Fiction logo

"The Unlikely Friendship That Changed My Life Forever"

Learning the Value of Hard Work, Perseverance, and Empathy Through My Friendship with Sarah.

By Saad FarooqPublished about a year ago 3 min read
Like
"The Unlikely Friendship That Changed My Life Forever"
Photo by Brooke Cagle on Unsplash

When I first met Sarah, I never could have imagined that she would become one of my closest friends. At the time, we were both in our early twenties and attending a community college in the same town. I was studying journalism, and Sarah was studying accounting. We didn't have much in common, and we certainly didn't run in the same social circles. But somehow, we ended up in the same class, and that's where our unlikely friendship began.

It all started when we were paired up for a group project. I remember feeling a little bit apprehensive about working with Sarah at first. She seemed quiet and reserved, and I wasn't sure if we would be able to work well together. But as we started brainstorming ideas and dividing up the workload, I began to see a different side of her.

Sarah was incredibly organized and detail-oriented. She had a knack for numbers and was able to create a budget for our project that was both realistic and practical. I, on the other hand, was more of a big-picture thinker. I had a lot of ideas, but I struggled with the implementation. Together, Sarah and I made a great team. We balanced each other out, and we were able to create something better than either of us could have done on our own.

As we worked on our project, we started to talk more and more. I learned that Sarah had grown up in a small town in the Midwest and that she had moved to our town to attend college. She was the first person in her family to go to college, and she was determined to succeed. She worked two jobs to pay for her tuition and living expenses, and she studied relentlessly to maintain her high grades. I was impressed by her work ethic and her dedication.

Over time, Sarah and I became more than just classmates. We started hanging out outside of class, going to the movies, and grabbing coffee after our lectures. We talked about our families, our goals, and our dreams. We even started calling each other "bestie," which seemed silly at first but soon became a term of endearment.

As our friendship grew stronger, I started to see how much Sarah had changed my life. Before I met her, I was very self-centered. I was always focused on my own goals and my success. But Sarah taught me the value of hard work, perseverance, and empathy. She showed me that other people in the world were struggling just as hard as I was and that sometimes, all it took to make a difference was a little bit of kindness.

One day, Sarah told me that she had been diagnosed with cancer. It was a shock, and I felt devastated for her. But as she began her treatment, I saw her resilience and her strength. She never once complained, and she never gave up. She continued to work hard and study, even when she was feeling sick and tired.

Watching Sarah go through cancer was one of the hardest things I have ever experienced. But it was also one of the most inspiring. She showed me what it meant to be brave, and strong, and never give up hope. And when she went into remission, it was the happiest day of my life.

Sarah and I have been friends for over a decade now. We've both graduated from college, and we've both started our careers. But no matter where we are or what we're doing, we always make time for each other. We talk on the phone almost every day, and we still go out for coffee and movies whenever we can.

Looking back on our friendship, I realize that Sarah has changed my life in ways that I never could have imagined. She taught me how to be a better person, a better friend, and a better human being.

ClassicalYoung AdultLoveFantasyAdventure
Like

About the Creator

Saad Farooq

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.