Fiction logo

The True Guardians

Book One: Unity of the mages

By Aspen MaysPublished 2 years ago 24 min read
Like

Prologue

The world I once knew has burned to nothing but ash before my eyes. The smoke was thick and black on the once flourishing island of magic where I stood a moment before, as it became a mere distant memory. A cruel reminder of what the world was before him. My breaths were shallow as harsh rain poured above, my horse darting through the new world of battle. The horse could only run for so long before stopping on the ledge of a cliff. The end was near. He was near. The island trembled in fear below my feet, knocking me and my other mages to our knees. We were helpless. Through the fog, two glowing eyes emerged. The monster who had started this battle wasn't going down without a fight. I can’t breathe, I can’t speak. The eyes were filled with nothing but wrath and pain, emerging only now that they have been buried for over three millennia. It was taking what was theirs all those years ago. The day the creator had been shattered into fragments and thrown deep under the surface, never to be seen, until now. They stand above me, like a titan.

The crystal around my neck, the glow that once was filled with hope, power and knowledge, had been replaced with despair. It was faint, blinking as the last of my powers were sucked out of me with each breath I took. Though, even through it all, I couldn’t let him win. With my sword, I jammed it into the once fertile land, balancing myself before staring down at the monster.

I can not be left powerless. With my heart beating in my ears as I held my eyes shut, clasping the sword in my hands. Then, just like that, the long awaited sound of the shattering of the very crystal that powered me and the others before, rang through the air. The sword had cut through my ‌own crystal, a much needed sacrifice, but one that will have consequences even the gods couldn't have predicted. The end of the protectors as we know it, at this very second, it was over.

My blurry eyes, feeling the last form of life being sucked out of me, I saw the very monster collapse. One last gasp of air, the bright light engulfed the island. The end of an era, the end of magic as we know it. Nobody won, nobody lost.

An explosion rocked the cores of the inhabitants, the sound of the end of their protectors.

From the overseer’s throne, they stare down at the now blood and tear covered battlefield. The world they once knew as nothing but something they watched over was now in the palm of their hands. This world was theirs now, and seeing what had unfolded that fateful day would affect their world from now and forever. Grasping a hold of the last shard of hope as it turned to dust, a new life emerged like a sprout. One that they crushed in between their fists. Magic shall be no more. An incident like this, one that was only caused by the titan that had rocked the island, shall never happen again.

A human placed their hand on their shoulder. Just like earth, there shall be no catastrophe like this again. This world will become peaceful, run by only the most worthy of people. A contemporary future loomed over the horizon. That would be the end. Until now…

Chapter one: The tale of a not so average prince

The sounds of the birds, the cool spring wind blowing through my hair, and chattering all around me, the sounds and feelings of life, pass me by. In the middle of the schoolyard, a prince with a lack of purpose or understanding sits underneath the apple tree. Every afternoon that's where I stay, as if I was hammered in place to the specific spot. The perfect shade, and the fresh, plentiful fruit above my crown, gave me the only sense of life that I had. I was empty. I watched as the surrounding students prepared to depart for home. An end of a week, yet another week that has passed me by once more.

I rummage through my bag and place my books inside. The bag at the end of the semester was almost as empty as I was. Being an honor student and excelling at every class, it was an unusual sight. Everything was already done, like a robot completing tasks. That's what I am. My only purpose and my only talent. The only thing I'm known for, that and my high royal expectations, descending from child after child, noble warriors and rulers have placed before our heads. The golden crown shimmering in the spring light. That was the key to my future, the same as every royal before mine, the same bland life.

Despite me having such a unique skill, I’m set up since the day I hatched to do one thing, be the prefect prince. Intelligent, strong, flawless, handsome, loyal, and following the royal expectations to a T. My life may seem perfect, but it’s all artificial, and I’ve only succeeded at one of those things yet, my Intelligence. I’m not handsome, well in my eyes, I have plenty of flaws. Having what my society rules out as disabilities, such as me missing my wings, I’m the weakest out of the Hathway dynasty proclaimed by my dad, which is ironic coming from a human.

But my mother, being herself, says that I am all of those things and speaks about how my life is already set up for me. Get crowned, work my way up to becoming king, get married, have a dozen ‘Beautiful grandchildren and one perfect heir,’ that will all have the same lack of purpose as me, and then… Well, that's uncertain. All I know is that I'll probably become a warlord, and then perish. At least I will have some sort or reputation… Maybe. I already have wives picked out from my school from the royal matchmaker. Rich parents have lined their daughters up like dominos for being my potential spouse. Many of which, I have knocked down already, to the dismay and tears of the girls and their parents.

