Fiction logo

The Teacher

He just knows

By Larry NowickiPublished 2 years ago 5 min read
Like
Photo by Haley Owens on Unsplash

They were sitting in the living room watching TV. Nothing special was on. Joe looked at Hope.

“How do we get in contact with the group?

Do we meet outside of the gathering?

I don’t even know who they are or what they do.“

“Why do you ask?” She responded

“I thought that if I’m a part of this group, I should know more about it.

What is it that we do?

Why we do what we do?

Why was I chosen?

I want to know so I can figure out what I need to do.”

Hope said, “Next week we have a class at the store. You should be in on it.”

“What is it about?”

“Things you should know.”

Will any of our group be there?”

“Don’t know, but if you want to know, you should be there.”

“Sign me up. When is it?”

“Tuesday at 6. No signup, just show up.”

“When were you going to let me know.”

“I knew you would ask when you were ready to know.”

They sat for a while in silence. Without a word, Hope got up and went to the bedroom. As she entered, she said, “Are you coming?”

Joe said, “Not yet.” He sat there for a while, wondering what the class would be. What was it that he was supposed to know? By the time he went to bed, Hope was asleep. He crawled into bed as quietly as he could and snuggled close. He put his arm around her. And fell asleep.

It was a dreamless sleep, and when he woke, Hope was not there. He went to the kitchen. “Why didn’t you wake me.”

“You needed sleep. I fixed breakfast so you could eat and get ready for work.”

The coffee smelled wonderful. He sat and ate.

“Did you figure anything out in your dreams?”

“I didn’t dream anything.”

“That you remember.”

“How would you know?

She just looked at him.

He went to the bedroom, got ready for work. As he went out the door, he said. “See you at dinner.”

She said, “We are going to lunch. See you at 12:30.

I’ll find you.”

Joe left. Lunch was at noon. He had an hour. He didn’t want his usual, so he went to the diner. They had good soup. He sat in the back so he could see who came in.

He thought he was watching closely, but when Hope sat down, she startled him.

“Where did you come from?” He said.

“Doesn’t matter. Why did you get a table for 3?”

“Didn’t realize I did.”

Just then, a man walked up and sat in the other seat.

“My name is Ray. Are you, Joe?”

“How did you know.”

“I was told.”

“By who”

“ I don’t know.”

Joe looked puzzled.

Hope said, “He is a dowser.”

“What does that mean.”

“When dowsing sometimes he is given information that he doesn’t understand. He can find things, places. Answer questions. He can also send energies. Healing energies. Cleansing energies. Even harming energies, but we don’t do that.”

Ray added. “When I get information like this from Universe, I have learned I should follow up on it. What do you want to know?”

Joe still looked puzzled. “I don’t know what I want to know.”

Hope chimed in. “He was chosen to join our group. He chose to join with me. He is the father of our child.”

“Did you know each other before this meeting?”

Together they said “No.”

“Why did you agree.”

Joe said, “It felt right. It felt good. It felt like it was meant to be.”

“How are things going?”

“Good, I think. She has moved in with me. We are getting to know each other, and the bond is growing.”

Ray took a thing on a string from around his neck.

He held it in front of him and began to swing it.

It stopped on its own. “What does that mean?” Joe asked.

“It wants me to ask later.”

The waitress came up. “What can I get for you today.”

Hope and Joe both took menus.

Ray said. “I’ll just have sweet tea.”

“Do you want it now or with your food?”

“Now, it would be great.”

“Do you two want a drink now?”

Hope said, “We will have it with our food.”

The waitress brought the sweet tea. Joe and Hope ordered. When the waitress left, Ray continued. “This is a pendulum. It helps me communicate with the universe. My guides and the angels send me messages. They told me I was to be here.”

Joe looked puzzled again.“You don’t know why, but you know who we are.”

“Sort of. I know your name, Joe. I know I am supposed to be here. Now that I am here, we will find out why.”

Hope added again. “The gods have sent him as a teacher to show you what you need to know.”

Ray got up before their food came. Left some money for his drink. As he left, he said, “I’ll be in touch and was gone.”

Hope did not say anything as she ate. Joe kept trying to figure what was happening. They paid the bill, and Hope said as they left. “We can talk more tonight.”

When Joe got home, Hope was waiting. Dinner was ready. There was even a glass of wine set at Joe’s place. Hope lit some candles. As Joe sat down, he said, “What’s the occasion.”

Hope replied, “Just enjoying our time together.”

Joe said, “I have been enjoying our time together for a while now.”

She said, “When you said our bond was growing, it made me feel happy. I felt at home. I felt loved. It is what I want for our child.”

“You didn’t pour yourself any wine.”

“I have not had alcohol since I conceived.”

“How will you celebrate?”

“I will enjoy the meal, and then I will consume your love. The energy will feed the development of Destiny. We will grow together.”

Joe enjoyed his meal. He watched as Hope finished hers. His only thought was how good it would be to be consumed by Hope and that he would do all in his power to make her feel wonderful as they shared in the energy they create.

Mystery
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.