Fiction logo

The Tower of Babel

Big subjects in many, many voices

By Sandra Tena ColePublished 12 months ago Updated 4 months ago 5 min read
2
The Tower of Babel
Photo by Kelsey Chance on Unsplash

‘Angel and I broke up.’

‘Harsh. How are you feeling?’

‘What time were we getting together to do the assignment for Marketing class?’

‘How long were you two together?’

‘At five. At Sylvia’s.’

‘How long for the World Cup, do you know?’

‘Three weeks.’

‘Two months.’

‘You need to spend a little time on your own. Get a hobby, like a sport.’

‘You say that because you’re obsessed with sports. What you need is painting or writing, something that allows you to connect with your soul.’

‘Sylvia, are we eating at yours?’

‘Even if it wasn’t that important?’

‘What do you mean by important?’

‘Well, the info about each country’s team members has been announced, right?’

‘Of some countries, maybe. Perhaps you can find that information on line… Why are you interested all of a sudden?’

‘Because Jacob doesn’t stop talking about it, so I want to understand a little bit more.’

‘Nope, not even listening to you, we’ll fix it later.’

‘You’re taking it very well.’

‘You still need some time on your own, because you were still a long time in the relationship…’

‘Because of the friendship, you mean?’

‘Remember that trip we all did a while back?’

‘Is that where you noticed?’

‘Yes, sadly.’

‘Well, it’s always nice to travel, isn’t it? With your partner, single, with friends, on your own.’

‘They say that Chicharito is really good.’

‘Are you just noticing?’

‘What about the arts? Do they seem appealing to you? Searching for new ways of expression and all that.’

‘I don’t know… I’m too busy at work to pay attention to anything else.’

‘That’s harmful, too.’

‘Don’t tease me. The important thing is that I’m shifting a paradigm.’

‘For a man? Are you sure that’s what you want?’

‘You’ve travelled a lot with your partners, haven’t you?’

‘Not so much… only a few times with Phillip, because all the other times it was always joining each other on work trips, theirs or mine. Maybe four of five times. Not really as a couple. But this last one to the Bahamas was a real holiday. Very romantic.’

‘So are you coming over to watch the games with us, then?’

‘Sometimes. Maybe.’

‘You never felt bad about not going on a honeymoon?’

‘No, because we knew we’d be able to take a special trip sooner or later.’

‘Well, just between us, I’m the one who broke up with Jake.’

‘I’m not that ill-informed. I was happy when I read he’d been signed by Manchester United. What an honour for him, and what a joy for us Mexicans!’

‘That’s no secret!’

‘Angel was smothering me, I just couldn’t take it anymore.’

‘Of course, it’s brilliant that he got signed in England. But my question is, is it for him or for yourself that you’re making the change?’

‘Speaking of which, is Phillip coming?’

‘Yeah, he’s just seeing a supplier.’

‘So, everybody knew?’

‘I don’t know if everyone, but that’s not the point. The important thing is that you realised it in time.’

‘What I mean is, even though there are plenty of girls who are true followers, that doesn’t mean you have to change to fit in… Not with him, not with us, not with anyone.’

‘And what annoyed me most is that he always got things his own way, but when he didn’t he would blame me that he never got what he wanted.’

‘Look, look, look, they’re showing pictures of Glastonbury on the telly. Looks lovely!’

‘It’s not that I don’t like it, it’s that I’m not attracted to it.’

‘Exactly.’

‘You can’t wait to move there, can you?’

‘What I hate is that I didn’t notice earlier… I had so many years to.’

‘Yes, it’s time.’

‘I’m tired of yelling here in the bar, aren’t you? Shall we ask them if they want to go for a walk outside?’

‘Don’t waste your energy. It’s not up to you to be changing people, no matter how close friends you are.’

‘Nah, they’re all so deep into their own conversations.’

‘Wow, Carlos and Selena look so much alike… I don’t know why it catches me by surprise even now.’

‘The important thing is that you’ve noticed now, so you can do something about it starting today.’

‘If he’s asking you to change, he’s not entirely worth it. No matter how good looking he is, or how much we all like him.’

‘Yeah, side by side they look like copies of each other.’

‘Yeah, let’s tell them, so that we can get out into the fresh air for a bit.’

‘Do you have a date for it, by the way?’

‘I’m not so sure.’

‘Of course we can.’

‘We’ll miss you.’

‘I do have a bit of fun watching it, but only with friends.’

‘I feel like it’s not so big a change. In fact, I can change my mind if it’s not what I thought it’d be.’

‘In the beginning it was only because of the new job, but now that I’ve been there in person it makes me excited.’

‘I feel so much surer of myself now.’

‘We all know that you’re worth it, and even when you’re not hanging out with us doesn’t mean you’re not part of the group.’

‘It’s the thing about being independent, right? It’s true, you’ve always been more independent than us, and that deserves a bit of recognition.’

‘We’re all looking for our place. Some move from place to place, and others move only internally, but in the end it’s all the same. Movement is movement.’

‘We’re really going to miss you. You’re a great person too.’

‘I completely agree!’

~*~

Thank you for reading my fiction piece. If you'd like to read more, head over to my profile to read all kinds of pieces I've written on various subjects, or click below for just my fiction. You can also follow the link to buy my short story collection "Tales from the Rooftop", or my novel "Wideawake".

A heart, a tip, a comment or your insights would also be much appreciated, if you feel so inclined. Also, please feel free to share my story with anyone who you think might enjoy it.

Sandra's fiction pieces on Vocal

Buy Tales from the Rooftop or Wideawake here

Short Story
2

About the Creator

Sandra Tena Cole

Actress, Model, Writer

Co-producer at His & Hers Theatre Company

Esoteric Practitioner

Idealist

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Jenna Calloway12 months ago

    Really well done!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.