I let out a deep subconscious sigh as I stammered to my feet and plod over to the entrance of the border school. I was going back to the palace today, the only place besides the school and the entire dragon region that I’ve ever known.

As soon as I open the wide doors and step out onto the marble stairs awaits the same carriage that I‌’m all too familiar with, being drawn by two black stallions, barely even moving. Everyone was trained to act the same way, despite being a horse or a person. The traveling servants put a carpet below where I will stand and bow before my feet, as if I was some sort of deity. For someone who does so little, I am treated well. I was born with a silver spoon in my mouth.

I hop inside where my younger sister Bonnabelle, was already waiting for me. Being only eight years old, she doesn't know much of the fate that eagerly waits to consume her, for now she is ignorant of that, dangling her tiny legs with a gryphon stuffed toy in her arms. Fluttering her dragon-like eyes as she hums to herself. It's hard to believe at one point not too long ago I was like that before the incident. The crowning ceremony, that day I was chained forever just by a simple accessory. There were many other incidents that ate away my sanity, far too many to mention, for they are supposed to be locked away behind the elegant wallpapered walls of the palace. Just like me.

The doors were closed shut as soon as I sat down, and the reins were snapped. The horses made their way back home.

I was in a daze for most of the trip, just like every day. Only small useless thoughts like what I’m going to eat for dinner only cross my weary mind every so often. Bonnie said little, which was odd. In the last moments of the trip, I finally decided to just say something.

“Why so quiet?” I murmured out, still staring out the window.

“No reason, mother said that today she will take me to the market. Want to come?” She turned to face me, her mouth slightly curving into a smile. I glanced over with my blue eyes and shrugged my shoulders. “No, no, I’m fine.”

“You know, you don't go out that much anymore. That's pretty lame, if you ask me.” Bonnie giggled a bit before returning to whatever her childish mind was thinking about. The market is far too stressful anyway, people crowd us like moths to lamps, and there are so many people… The bright lights, and the loud talking, gives me such a migraine. I instinctively covered my ears just by the thought of it all, its the best tacit, though father says I look stupid, it tunes out all the sounds and just makes them easier to digest.

Though, I realized how for a prince, Most of the princes in the dragon region all have bustling social lives, me, not so much. Only having two acquaintances from my classes and dormitory area, it's all that I need. Most think I’m odd for a prince, really. Being rather… Bland compared to most. A lone wolf if you will, mostly because opening up to people is hard when you have to hide your true self and feelings. I shook my head, and sighed, before remaining silent for the rest of the way home.

The journey ends in front of a grand palace, with guards surrounding the entrance in iron armor, wielding swords and shields that haven't been used for a decent fight in years, They look as if they haven't moved an inch since I left for school last week, you could say they looked as if they were frozen in time.

I tiredly exit the carriage, draping my school jacket over my shoulder before the guards swiftly move out of the way and bow. “Greetings, your highness.” They all greeted as I walked up the steps. The doors were quickly opened to reveal the foyer, and more guards were inside. The foyer was filled with paintings of former rulers that were once occupying the same palace that I've always called home.

Quickly, a maid takes my jacket, bag and shoes, bowing once more. I give a nod and a thank you before making my way down the long hallway to the throne room, passing more paintings, doors, and servants. The halls always felt endless, to me anyway.

I mosey my way inside, only opening the door a smidge so I could squeeze through, shutting them behind me before bowing to my mother.

“Ah, Theodore. I missed you. How has school been?” Mother gave a smile, rising up to greet me. Her blue gown was nearly dragging on the floor as she stood. She marched over to me and gently cupped my cheek with her hand and kissed my forehead.

“...Fine.” I muttered, turning away from her when she was done kissing me.

“Excellent! I'm glad I have raised such a prodigy. Your marks have been splendid, as to be expected.” Mother pours me a cup of hot, snowbrew tea. Thick steam rises from the teacup before subsiding. She placed the cup in my hands and raised my hands to my mouth so I could drink.

“Now, your father would like to see you. He’s been waiting all day. I wouldn't keep him waiting a moment longer. He’s in the armory.” Before I could say anything else, she pushed me outside the throne room and closed the door. As usual, she's far too busy to talk.

