Fiction logo

The Tides of the Zodiac

The Silly Distractions

By Andrew DominguezPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
Like

“Hi, I’m a Sagittarius,” he said. He seemed nice, or so he expressed. And so I undressed.

“Hi, I’m a Scorpio,” he said, he seemed decent, or at least he seemed to mean it. He undressed me with his eyes, I didn’t feel one bit shy.

“Hi, I’m a Pisces,” he said. A certain mess, they all said. To me he seemed genuine, so I responded, “I like that he’s different, I feel less exhausted.” Nevertheless, I ended up bonded.

“Hi, I’m a Pisces too,” I said. “You’re fine!” I said.

He hasn’t cried. They were wrong! This time around, he’ll be the one to try.

She was obscure. I didn’t know what to feel. I was good at pretending. I was good at silently lamenting.

And it continues.

Pisces, Cancer, Scorpio. What an ordeal!

But I loved all the ugliness, there was a beauty in all this silliness.

“I’m a Pisces, you’re a Capricorn, let’s be besties!” What a fun pairing. Who doesn’t like to feel just a little bit daring.

But let’s be sincere; there’s so much more than the tides of the zodiac.

“I’m a Pisces, you’re a Scorpio—let’s be soulmates!” Let’s be clear; there so much more to soul connection than star alignments on our birthdays.

“I’m a Pisces, you’re a Pisces—what a match made in heaven!” Let’s be clear; there’s such a thing as too similar for comfort. Getting way too close, what discomfort.

“I’m a Fire sign, you’re a water sign—please, steer clear.” Don’t be an idiot; good friends come in all placements.

“I’m an Earth sign, you’re a water sign—let’s go out.” Go out where? You’re already too bare.

“I’m Water.”

“I’m Fire.”

“I’m Earth.”

“I’m Wind.”

“I’m on the cusp.”

You foolish tools! Who are you? Captain Planet’s crew?

There’s so much more to people.

There’s so much more to dating.

There’s so much more to living.

There’s so much more.

Than what day you were born.

There’s much more to being.

Than some convoluted chart to revere.

Something to point to when you lose what you hold so dear.

“I hate him, he cheated. A Gemini, of course he would. Why didn’t I see it.”

There so much more, don’t you see? He cheated because you were never meant to be.

“Why is it all about her! Why is she so honest. She is such a Leo!”

Don’t fool yourself, hun. It happened because she is a narcissistic cu*/(///**t.

“Oh, what a cry baby. Cannot take criticism. Why do I bother? I can’t with this Pisces, I feel like his father!”

How kind of you, sir. To stop and show a shred of humanity, to someone who gave you his heart, soul, and every bit of his mental capacity.

“Oh what a tease, she just talks a big game. I can’t with this Taurus, I need to be pleased!”

Oh your poor victim. Have you run dry? Imagine what it feels like in the end, to be the one to always cry.

“She left. He stayed. He hit me. She beat me. All Aries are the same.”

Oh I won’t even go there. A rotted apple starts on a tree; reach for the branch, looking at the stars won’t make you not bleed.

The tides of the zodiac.

What a nice tale.

To tell ourselves.

When our company itself.

Has gone stale.

Love
Like

About the Creator

Andrew Dominguez

Greetings! My name is Andrew Judeus. I am an NY-based writer with a passion for creating romantic narratives. Hopefully my daily wanderings into the land of happily ever after will shed some light into your life. Enjoy!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Chrishabout a year ago

    The recent [Full Moon/New Moon] in [Zodiac Sign] has charged your intuition and unlocked your hidden gifts. But you need to learn how to use this to your advantage… and what crucial steps to take next. >> This wonderful complimentary Moon Reading will help guide you. The reading is 100% personalized to you and uses your birthdate to determine the zodiac sign and phase of the Moon on the day you were born. You will discover the Moon’s powerful influence on your life, personality and potential. This reading will light the way to your true path forward, even when it feels like you are unsure of your next steps. >> Get your free personalized video Moon Reading here: https://bit.ly/3w7fPut

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.