfast. I had put on a robe before opening the door, but I did not feel exposed in front of him. The conversation showed the empathy he had for others. He was not a carbon copy of anybody that I had ever met and yet I felt as if I knew him,

He invited me for breakfast the next day. I told him yes. The truth was I did not want him to leave

Fantasy
3

About the Creator

Antoinette L Brey

I am an elder in a time of freedom. I am now retired. All i want to do is have fun. Without a daily routine, my imagination is one of my only salvations. I am not planning on writing a book, it is just for my own pleasure

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  2. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  3. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  3. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  4. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran2 years ago

    This was a very lovely story

  • I enjoyed this and did he leave or did he stay?

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.