Fiction logo

The Unloved Daughter

Chapter 2

By Daniell FrovarpPublished 3 years ago 5 min read
Like
The Unloved Daughter
Photo by Alice Alinari on Unsplash

Author's Note: I apologize for the late update. The recent event in Afghanistan had me feeling not as creative as I mourned the lost of brothers and sisters in arms.

Once in my room, I bathed and one of the maids that I didn't exactly know did my hair in an eloquent half up half down fashion. Shortly after my dress arrived, it was quickly put on me. I felt like I was drowning in it, since I only wore thin light cloths.

I caught a glimpse of myself in the mirror, I was gorgeous and so was the dress, light blues and whites. It almost reminded me of falling snow. The way it cascaded from whites to the darker part of blue. I wore a simple pendent of the Goddess Lyra, she was the Goddess of purity and warfare. Such a funny combination if you asked me but every unwed girl had to be her servant until marriage when they would take on the Goddess Nyri of fertility and obedience.

"Miss, are you ready to head down?" The maid chimed pulling me out of my inner thoughts. "Oh, yes" I nodded and followed her out of my fake room.The kept a girls room to give the appearance of loving their one and only daughter. She lead me to the dining hall, I was only allowed in here for appearance and nothing more. Everything else was met with the excuse of my "weak constitution" so they could keep my actual treatment a secret.

My maid pulled out my chair and I sat down and waited for the rest of the family to pile in ahead of the Royal Family. Killan entered first and sat to my right, Theoran sat to the left, I'd be lying if I said they didn't make me nervous. Shortly after mother and father took their places at the head of the tablet. The room was silent and I didn't dare speak unless spoken too.

Before long the announcing of the Royal family Enoch came, we all stood as they entered the room. King Atticus entered first, he was a handsome man for being in his 40s after him is beautiful wife entered Queen Mia, she had perfect laugh lines that showed she was a kind and gentle soul. Lastly Thorn Enoch entered, he was the crowned prince and he looked like the God Rif had cut him from his own cloth. The God Rif is the God of War and he was beautiful. We all bowed or cursied and than the feast began. Thorn had taken his seat directly across from me.

My breath caught at the sight of him, sadly he would never look my way, and even by chance if he did my father would bring up my weak constitution to sway him from wanting to be with me. It's worked for every suitor thus far. I still had the exceptional looks of a sparrow, I was quiet beautiful even in rags.

"Nyx" Killan growled lowly enough for only me to hear thus pulling me out of my inner thoughts. "Huh, sorry." I shook my head to clear my thoughts. "Prince Thorn asked you a question and you basically ignored him." Killan stated calmly, only I wasn't calm upon hearing that. My eyes widen at the realization of what I had done and the punishment father would cook up for it. "Your Majesty please forgive me, I was distracted." I said as calm as I could.

Thorn sighed and asked again "How have you been feeling Lady Nyx, you never attend the parties, such a shame such beauty if hidden away in this musty manor." He huffed almost like a child, it made me want to laugh but I knew better. "Well your Majesty, my illness comes and goes quickly, so I do tend to miss those events. I'm sorry." I felt so stupid having to play the weak and sickly lady. He nodded and understanding and continued the conversation he was having with my brother Theoran. I looked over at father, his face was that of stone and I could see the slight anger he held in for when our guest are no where near.

I felt my stomach fall, the punishment of ignoring the crown prince will be the worst of my punishments. I took a deep breath to pretend everything would be okay. I ate lightly in silence as those around me discussed different things. I occasionally caught Thorn looking at me, I pretended to not notice. After, dinner we moved into the tea room, instead of sitting with the family I walked outside to the terrace . I sighed and breathed in the cool night, I guess I lost myself in thought because I didn't realize the presence next to me.

I turned to see the crowned prince next me. "Your Majesty." I said full of surprise and went to cursied to him. "Please, don't." He said putting his hand up in a stop motion. I nodded and turned back to look at the courtyard. I breathed deep as I leaned into the stone railings. "Nyx," He said and waited for me to look at him "you seem so unhappy here, why?" he questioned.

Shit, I didn't know he caught onto my unhappiness here. I need to cover it otherwise father would be even more angry. "Um, no I just haven't felt the best lately and doing this dinner takes a lot out of me your majesty." I slopped out in a fatigued manner to make it believable. I turned to look at him and our eye locked. His beautiful blue swirling eyes captivated me. Everyone knew the Enoch family were descendants of Gods and Goddesses. Before, I knew what happened he leaned down and pressed his soft lips to mine. The kiss was absolute bliss, but soon the panic began, I pulled away abruptly. "Your Majesty, I'm so sorry, I- I can't..." I stuttered out whilst shaking my head and started backing away. He just stared at me until I disappeared inside the Manor with apologies leaving my lips the whole way.

NEXT WEEK: Thorn's POV, why did he kiss her so suddenly, isn't he already engaged to the Duke daughter. The dukes daughter the villainess is to appear in the next episode.

Series
Like

About the Creator

Daniell Frovarp

~Fantasy/fable Writer

~Short story

~Unloved Daughter: New chapters regularly.

~Destined to Fall - New Chapter every 2 months

NOTE: I full edit every piece every 4 months. During that month no stories will be published. exception to challenges

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.