Fiction logo

The upside down world

Where reality is the fantasy.

By Novel AllenPublished about a year ago 7 min read
2
The upside down world
Photo by Casey Horner on Unsplash

Is imagination not a most wonderful thing?

I so love fairy tales with happy endings. So too the stories of selflessness, kindness and the strength of will of the heroes in the heart wrenching, touching, daring, dramatical and swash buckling adventures, filled with imaginary fabled debonair gents and chic ladies.

I wish that reality actually existed in a matrix from which I could physically claw my way out, that I could escape and conjure up the world in a way that people still truly cared for one another.

Was there ever such a world though?

What if we really are living in THE UPSIDE DOWN. What if we could escape reality and transpose ourselves into the wonderful world of the fantastical and magical. Would we still find the fanatics there who want to dominate and rule whatever world they live in. Would we still have antagonists and protagonists always at each other's throats. Does anything ever change, matters not where you are, or what reality you are in. On the other glove, what if we were able to switch our realities whenever we had a valid urge to leave, and just be someone else until we needed to vice versa our lives again.

As I sit in thought, the computer screen scrolling across yet another scene of road rage and another of a shooting, my mind starts to wander. I am starting to wonder seriously if there is a violence virus much like the Corona, which can be caught by someone coughing on you, or can it be transmitted by touching a surface, something someone else just touched. Are there demons from hell who are inhabiting the bodies of mankind and forcing them to commit horrible acts of violence upon one another, as my learned Christian friend suggested. Is it not strange that it only takes one person of influence to change the thought trajectory of an entire nation of people, overturning years of peaceful negotiations and a hard fought battle for peace and freedom?

"I wish I lived in an upside down world". I said aloud, turning off the cursed machine.

"Natalia"! Bonnie called loudly. 'I've been yelling your name like forever. There is something strange at the door for you. A drone dropped it off, and it's sitting perched in that tree over there".

By Annie Spratt on Unsplash

"What are you talking about, I'm not expecting any delivery".

"Well, be that as it may, it has your name on it". Bonnie replied, trailing along behind me curiously.

The glistening white drone sat like a bird on the large branch of the oak tree across the street, watching as we examined the weirdly shaped brown box. It was tall and tapered, the sides curved inwards, somewhat like female hips, it actually resembled the female contoured form. The drone, satisfied that we had indeed received the box, whirred cheerfully and flew away.

Bonnie and I lifted the package inside. We had been friends from the first time that we met at the orphanage. Sisters of Mercy orphanage on Fleet street, right at the corner that led into the forest. It was not a really bad neighborhood, nor was it the most peaceful, but we all somehow managed to stay out of trouble long enough to age out with a passable education. We had found jobs and were roommates for the past two years, attending night school to further our education.

"Is it ticking"? Bonnie asked. "Although it would be a really big bomb, it was kinda light though, what the heck is in it. Hurry up and open it".

Ignoring her impatience, I sat with the tiny all-purpose nail file, knife, portable bottle opener contraption, eyeing the funny looking box. Finally, I sliced the tape off the top.

Our heads bumped together, both of us so eager to know the contents of the box. "Ouch"! we both yelled.

No sooner was the word out of our mouths, when we felt ourselves being poured into the box. It was as if we became light as feather, were picked up by the wind and became like water, our bodies fluid and weightless as we passed through space and time. It happened as if in a daze, there was no time to ask questions. We found ourselves back in our apartment. Only it was not THE apartment. Different, yet same. We were different versions of ourselves. Our clothes, footwear, hairstyles, furniture, decor, everything was futuristic in every way.

"Do I look like you. Because you look so awesome! Ok. I am aware that I am asking the wrong question here. What just happened and where the hell are we, Natalia"?

I stood lost in thought. I ran to the door and opened it, looking for what I did not know. The outside world had all been transformed as well. Did I just get my wish for an upside down world granted. Someone passed by just then, nodded his head and said "How do you do, it's a fine day isn't it".

"It certainly is. How are you"? I replied, turning to give Bonnie a 'wow' look of surprise.

Bonnie was right behind me as usual, the girl could hover. "Did I just hear that right just now. And did you see the gorgeous outfit he was wearing. Let us go exploring. I don't know what is happening, but I'm a loving it so far".

"I think that I agree with you for once. Let's be careful though, we have no idea what is going on". I was always the voice of reason, Bonnie was the wild carefree card. Everywhere we went people greeted us sincerely and kindly. Children ran and played happily, their pets fetching and romping by their sides. We went to where our jobs were supposed to be, but now we worked at jobs that were specially crafted for optimum comfort and designed with increments of activities for stress relief. What stress, everyone seemed immensely well rested and serene.

Back in the apartment, Bonnie and I contemplated what to do. The people were the same people that we knew, at least most of them, but the pattern of behavior was the most noticeable and was very desirably changed.

"Let's go to work tomorrow and see what happens". I suggested. We slept well and returned to our jobs next day, all seemed normal. We rode the modernistic trains, walked around after work, ate at restaurants, we found that we still had money in our apartment. A week passed and although the box still stood in the living room, we made no attempt to revisit it's interior. There was no crime whatsoever, the news reported blossoming profits, successful people, extravagant affordable vacations, thriving businesses and many types of recreational activities which appeared very interesting.

A year passed, then two. Ten years later, we retrieved the box from my basement. Our lives had changed by then. Bonnie had a family, a girl and a boy and a loving partner. I was curator at the wonderful museum, it had always been my dream. I was extremely happy among ancient scrolls and dusty old things. They perfectly matched my old soul's thirst for knowledge of long ago. Everyone knew about the box and what it did. It was kept safe.

We stood looking at the box a decade later from the first time that we had used it. "We wish to visit the upside down world". I said, having no idea if it would work.

We were spirited away to our original world. It was literally on fire. Everything was burning. There was rioting and chaos everywhere we looked. The news was dire, this world was the same as the one we left, but different and violent. Bonnie and I hugged each other and wept. A family was running for their lives from bullies. I opened the door and beckoned them in. I spoke the magic words and we all ended up in the other world. They went to their home, they were safe.

"Natalia, what if we asked the box for more boxes. We could maybe save a lot more people".

Monti Timpanogus_Unsplash

And so we did. We opened our own save and rescue enterprise. We called it THE OLDE CURIOSITY BOX. Funding was no problem, I have written many books about our two worlds, they sold well in this world. We hired and trained people to deal with dangerous situations on their travels through the two worlds. The boxes keep coming. We still have no idea where from.

Maybe it will soon be your turn to be rescued and travel between the Upside Down worlds.

N.A.

AdventureFantasySci Fi
2

About the Creator

Novel Allen

Every new day is a blank slate. Write something new.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  4. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Donna Fox (HKB)about a year ago

    The upside down world, I love this concept! What a unique and fascinating take on the challenge. If I wasn't already subscribed to your page, I would be now!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.