Fiction logo

The Unloved Daughter

Chapter 3

By Daniell FrovarpPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
Like
The Unloved Daughter
Photo by Christopher Campbell on Unsplash

~Thorn~

"Your Majesty, Duchess Fallon Von Keem is here to see you." my personal butler alerted me.

"Thank you Colby, send my regrets, we are going to the sparrows for dinner this evening." I reponded.

"Right away sir." he promptly shut the door to my study. I sighed in contempt, why did my reckless father have to choose her out of all the eligible ladies.

~Fallon~

Sitting in the tea room awaiting Prince Thorn, what is taking so long, I thought the royal family is about punctuality. I sighed in irritation, there were approaching footsteps, finally! I smiled expecting Thorn, however it fell when I seen the same butler that went to tell Thorn I had arrived.

"Duchess Keem, I regret to inform you that his majesty is busy this evening and will have to reschedule." said the butler.

I held my composure and smiled "Very well, send him my love." I walked out of the manner quiet pissed. I entered my carriage for my long trek home. I was furious, my father will hear about this. Prince Thorn is clearly not interested in me.

~Thorn~

I headed d0wn to meet my family in the foyer.

"Ready to head out?" My father asked. Me and my mom nodded in agreement and we headed out the door to the carriage. The rest of the evening there was tense, you could cut the air with a knife. We finally arrived at the Sparrow Estate and entered into the dining hall. They all stood and bowed or curtsied to my father and then sat back down after he did. I caught the blushing face of the daughter after our eyes locked as I entered the room. She was quiet beautiful, it was really a shame that she had a weak constitution. My father would have considered her for my partner had she been born healthy.

"How have you been feeling Lady Nyx, you never attend the parties, such a shame such beauty if hidden away in this musty manor." I asked her, yet she didn't even notice I had spoken to her, she was completely lost in thought. Suddenly fear spread across her face and she stammered out.

"Your Majesty please forgive me, I was distracted." Yet she looked terrified, it wasn't me was it? Something in me wanted to comfort her, what was really going on here. I sighed and asked her again giving a child like huff at the end unintentionally. Damn it all! "Well your Majesty, my illness comes and goes quickly, so I do tend to miss those events. I'm sorry." She said earnestly. I nodded in understanding and decided to continue my conversation about war I was having with her brother Theoran. Our eyes would lock through out the conversation and she would look down and blush, she was too adorable.

We retired into the tea room but before I got into the room Lady Nyx had disappeared. I realized there was a door to a terrace, I headed through the door. Lady Nyx was there looking at the stars, he beautiful hair fell down her back and her dress dazzled in the moonlight. She was beautiful, I wonder if she knew.

I walked up to her side, resting my hands on the stone rail. "Your Majesty" She said with surprise and started to curtsy. "Please, don't" I said raising my hand to a stop motion. She nodded and turned back to look at the courtyard. She sighed, and leaned into the stone railing in thought. "Nyx" I said and waited for her to meet my eyes, "you seem so unhappy here, why?" I questioned. Fear entered her face but was only there for a moment before she changed to an unreadable expression.

"Um, no I just haven't felt the best lately and doing this dinner takes a lot out of me your Majesty." She stumbled out as she faked her fatigue in order to make it more believable. I knew better, something was off here. Our eyes locked and before I could stop myself, I leaned in to kiss her. Her lips were lucious and comforting. As soon as the kiss started it ended in a panicked manner from her.

"Your Majesty, I'm so sorry, I-I can't..." She stuttered out, fear once again covering her face. She started walking backwards apologizing the whole way until she disappeared inside. I sighed in frustration running my hand through my hair.

"Thorn, you ready to head home?" My mothers voice came from the same doorway she disappeared through. "Yes, let's head home" I replied following her through the door.

Young Adult
Like

About the Creator

Daniell Frovarp

~Fantasy/fable Writer

~Short story

~Unloved Daughter: New chapters regularly.

~Destined to Fall - New Chapter every 2 months

NOTE: I full edit every piece every 4 months. During that month no stories will be published. exception to challenges

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.