Fiction logo

The Unloved Daughter

Chapter 4

By Daniell FrovarpPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
Like
The Unloved Daughter
Photo by Ryan Moreno on Unsplash

WARNING READER DISCRETION ADVISED: Abuse and neglect contained in this chapter.

~Nyx~

Once in my fake room I took a deep breath and fell back on the bed. However that relief I felt didn't last long, the door opened to reveal my furious father. I sat up, knowing I was in for it this time.

"Why can't you go one time without disgracing our family with your filth." He stated.

I stuttered out, "W-w-what do y-you m-m-mean?" His face stoned over with anger.

"You ignored his majesty when he was talking to you, then you left the tea room without wishing them a good night." He boomed with anger grabbing the hair at the nape of my neck to make me look into his furious face. I stayed silent, I knew better then to respond with excuses. He threw me off the bed onto the floor in anger. He paced around me, "Maids remove her clothing and drag her behind me." They complied and helped me out of the dress leaving me in the thin under dress. They pulled me down the hall after him, I used to fight this but that's before the years of neglect and punishments.

Once outside they tied me to the same post they whipped the help on. My brother Theoran was there, he walked over and tore open the back of the thin fabric on my back. My father was given the whip and he took his position behind me. I felt the sting of the first strike on my back but I refused to cry out. I would not give them that satisfaction. I bit my lip harder with every strike that came. The tears left my eyes in silent cries. I lost count after fourteen, my body started to slump and become numb to pain.

I was removed from the pole and taken to my cramped room in the servant quarters. This is one of the worst punishments I have received. Yareha was cleaning and bandaging my wound, she was more of a mom to me than my mother was. I took the next couple days to heal. It was an awful time. I broke out in fever twice. Yareha said that they both broke and there seemed to be no life threatening infection. I dreamed of Thorn many time, I was infatuated with him at this point. It was all over a kiss too I thought shoving me face into the pillow.

Today I returned to work, I dreaded it, who would want to see the horrid face of someone who harmed them. I took Master Sparrow his breakfast.

"Master Sparrow here is your breakfast." I stated and set it down on the desk to the right of him. I bowed and headed for the door but before I could make it he called after me. "Nyx, sit"

I froze in fear but complied and took a seat in the chair before the his desk. I looked at the floor I couldn't bring myself to look up.

"What happened was well deserved, you disrespected the royal family." He stated and I nodded. He didn't know about the kiss between me and the prince. "You may go attend your chores." I nodded again and left.

Once in the court yard, I ran into the worst person possible, Ariel. She snickered "Hey trash finally ready to get punished again." I rolled my eyes and started cleaning up around the roses. "Do they know you tried to force yourself on the Prince, and then ran away when he rejected you?" She sneered. I paused, how did she know he kissed me, or rather in her eyes that I "forced" myself onto him which is insane. "I wonder how Duchess Von Keem would act if she knew you were trying to whore your way into her betrothed." My eyes widened at the mention of her name. She was a cruel ruthless woman who would do anything to remain the prince's soon to be wife.

"Ariel, I don't know what you seen, but I'm trash remember. How could someone as disgusting as me even have a chance with someone like him." I breath out, why did my heart hurt like this. I couldn't possibly have feelings could I. Ariel giggled and crossed her arms across her chest. "That's right, I will be your superior one day so I suggest you learn some respect and how to call me Lady Sparrow soon." She huffed out. I returned to my work and rolled my eyes.

"That would be the day, but it's not today." I sighed out. Her face turned raspberry red before she turned around and stalked off. I was sure she would go cry to Killian in pity in hopes I'd get punished in some way. How annoying she is, however the bigger issue is she seen me and Thorn. That could be problematic for me and him. I need to figure out a way to keep her quiet.

FableFantasyLoveYoung Adult
Like

About the Creator

Daniell Frovarp

~Fantasy/fable Writer

~Short story

~Unloved Daughter: New chapters regularly.

~Destined to Fall - New Chapter every 2 months

NOTE: I full edit every piece every 4 months. During that month no stories will be published. exception to challenges

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.