With an annoyed huff, I placed my cup down on a saucer, but when I turned around there he was, a tall human man, with scars covering him from head to toe, and a whacking paddle attached to his hip, a cruel reminder of what happens if you don't live up to his expectations, he is the man that I’ve despised almost my entire life.

“What have I told you about being quiet?!” he boomed. His short fuse had been lit by the tiniest thing once more. I gaze up at the mountain of a man that I call a father and prepare to get a lengthy lecture or a whipping. “I have been told by your teachers that you have not been talking or interacting with your peers! You’ve been in a daze this whole week! And you have been slouching! Have you learned nothing from your royal practices?!” He barked, slamming his foot down with angered eyes, like the ones of a bull. I was half expecting steam to come out of his ears.

“I-I just have had little to say…” I stuttered out, trembling just by his voice. Every time he spoke, it shook my core.

“Little to say?! You’re my heir! You’re related to King Augustus Frost! Me!! I always have something to say and so should you, and while you're at it, stand up straight!” Father crossed his arms and got up in my face, so much that I could smell his breath. It reeked of whisky and cigars.

With a gulp, I stammered backwards, bumping into a table and accidentally knocked down my cup, which fell to the ground and shattered, spilling some leftover tea onto the rug. Just by the look on his face, I suppose its time to run now. Father grabbed the paddle as I instinctively turned my head around. He didn't even bother to speak as if it was involuntary to hit me.

I tried to dart away, but he grabbed the collar of my school shirt and whacked me on the back, going for another swing to my face. He had a tight grip on me, but I slid away just in time. I scrambled to my feet and bolted down the hall in tears before he could swing at me again like a baseball.

I slammed the door to my bedroom and locked it, sliding down the door in a panic. Luckily, I don't think he followed me upstairs. It was certainly a close call. Couldn't say that I wasn't expecting it. He speaks with his fists. It really proves how unpredictable he can be. He's the only person who really keeps my life interesting, though I hate to admit it. Me and Father are always playing cat and mouse, me always being the mouse. With my short and twig like stature, I have always been his punching bag, a projection of his rage and his frustrations that he just loves to have a go at whenever he can.

I just wiped my tears and shook the incident off before making my way to my bed, the only source of comfort I have. My bed always feels as if it's cradling me whenever I rest. It's a wonderful feeling to an attention deprived prince like me. I let out a yawn and collapsed onto the bed, burrowing myself under the blankets, protectively, like it would protect and shield me, it was warm and comforting like a hug. In a matter of moments, I fell into a deep sleep.

Though as I slept, something odd seeped its way into my weary and vulnerable mind, not a dream or my usual nightmares, but… A vision of some sort if I’m not mistaken. A fuzzy, lengthy, glowing figure approached me in a white void. I was frightened at first, and realized I was paralyzed, unable to move. What is this?

“Good evening,” an echoey and soft voice was emitted from the figure. It sounded like a woman. “I see you have been empty these days, yes?” They questioned. Suddenly, the figure revealed itself in a clear picture. A purple haired girl with stars decorating it, her hair floated along with her as she came toward me. Her deep brown and smooth skin and her beautiful glistening purple eyes with long sweeping eyelashes, she was wearing a long dragging gown which looked like a galaxy, if that is the best way to describe it. She had two rabbit like ears on top of her head as well, the same color as her hair. I was enchanted by her radiant presence. She gently placed her arms in front of her. She kneeled down and tilted her head to the side, awaiting an answer from me.

“Um…. Who are you exactly…?” I squeaked out.

“I will answer that later Theodore, I’ll take that as a yes, you have. Listen, I’m here to help. You need to escape this fate. This new world has so much for you. Go to the forest and follow the trail. When the clock hits midnight, leave for your journey and arrive at the sanctum of conjurors and supernatural abilities. Your new life shall await.”

Those words pierced through my empty soul and just by that voice alone filled it with some sort of hope. I’m desperate, but this seems too good to be true.

“What sanctum? I don't have any abilities.” I stated.

“Yet, you don't have them yet. I’ll be your guide, you shall call me… Lune, you are special Theodore, you and five others just like you. I don't have much time, but promise me you will be there. The world needs you.” Lune floated over to me, and smiled ‘Hehe, you're so cute, you will be perfect.”

