Fiction logo

The Unloved Daughter

Chapter 5

By Daniell FrovarpPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
Like
The Unloved Daughter
Photo by Raamin ka on Unsplash

~Thorn~

Once we returned to the palace, I called for Colby and headed to my office to await him. I was doing work when there was a clearing of the throat. I looked up to see Colby waiting for me to meet his face.

"Your Majesty, I was told you needed my services?" he asked full of wonder since I didn't call him back late very often.

"Yes, I need you to look into something for me, Lady Nyx." When I said her name Colby's face lit up with confusion.

"Lady Nyx, Sire?" He questioned. I nodded "Yes, something is off about her behavior and I want to know why she's acting off" I answered while my mind wondered.

"Very well, I will look into the matter as discretely as possible." He said crossing his hand over his chest and bowing. A motion we use in the kingdom to swear loyalty. I nodded, "I'll leave you too it then." I acknowledged before he turned and exited my office.

I nodded and continued my work, tried to at least but my mind kept wondering toward Nyx and her beautiful face. Anger clouded my mind at the various fearful faces she made. What was she scared of, she's a noble and a high ranking one at that. I fell back in my chair and breathed out frustrated while running my hand through my hair.

~Fallon Von Keem~

I was taking tea when I received a letter with no sender. I knitted my brows together since mysterious letter's didn't happen often among nobles. I didn't recognize the seal on the letter as I opened it.

Duchess Von Keem,

It is will deep regret that I must inform you another noble is stepping in on your betrothed. She's using her faked weak constitution to woo the crowned prince. I'm sure you know whom I speak of. Last night she forced her lips on his then retreated when he rejected her. She might have more tricks up her sleeve to try to win him over.

                                                                                                                                Signed, A friend.

I gritted my teeth as the imagine of the whore* came to mind. Lady Nyx, how dare you step out of your place. She never even made a debut and rarely attends the social events. Could her father have something to do with this. Him and my father have always been rivals since their youth. Would her father put her up to this or is she doing it on her own. This won't due whatsoever, I thought as I bit my nail thinking of how to solve this problem. Daddy will know I thought, and stood to walk to his study.

I burst through the door "Daddy, we have a problem." I stated with sweetened anger.

"Fallon, my sweet daughter, can you not see I'm busy with affairs in the Dukedom." He stated looking up with annoyance. His face softened when he met my eyes, which were teary. I knew how to play my father and he hated seeing his precious daughter cry. I threw the letter on his desk, the seal made a pap sound as it hit the wood. My father pulled it towards him and opened it. He spent a minute reading it before his face flushed with anger.

"How DARE the sparrow disrespect the future queen of the kingdom and a daughter of a prestigious family." He shouted in anger. I let the waterworks fall and sat down in a chair.

"Daddy, we have to do something, that little wrench and her family overstepped. What if she tricks the prince into falling in love with him to get back at our family for her father?" I sobbed. He sighed and stood, "I will handle it Fallon, you need not worry your pretty head any longer." He spoke softly. I nodded and bid my father good night and left his office with a smirk on my lips. She will get what's coming to her soon enough.

Series
Like

About the Creator

Daniell Frovarp

~Fantasy/fable Writer

~Short story

~Unloved Daughter: New chapters regularly.

~Destined to Fall - New Chapter every 2 months

NOTE: I full edit every piece every 4 months. During that month no stories will be published. exception to challenges

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.