Fiction logo

The Sun Seeker Pt 8

More Decisions

By Anna KringlePublished 2 years ago 7 min read
Like

The courtyard was a fuzzy dappled version of itself. The boughs of the trees crisscrossing the space blocked most of the sunlight, and Jesphyr was forced to hold onto Hash's arm and let him guide her around potted plants and chairs she couldn't see.

What she could see, was fragmented; Something was moving away from her, in the direction of the kitchen, she thought. A few chairs and cushions littered the central area of the courtyard. There, in the middle of the space, a tall, thin figure seemed to reflect the sunlight back out into the space, making it easier for her to see.

“How do you do that?” She asked, pausing a little on her way over to take in the affect.

Artem moved toward her, bringing his light with him. “Do what?”

“You... Spread the light.” She gestured vaguely around him.

He tilted his head. “You know, I'm not really sure how to explain it. Most Solari can enhance their sight in dark areas. But it is an acquired skill. It takes practice. Something about... refracting the light that we already have...” He seemed lost in his thoughts for a long moment, and she noticed the light from him dim and brighten experimentally a few times. He shook his head, collecting himself and offering her a hand.

Jes accepted it, still feeling weird about all the hand holding. And Artem himself. And life in general.

The world became clearer again, and their shared sight made the room warmer, less daunting. She could even see Hash, standing by her, uncomfortable, but stubbornly staying by. She gave his arm a squeeze, then let go. He mumbled something about checking on dinner and shuffled outside Jes' sphere of sight.

“So, how are you feeling?” Artem led her graciously to a pair of chairs. “You've had quite an ordeal.”

“I'd feel a lot better if I knew why in shadows this is happening.” Jes said distractedly. She was appreciating the shared sight, but sitting and just holding anyone's hand, let alone a strangers, was awkward. “I mean, it's not like I've changed in any way. I've always been me. So why... Why are my eyes suddenly blind and why does the world glow? Why now?”

Artem twisted his lips in thought. He did that a lot. “I don't know. The fact that you ave any Solari tendencoes at all is a shock, to be honest. It's not, uhm...” He cleared his throat a little uncomfortably. “Solari do not usually mate with non-Solari, and children are rare. I never expected-” He looked away and took a deep breath before looking at her again. “I'm sorry, that's not helpful. I wish I had an answer for you, but until a week ago I didn't even know you existed, let alone that you were... mine.”

“I'm not yours,” Jes pulled her hand away. “I'm Cicera's.”

The sound of pots and pans banging nearby couldn't quite fill the silence. Jes noticed the refraction around Artem had dimmed a little.

“So what have you all been hunting me for then, if it wasn't because I was- because Cicera had me?”

“Us all? What do you mean?” He was trying to rally still, and sounded confused.

“I've had Solari dogging me for the last couple months. They've been questioning my friends, asking about Cicera. One caught up with me a couple weeks ago, wanting... Wasn't he sent by you?”

Artem turned thoughtfully. “No... No I didn't send him.” He turned back to Jes. “I did come hoping to meet Cicera's child. It looks like it's a good thing I did. You will need help adjusting to life now, with your Solari genes activated.” He stood up. “I can take you to Trium. The doctors there may be able to tell you more about what's happened. And perhaps be able to give you some physical therapy tools to train you to function.”

A weird, bitter bubble started to rise in Jes' chest. “Trium?”

“Yes, I think it's best to go straight to the captial. The city will be easier for you to navigate than any other place in the system. Solari built it specially to work with our abilities. It's easier to navigate, even at night.” He held out a hand to her. “I can help you back to your room, if you like, then I will go purchase tickets.”

“We don't need tickets. I have a ship.” Jes' own mouth twisted. “Though if the ban on my mother is still in effect, we may have trouble landing.”

“Ban?”

“Yeah,” Jes rolled her eyes at his confusion. “My ship is the one she was given by your family to make her go away. The flight towers still know it, so they may not let us through.”

“That never- they didn't... I mean, she wasn't banned. We don't do that except with criminals.”

“She was refused entry when I was ten.” Jes felt her lip curling, but tried to keep her tone steady. “We had been struck by space debri and needed to repair the sail, but they wouldn't allow her into even the orbital shipyard to fix it. It was the last time we flew anywhere near that place.”

“I... see.” the light he was pressing out definitely dimmed this time. “We will take your ship. I can deal with flight control if it poses a problem.”

“I'm coming too.” Hash's voice came out of the darkness.

Jes jumped. She hadn't heard him approach. It seemed Artem hadn't either. He frowned a little to Jes' left side.

“That isn't necessary, Loreson. She is safe with me.”

“She doesn't even know you.” Hash's voice was hard. “And your sudden appearance now, after all these years, when all this is happening,” Jes didn't have to see him to know he was gesturing at her, “is a little too convenient. I'm coming.”

“Do you really think I would harm my- Cicera's child?” there was a sneer in his voice as he addressed Hash that Jes hadn't heard before now.

“I think you'll forget about her the minute you have what you actually want. Just like you did with Cicera.”

Artem's outline flared bright, but it was not a happy or peaceful thing. Jes wasn't sure if she was reading into it because of the tension in the room, or if there was an actual difference in light.

“Stop!” Jes rubbed a hand down her face before turning to Hash. “Uncle Hash, the sloop won't sleep three. You know that.” She held a hand out toward him and he stepped into her bubble of light and took it. She saw Artem's shoulders sag a little, but that thought was drowned out a second later by Hashan's presence. He was trying to curb his temper, but there was still a protective energy pouring off him that was almost overwhelming.

“Then let him fly ahead on a transport.” He jerked his head at Artem.

“That won't ensure she's able to land,” Artem said impatiently. “If the ship is truly marked banned in the register, I will need to deal with that. It will be much harder for them to turn her away with me on board.”

Jes screwed up her face but looked back at Hash. “Unfortunately, he's right.”

Hash ground his teeth at that, but then huffed a sigh. “Then we caravan. I can rig to yours, and we can share sail power, get there a little faster.” His hand tightened on hers. She could see him fairly clearly right now, and knew his mouth didn't move when he added. I'm not letting you face this alone. It took her another minute to realize he hadn't meant for her to here that.

“I...” Emotion caught in her throat and it took her a minute to answer. “Yeah, okay. I'd appreciate that.” She squeezed his hand back.

Artem stared for a long minute. “Very well. We can leave as soon as you've made your preparations.” He turned and walked out.

Sci Fi
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.