“I’m not too sure about this…I—” I uttered out with hesitation, but my desperation overtook me and as I lost control for that very second I exclaimed, “I will be there! I swear on the overlords!”

After I said that, it was done, I can't take back those words.

“I knew you had it in you. Don't leave us waiting.” Just like that, she ambled over to the void and disappeared.

I awoke to the sounds of a knock at my door, and I was in a cold sweat. “Theodore! Dinner! Are you coming dear?” Mother called. I jumped up and hopped out of bed.

“Yes! I-I’ll be there in a moment!” I replied as I stretched and gazed at myself in the mirror. My turquoise hair, my pale freckled skin, the dark cyan smooth dragon scales that decorate my hands and feet, the long tail that was dangling beside me and my curved horns. These features are special to me, a hybrid, Even though there's many of us nowadays. I’ve always known that I differed slightly from the rest, in more ways than one. Maybe that girl was right, I am special… Not like I’m told that almost everyday.

I made my way downstairs. Father didn't bother to join us for dinner, so that was good. I didn't tell anyone about the dream. Tonight we had roasted Hayamebeast, known for its savory meat and being a world renowned delicacy, but we have it every week. I tried to finish up quickly, not because I was hungry, but because I needed to prepare to leave, even though there was a voice in the back of my head that insisted it was just some odd dream, I knew it had to be otherwise. There's no possible way I would have such a detailed dream like that, and I always have believed all dreams have meaning. This has to be the start of something, good or bad. My curiosity is taking over my waking thoughts. I can't tell a soul where I’m going. Except for my cat, he doesn't bother my other family members.

Once I finished, I went back upstairs and made sure nobody was suspicious. I slowly closed my door and went over to my desk, writing everything that I remembered. I’m not too sure what path I should follow, since there's many, mostly used for hunters, and I often get lost. Let's just hope I don't end up regretting this.

I grabbed a backpack and loaded it with some essentials: clothes, a supply of water, a medkit, a flashlight, and a switchblade. I placed it down and went to the balcony, staring deep into the forest. All I have to do is escape and a new life could be in my hands, finally. The chilly evening breeze went right through me, though living in the ice region my whole life it never bothered me, until now. It gave me goosebumps. Must be exceptionally cold tonight. I should bring a jacket and a scarf just in case.

After that, I waited and waited until I knew everyone was asleep. My cat Hugo was at the end of my bed, a fat orange tabby, a talking one at that. It was his routine at bedtime.

“You’ve been actin’ weird tonight. What's with da’ bag?” He asked, stretching himself and facing me.

I opened my eyes to glance at him and knew by the silence everyone was gone “well… I got some vision when I was napping earlier and one thing led to the next and now I have leave to go to the… Sanctum of conjures and supernatural abilities, I think it's called.” I sat up and slid on my boots.

Hugo stared at me and laughed a bit. “Heh, Theo, you're a mad one, that's for sure. Whatcha’ gonna do when you get there?” Hugo hopped off the bed.

I shrugged. “Not sure. Care to join me?” I offer.

He thought for a second. “You know what, sure, I wanna see this. Got any food?” Hugo snickered.

I roll my eyes. “Hugo, you just ate! Just in case I'll bring some jerky with me.” I put a package of them in my jacket pocket before zipping it up and opening the door, but I hesitated. “Wait…” I turned around and glanced at the balcony, my curtains blowing in the wind.

“Didn’t father say he had some rope?” I whispered as I closed the door. “Don’t be askin’ me.” Hugo hopped onto my shoulder, his bell collar jingling as he did. He is as useless as ever.

“I’ll go check,” I tiptoed like a cautious mouse to the armory, where luckily, there was a decent amount of it, enough to get me down to the ground safely.

“Oh, you’re finally gonna do it, eh?” Hugo stared at me with his green eyes.

“What? Leave? I'm serious.” I asserted as I threw the rope over my shoulder.

“I meant somethin’ else, but knowing you, I’m not surprised.” he remarked

I let out a groan and went back to my room, being cautious of the guards. Finally, here I was, on the balcony. I drape the rope over the ledge and tie it down on the rail. Looking down at the ground, I should just get it over with, I suppose. I left a note for my parents, just in case I didn't come back. Hugo was in my bag as I climbed down the rope. I landed softly and looked at the nearby entrance to the forest.

