Fiction logo

The Timeless End

...

By Naila Published 3 years ago Updated 3 years ago 5 min read
1

Would you rather feel or not feel?

Be free from a curse that locked you up for years...

Many years ago my ancestor stripped away the emotions of every human causing no pain, war, and arguments but that came with a price it took happiness, love, and fulfillment they took away what people once called purpose. Every time a queen takes the throne they are given a heart-shaped necklace, inside it holds the thing called “emotions” or Elena, but soon it will become mine.

On my ascending day there were thousands of people, food, and music but I didn't feel anything and as I walked up the stairs to my throne, I knew everyone felt that way too. As everyone left I sat down on my throne touching the necklace wondering why did they take emotions was it so bad? Did it kill everyone from the inside that much they had to take it away?. These problems bothered me all day It wouldn't leave my head I was wondering and wondering constantly, until questions were all I can think of. I called a meeting in the courtyard one day to release these “emotions” they all had blank faces staring at me and started to mutter to each other.“ THIS CURSE HAS BEEN ON LONG ENOUGH GET RID OF IT” a lady said others were with her, but some opposed the idea they thought emotions were dangerous and cost the lives of many.

I listened to what they all said but deep down I was wondering why they called it a curse, we don't know how emotions work because we never had it so why. That night I laid down wondering why that's all I could ask myself why. I need to know the answer to my questions the only way was to get emotions when others heard they set a trap for me and I fell right into it those who were with me waited outside the sanctuary door. The sanctuary was a very old place and we give thanks for taking the emotions away to my ancestor Elena outside the temple, but no one has ever been inside since the day emotions were taken. As I was reaching for the necklace a loud bang caused the whole sanctuary to crumble.

Ringing was all I heard the world was finally silent, at that moment a pounding sensation was all I could feel my head become hot as a stream of red liquid rolled down my face

What is this feeling…..

The pounding became louder and louder until that's all I could hear. It slowly became hard to concentrate, my eyes felt droopy and I slowly became tired my hands...body I can’t move. A warm liquid started to roll down my face this strange feeling what is it? I raised my weary hand slowly to touch what was on my face and I saw its water, was I crying? I wondered even though my head was pounding. The silence was gone I was back to wondering, my whole body felt weak. Then I felt like I had stopped breathing a pain in my chest it felt like my heart was sinking it hurts so much all I could do was scream, what is this feeling I didn’t understand and with everything going on I felt insane my mind was racing with thoughts.

I slowly started to lose myself my eyes became weak and I thought is this what they refer to as pain in the book … was I in pain? I couldn't understand. What that lady said came back to me was these emotions it felt like I have been living in a timeless curse. For the first time in my life I was angry at myself annoyed and tried I was bound by the curse so why do I feel these emotions, I started to hear people screaming not just people but the guards that were with me did they feel the same thing I did too?. I felt weak and I couldn't think anymore I curled my hands into a fist until I realized I had the necklace, the red liquid was all over me and on the necklace. I held up the necklace close so I could see through the blurriness and it was opened I moved my thumb across it and I felt indents like something was engraved. There was a message “ Be at peace with the broken pieces healing is about accepting not forgetting

That was the last thing I saw my mind went blank it became dark and I felt myself hitting the ground.

A light appeared showing memories for the first time I felt it all Happiness pain, sadness, regret, fear, anxiety, disgust, envy, disappointment, confusion, and helpless I felt it all. I knew these weren't my memories but Elena’s. I jumped up my mind was spinning and my heart was racing, my face was on the ground and I saw a hand covered in light “Get up my child. you can hear, but are you listening? You can exist, but are you living? You look, but do you really see?”. What was she saying? I was so tired but she wouldn't let me close my eyes and then she moved closer and whispered “Don't make the same mistake I did put the locket in the stone”. I crawled towards the stone and it felt like my body was moving on its own.I fell but there in front of me was the stone I reached the top of the stone and there was an engravement for the locket, with the last of my strength I placed the locket in the stone.

In a book I read as a child something stuck with me pain makes you stronger, heartbreak makes you wiser and fear makes you braver. For the first time in my life I finally understood those words and the words of Elena.

Time had finally felt like it was moving and this emotionless curse was gone. I don't regret giving emotions to the people of the land it's frustrating at times, but I believe emotions are what brought us closer together. For the future generations I hope you understand that emotions are not worth forgetting for the first time I was able to see, hear, breathe, and feel alive.



Fantasy
1

About the Creator

Naila

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.