Fiction logo

The Tile Universe

A story about being cosmically clean

By emPublished 12 months ago 1 min read
3
The Tile Universe
Photo by Andrew Ridley on Unsplash

There are 214 tiles lining the shower wall. Most are uniform in shape, ubiquitous in intent and, having stood here in the temperate flow for 12 minutes, I’ve discovered that they’re individual universes. One tile stands out to me in particular. A silhouette can be made out in the blackened edges of the stonework. Looks like a cat peering out of a square window and the more I stare, the more I realise - it is. I’m bathing beside a multiverse, watched by feline eyes and oh! That reminds me. I squat slightly, bringing a razor to my own fur.

Sci Fi
3

About the Creator

em

I’m a writer, a storyteller, a lunatic. I imagine in a parallel universe I might be a caricaturist or a botanist or somewhere asleep on the moon — but here, I am a writer, turning moments into multiverses and making homes out of them.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  1. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  3. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Randy Wayne Jellison-Knock12 months ago

    Oofta! The multiverse doubled..., with entendre, that is.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.