The forest was more eerie at night, so I couldn't help but feel so ever hesitant to go, but suddenly I noticed a sparkly white path appear below my feet. It had a faint glow. It leads right to the entrance of the forest; I suppose I should follow it, no time for questions, I can't have anyone finding me.

As I traversed my way through the thick grass and plants of the forest, the path kept leading me in multiple twists and turns, to where I found myself so deep in the forest that there was no coming back. I had a pit in my stomach just thinking about it. I had no choice but to follow. Despite my feet aching with each step I took, Hugo fell asleep, leaving me alone. The feeling of anxiety grew deep inside of me and felt like it was spreading like a plague.

I was regretting my decision to do this journey as my flashlight died, leaving me in total darkness beside the path. The occasional breeze and the sounds of my footsteps made me go insane. I couldn't hear any—Voices, I heard voices. Out of nowhere, two voices were heard in the distance.

“Why did we even come here? We're in who even knows where!” A girl with a bit of a city accent whined.

“Cus’! The lady said it would be here! It's not like I can go back to Royli without bein’ thrown in the slammer!” A deeper, possibly male voice with a similar and thicker accent responded, Royli? That far away? That's halfway across our planet! How did they get here? I stopped dead in my tracks, stepping on a twig, but I think they heard me. I covered my mouth and scrambled to hide behind the tree.

“Wait… Did you hear something?” The girl questioned.

“Uh… please don't tell me it's a wildebeest or a bloodthirsty demon!” the boy yelped

“You think I would know? I’ll go check it out.” A flashlight shined where I was. I didn't know whether to just say something. I just froze there and didn't even breathe. They could be dangerous for all I know.

“Hello? Is anyone there?” She called, approaching with slow heavy steps, looking around frantically. I curled my tail and looked behind me, but that's when it happened. She saw me! A short, almost wolf-like person with pointy ears, curly short dyed hair, brown and white fur, a pair of blue jean overalls, a striped orange shirt with a red hood. I noticed some glowing red markings on her cheeks, and her tail and claws glowed as well. She was a Canidade, that's all I knew. I saw a lot for that split second. I know well those… Species, are like rabid animals from what I heard, constantly at war with one another, either that or their slaves for the rich or soldiers for the emperor, when I was a just a child we had a few as guards, they… did quite the good job, but not good enough for my father. I think they were killed, discarded like trash. But this one, standing before me, was significantly smaller than the average Canidade, though still muscular, and her… Other, who was chubby, and once again rather short, must be an exception to this expectation of greatness.

She shrieked “Ahh! What the?!” She dropped the flashlight and stammered backwards into the boy, who squealed, he had long black hair, dark brown and grey fur, and was wearing a black leather jacket, a band shirt and some ripped jeans, his markings were orange.

“Who the hell are you?!” the boy yelled, stomping over, as I fell onto my butt and scooted close to the tree.

“I’m Prince Th-Theodore Hathaway! Please Dont-don't hurt me!!” I stutter out, covering myself up with my arms. The boy looked tough. I noticed a large scar covering his left eye, as he stared down at me growling and baring his razor sharp fangs, which had braces on them. It didn't make him any less intimidating.

“Did you have anythin’ to deal with this?! Spill the beans princess!” He pinned me against the tree by my hood. I flinched away, preparing to be battered.

Suddenly, the girl pulled him by his arm and lifted him off the ground. For such a small size, she must be pretty strong, and he certainly wasn't the lightest looking.

“Hey, are you ok?” She offers her hand to pull me off the ground. I hesitated to grab it, but I shakily grasped onto her hand and immediately got pulled up onto my feet, a bit forcefully, proving my suspicion that she was strong. I couldn’t help but feel… dirty after touching her, these two smell nastily… Where have they been? And when's the last time these two had a bath?

“Woah! Th-thank you…” I whimpered a bit, rubbing my arm nervously. I glanced over at the two. They looked like siblings.

“No problem, oh um… I’m Charlotte, and this is my little twin brother Kylix!” She smiled at me and pointed to her brother, who grumbled and just nodded in greeting. “Sup.”

“Your aren’t like a bad person, right? You’re not gonna kill us?” she asked, pulling out a small knife out of her pocket.

I lifted ‌my hands over my head. “No! I would never!” Some sweat formed on my brow. “Are you? Please don’t! I’m innocent!” Not like I could anyway. These two could tear me to shreds!

Kylix and Charlotte looked at each other “As long as you don’t screw with us! Trust me, if you lay a finger on one of us, you're dead meat!” The boy snarled, rolling up his sleeve.

