Fiction logo

The Valley of Novem

The Journey of Laco Dracul

By M.L. LewisPublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 4 min read
1

There weren’t always dragons in the Valley. Just lush meadows and fragrant flowers. A crystal clear stream runs through it from the nearby snow-capped mountains. The Valley was quite peaceful. This was a nice place for Laco Dracul to relax. Laco was a mystic dragon with a long slender body, covered in silvery-white scales and large crystallize crusted leather wings. Being the only dragon on this majestic planet made him feel quite lonely. He has been searching for a friend for thirteen years. Someone he could talk to. Someone to go on fun adventures with. What’s the use of climbing the tallest mountains, without having a friend to enjoy the moment with? The sound of the water cascading over the rocks harmonized with the gentle winds, creating a sound that Laco finds relaxing. If only he could share this moment with a friend. Once rested, he returned home to his nest in the desert for dinner. He liked the desert a lot. The warm sands were quite soothing on his cold scales. There’s no greater feeling than burrowing down and watching the sunset. Well, except the Valley. When he returned home, he ate his dinner of fresh greens and bugs that he collected while exploring a dense forest. After he finished, he burrowed down into the soft earth when a loose scale broke off into his dactyly.

“Ouch!” He yelps in pain as the scale becomes embedded in the palm of his hand like a splinter. He began picking at it with his sharp, curved teeth. Once removed, he spits it out in the sand as the last ray of light hits the Earth. But then, the sands glow and swirl. Laco covers his face with his wings to shield them from the vortex he created. When the vortex dies down, there stood a creature he had never seen before. It was a man. The man jumped back, startled by Laco’s giant appearance.

“Who are you?” he gasps

“My name is Laco Dracul. I am the white dragon of the Mystic Realms.” answers Laco, “And who are you, stranger?”. The man was unsure of how to answer the question.

“I-I- I don’t know,” he stammers.

“Then I shall name you Ambrogio! For you are the first of your kind,” beams Laco. “Do you have questions for me about this strange new world you find yourself in?”

“I do, but first, may I rest? I’m more tired than anything,” answers Ambrogio.

“Of course. You may sleep here tonight as the fire within my heart will keep you warm.” nods Laco. He opens his wings. Ambrogio smiles and accepts his offer. It wasn’t long for him to fall asleep tucked under Laco’s wing. Laco watches him fall asleep before doing so himself. He is finally happy because he found the friend he has been longing for.

Laco woke up late in the morning. He stretched his wings and remembered the man from last night. Laco looked at where he was sleeping, but Ambrogio was gone.

“Ambrogio! Ambrogio!” yells Laco, looking around for him.

“I’m here Laco! I’m at the oasis!” shouts Ambrogio. Laco flies off to join him.

He arrived to see the man sweating under the shade of a palm tree, eating prickly pear.

“Sorry Laco. I didn’t mean to leave you alone for so long.” he pants, “I woke up thirsty, and looked for some water. By the time I found it, it was too hot for me to return to you.”

“That’s okay. As long as you are alright I’m happy,” says Laco. “What’s wrong with you? Why are you making that funny noise?”

“I’m just so hot. I wish there was a place I can cool down at?” answers Ambrogio.

“Well, you’re in luck, my friend. I know just the place!” exclaims Laco, “Here, hope on my back, and I’ll take you there!”. Ambrogio finishes his treat and climbs on Laco’s back. Laco flies off, taking him to the Valley.

When they arrive, Ambrogio climbs off Laco’s back and is shocked by the beauty of this place.

“This is my second favorite place in the entire world. It’s not too hot, and it’s not too cool. It also has many delicious fruits and vegetables for your liking. And, if you listen closely, the Earth will play you a comforting lullaby,” explains Laco.

“This place is beautiful!” gasps Ambrogio. “What is it called?”

“I’m not sure,” answers Laco confused, “I never really sat down and named anything before. Well, except you. So, I guess whatever you wish to call it.”

“Novem” says Ambrogio.

“What?”

“They shall forever know this new place as Novem!”

“Then Novem it shall be called my friend,” smiles Laco. Ambrogio smiles and nods at him.

The journey continues at https://vocal.media/fiction/the-valley-of-novem-part-2

Series
1

About the Creator

M.L. Lewis

Welcome to my little slice of pie. This blog will primarily focus on prepping and homesteading skills with a sprinkle of fiction every now and then.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Test5 months ago

    That was some fantastic writing! I enjoyed it immensely

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.