Fiction logo

The Thing Under My Bed

The Classic, "Monster Under the Bed" - But in Micro-fiction

By Megan Baker (Left Vocal in 2023)Published about a year ago 1 min read
The Thing Under My Bed
Photo by Bogdan Kupriets on Unsplash

Fear begins to creep in again as the last of daylight dwindles. Despite the lights still on, shadows cling to the edges.

By benjamin lehman on Unsplash

The floorboards creak as I tiptoe upstairs. I pause in the doorway, afraid.

By Dmitry Ratushny on Unsplash

Gathering my courage, I take a running leap. I land upon the box spring with a terrible groan. I'm too old for this!

By Waldemar on Unsplash

I settle in beneath the covers, careful to tuck them in around me. No wayward feet sticking out, and no blanket dangling down.

By Priscilla Du Preez on Unsplash

I close my eyes, huddled tight. My breath hitches at movement underneath my bed.

By Melanie Wasser on Unsplash

Clawed hands search; it's awake!

MysteryMicrofictionHorrorFantasyFable

About the Creator

Megan Baker (Left Vocal in 2023)

A fun spin on her last name, Baker enjoyed creating "Baker's Dozen" lists for various topics! She also wrote candidly about her mental health & a LOT of fiction. Discontinued writing on Vocal in 2023 as Vocal is a fruitless venture.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

Megan Baker (Left Vocal in 2023) is not accepting comments at the moment

Want to show your support? Send them a one-off tip.

Megan Baker (Left Vocal in 2023)Written by Megan Baker (Left Vocal in 2023)

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.