“Ok, ok, Kai, calm down, listen. Do you know anything about that message of a new life? Me and my brother had like this weird message last night that told us get on this train at midnight, and somehow we got dropped off here!” She wrapped an arm around her brother, who stared at me down. So they had something similar? A message as well? This whole situation is getting confusing. I dug deeper

“Really? Was there a woman in the dream? What was her name…” I put my hand on my chin, and suddenly heard a whisper in the back of my head Lune. “Ah yes, Lune! That was her name.”

“Lune? I think… Was she some moon bunny lady?” Kylix rubbed his neck “She’s the one who spoke to us n’ a dream! And told me n’ Charlie to go to the train station.”

I was shocked, they had experienced a similar dream? With that mystic woman? My mouth hung wide in surprise.

I simply couldn’t respond, I kept my posture and hid my obvious shock, clearing my throat. “Hm, this is really odd. I suppose it would be safer for us to stay together? The silence has been making me go crazy…” I chuckled slightly. I still didn't trust them, but these two rather unruly city dwellers are better than nothing.

“Please, with Kai here, it won’t be too quiet for long.” Charlotte elbowed Kylix.

Not wanting to be rude, I tried to laugh along with the two before we collected our belongings and continued our never-ending journey.

With ‌every step my curiosity and regret grew, the winds picked up as I had lost track of time, I couldn't tell if it was still midnight or early morning, in the thick forest, you couldn't see the sun, the darkness made me feel like I was nothing but a mere shadow, I could barely see an inch in front of my nose, to the point I forgot that the other two were right beside me. I only realized they were there by their prominent glowing markings, which provided some sort of faint light. The path kept on illuminating the forest floor, just enough so I could make out where I was even standing.

The two don't really speak to me all that much. To my pleasure, I wasn't the biggest fan of interacting with others, and they really don’t even seem to care that I was royal, which was a blessing, no explaining to do, just so I can focus on getting to the sanctum.

For a long while there wasn't much, Kylix complained about being exhausted and had his sister carry him for the rest of the walk. I wouldn't be surprised if we nearly walked through the entire dragon region just to get there, but finally, there was something. A large stone wall, with carvings of what looked like some sort of creatures, gods and demons, unrecognizable symbols, the wall was cracked and slowly being reclaimed by nature. It stretched for miles and there was obviously no going around it.

“Woah…Is-is this really it?” Charlotte muttered out, staring up at the wall, which rose way up above the clouds. The path stopped, proving that this was the entrance to the sanctum. There was a diamond hole right in the middle of the wall, a small enough one that it appeared as if something was supposed to fit in there at one point.

We all looked at each other in confusion. I went over to examine the odd hole for a moment… I realized the hole resembled and looked to be the perfect size for the crystal on my crown. Glancing over at the hole, and then at my crown. I had an internal argument with myself, it would be terribly disrespectful to my heritage if I were to take off crystal, it's been passed down for generations, the thought of me ruining the royal crown that has been worn by over a hundred princes before me made me sick, yet filled me with curiosity. Perhaps this could be the key to my new life? Representing myself by destroying the thing that has held me back all these years, day after day, month after month… I stared at my reflection in the gold and silver that dressed my crown, the crystals surrounding the rim, the bright blue gem in the middle, the ice dragon crystal, a fragment of what makes my home thrive, full of life despite it being alive since the dawn of our society, it still glows brightly.

“What are you doing? Stop starin’ at your crown princess! I know you're rich!” Kylix grumbles, jerking me out of my daze.

“Right, right,” I exhaled before clasping onto the crystal with my nails and… after one firm tug the crystal popped off, it glowed brighter than before, and released its tight grasp on the crown with ease, it must be eager for a new life too. I held it in my palm and closed my eyes.‌ I gently placed the crystal in the hole, a perfect fit.

Suddenly, the ground shook. The crystal glowed the brightest blue I had ever seen before. It illuminated the cracks, the eyes on all the carvings opened, blinding us with the glow, then… Silence. Everything went black. This was the long awaited start of something that I will never forget.

AdventureFantasyYoung AdultMystery
Like

About the Creator

Aspen Mays

Young teenage writer and lover of fantasy, mystery and fiction in general. I hope to be in film when I reach adulthood and hopefully get my novel, The true guardians published and turned into a series. Hope you all enjoy the stories!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.