Fiction logo

The Wall That Whispered

Secrets of a Timeless Witness

By Jeremy BrowerPublished about a year ago 3 min read
Like
Photo credit: Johannes Plenio

If walls could talk, oh, the tales they would tell. I am a wall, and I stand as a witness to the centuries worth of history that has been encapsulated within these walls. I am the Great Wall of China, the longest wall in the world and the most recognizable of all fortifications. I am almost 2,300 years old, and in that time, I have witnessed the establishment and destruction of dynasties, the fighting and the spilling of blood, as well as the joy and sorrow of untold generations.

I have stood watch as a silent guard as armies have passed along my ramparts, as emperors have trod my road, and as familiar people have labored diligently to keep my fortifications in good repair. I have overheard the mutterings of clandestine plots, the cries of dying troops, and the happy singing of children at play.

Over the course of my life, I have witnessed a great many marvels, including the dazzling lights of the sky as well as magnificent sunrises and sunsets. I have seen the seasons come and go, the wind blow, and the snow fall while I have been alive to witness it all. I have witnessed the planet's evolution as the landscapes surrounding me shifted from undulating hills and dense forests to thriving towns and agricultural landscapes.

But the occasions when it felt like love was in the air are the ones that will stick out in my mind the most. When they wanted privacy and a place where they could be together, lovers would come to me. I have watched people make promises that would last a lifetime, steal each other's kisses, and hold hands while doing so. They would come to me with their pleasures and sorrows, and I would listen to them, understanding all too well the human emotions that I have seen repeatedly played out because of the number of times I have seen them played out.

A young guy and a woman, who had known each other since they were toddlers and had become a pair here, are one example of this type of couple. They spent their childhoods together, laughing and daydreaming while playing along my ramparts as they grew older. And when they were old enough, they fell in love, and when they were ready, they came to me to tell me how they felt about each other. The sound of their voices, which were so full of hope and happiness as they vowed their love for one another and agreed to spend the rest of their lives together, is something I will never forget.

I have also witnessed the more sinister aspects of humanity, such as its avarice and callousness, as well as its conflicts and its victims. I have seen the warriors who came to these territories to defend them and the soldiers who came to conquer and enslave the people who lived there. I have shared in mourning those who have lived and passed away within the confines of my walls because I have witnessed their anguish and suffered alongside them.

And yet, despite everything that has happened, I have not wavered in my resolve; I strive to be a representation of the fortitude and resiliency of the Chinese people. I have endured the storms and the wars, and throughout it all, I have served as a living example of the strength that can be derived from human creativity and drive.

To this day, in this age of modernity, I continue to stand as a monument to a history that is both proud and rich. Even though I am not the formidable stronghold I once was, I am still a wall and will always be here, bearing silent witness to the stories of the past and the hopes for the future. If walls could talk, I would tell you about the fantastic things I've seen and the fascinating tales I've heard, but alas, they can't. But for the time being, I shall merely stand here as a sentinel of history. I will do it with pride and in silence.

HistoricalClassical
Like

About the Creator

Jeremy Brower

Freelance Writer | Creator | Learner | Thinker

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Donna Fox (HKB)about a year ago

    Really well written, great story! I like the direction you took with this!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.