Fiction logo

The Undiscovered Letter

Inside My Drawer.

By ChristopherWritesPublished 11 months ago Updated 10 months ago 1 min read
1
The Undiscovered Letter
Photo by Jacob Buchhave on Unsplash

Dear You

I wrote you a letter, but you never read it. I kept it. Tucked away inside the safety of my drawer. The envelope was sealed with a quiet and finality that silenced everything around me besides the echo of your voice in my head.

There's a stamp in the top right corner, with the flower that mostly reminds me of you. I got nervous. Went to the edge of the falls but didn't want to go over

Inside is everything I ever wanted, but never had the courage, to say to your face. Or, perhaps the words just escaped me. Somehow on the day I wrote it, I captured the wind and glued it to my paper with ink.

I got a special bottle, thrust it up to the sky in the middle of the storm's tempest, and dared lightning to strike. It was not for the world's eyes, it's just for us. It's not just for what is, but what would've been if the world played by the happiest rules. I wouldn't have imagined this place years ago. It's where I am, but is it where I wanted to be?

This is your kind of place. The antiquated buildings stretch for miles as the city goes on. It's beautiful this time of year. Wish you were on my balcony at sunset. Other than the sunset, I can't think of anything that will match you standing there.

-- Me

Short Story
1

About the Creator

ChristopherWrites

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • K. C. Wexlar11 months ago

    unrequited love - oh so haunting

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.