Fiction logo

The terrifying neighbor

Horror Story

By ABDOPublished 10 months ago 4 min read
Like
The terrifying neighbor
Photo by Deleece Cook on Unsplash

In the evening I used to stand in front of the house with my neighbor ( Tom ) who lives next to me in the neighborhood, while I was talking to Tom I saw him looking directly at the house that is located in front of my house the owner of this house is a woman named ( Courtney), I turned to see what my friend Tom was looking at and I saw him looking at Mrs. Courtney who was watering the flowers of her garden, I asked Tom what she was looking at, Tom said in a strange tone of voice: tomorrow is the day of purification and I will kill this woman.

I thought that Tom was just joking, although Mrs. Cortini's voice is always loud, especially when she talks to the Spanish worker who works with her, this is not worth being killed for, suddenly I saw Tom laughing, I was relieved a little and made sure that what Tom was saying was just a joke, not only, I'm not hiding from you I don't like to stay standing in front of my house looking at my neighbors, but unfortunately usually Tom, suddenly Tom started talking about a day of the year called cleansing day.

On this day, a lot of scary things happen as there is a group of people killing other people for reasons that no one knows about, at first I thought that Tom was just joking with me, but he already started talking about the importance of this day and that it is the most important day of all the days of the year, the strange thing is that Tom has not been my neighbor for a long time, Tom moved into the house next to me just one day after the cleansing day last year, this made me feel very suspicious about Tom.

I told Tom that I was going to come into the house now, but he said to me: 'Actually I want to ask you something, dear neighbor, I said to him:' What do you want, Tom?', Tom said: I want to borrow a tree trimmer from you, I don't have one, I said to Tom: but you borrowed the electric saw two weeks ago and you haven't returned it to me yet, Tom regrets me and said: I promise to return the tree trimmer and the electric saw to you together in two days, I was feeling annoyed with Tom but after urging from him I agreed.

I gave Tom what he wanted and left my house and went to talk to my wife Sandy, Sandy told me that Tom's wife ( Catherine ) always talks to her about the importance of the cleansing day, this made me feel more worried there were only a few hours left before the beginning of the cleansing day and I was very afraid that Tom was already a murderer and would kill anyone he knew that day, I warned my wife not to go out that day and waited for the cleansing day to pass peacefully.

Fifteen minutes before the start of the cleansing day, I decided to go to Tom, I knocked on the door and Tom answered me, saying: from the knocker, I told him that I want to get the electric saw back, I need it now, Tom asked me to come to the back door of the house, I went to the back door and when Tom opened the door to give me my electric saw, I took out a sharp knife from my pocket and stabbed Tom in the neck, Tom started bleeding and screaming in pain, but I didn't stop and I made more than 5 stabs in different parts of his body.

Tom was looking at me and was amazed at what I was doing, Tom Fell to the ground dead, I entered the house and found that the door leading to the house from the inside was locked, I used a hammer to smash the door, I saw Tom's wife Catherine in front of me and as soon as she saw me she started screaming, I followed Catherine who was trying to climb into the upper room and hide in it, I wounded her in the foot but she resisted me strongly, I grabbed her head and hit him with the ladder over and over again until she too died.

I looked around the house, but I didn't find any kind of weapons, but that didn't matter to me, the important thing is that Tom is now dead and my family is safe, I remembered then the previous year's purge day when I was exposed to such a situation, there was another family in the same house where Tom was living, this family my wife and I killed all its members to protect ourselves, my wife and my youngest daughter from being killed on the day of the purge.

You may find this strange, but I always believe that the best way to defend myself is to start attacking, so every year I would wait for the day of purification and kill anyone I suspected might take advantage of the twenty-first of March, which is the day of purification in America to get rid of me and my family, as you all know, the day of purification is a day when no one is punished for committing a crime, most murder and theft on that day and I had to protect my family from being attacked.

Short StoryMysteryHorrorFantasyFan Fiction
Like

About the Creator

ABDO

Professional article writer and designer.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.