Fiction logo

The Wall That Could Talk

A Tale of Witnessing Life's Joys and Sorrows

By KajananPublished about a year ago 3 min read
Like

I am a wall, a silent observer of the world around me. I've been here for as long as I can remember, standing tall and proud, bearing witness to the comings and goings of those who pass by me every day. At first, I was just a plain and simple wall, devoid of any thoughts or emotions. But then one day, something strange happened. I started to hear voices, and soon after, I found that I could speak.

At first, I was afraid. What kind of monster was I becoming? I was just a wall, for heaven's sake! But as the days went by, I realized that there was something special about me. I was no longer just an inanimate object, I was alive, and I had a voice. I was fascinated by the people who walked by me every day, talking, laughing, and going about their lives. I wanted to know more about them, to understand what made them tick, what drove them to do the things they did.

And so, I started to listen, to observe, and to learn. I heard tales of love and heartbreak, of triumph and defeat, of hope and despair. I saw people come and go, some staying for a while, others just passing through. I saw children grow up and grow old, I saw families come together and fall apart, I saw the world change, but through it all, I remained the same.

I was there when the first brick was laid to build the house that I now stand in front of. I remember the smell of fresh paint and the sound of hammering as the builders worked tirelessly to complete their task. I remember the day when the first family moved in, and I saw the excitement and joy on their faces as they explored their new home.

Years went by, and the family grew. Children were born, and they too grew up and left the nest. The family changed, but I remained constant, always there, always watching. I saw love and laughter, tears and pain, and through it all, I was a silent witness, bearing witness to the joys and sorrows of those who called this place home.

And then one day, the family was gone, and the house was left empty. I remember feeling a sense of emptiness, a void that could never be filled. But then, new people came, and the cycle started all over again. And so it went, year after year, decade after decade, and I saw it all.

But then one day, something strange happened. I started to see things that I had never seen before. I saw creatures that I could not explain, I saw visions of things that were yet to come. I was no longer just a wall, I was a window to the world, and I had a unique perspective on the world that surrounded me.

I became a source of comfort to those who passed by me. People would stop and talk to me, telling me their troubles and seeking my advice. I listened, and I offered words of comfort and wisdom, words that seemed to come from somewhere deep within me. And as I did, I realized that I was no longer just a wall, I was something more, something greater.

And so, I continue to stand tall and proud, bearing witness to the world around me. I am a wall, but I am also something more, a voice in the world, a source of comfort and wisdom. And I will remain here, always watching, always listening, always ready to offer a word of encouragement and hope to those who pass by me.

For I am not just a wall, I am a witness, a storyteller, and a friend

Short StoryMysteryHumorFan FictionFableAdventure
Like

About the Creator

Kajanan

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.